Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School 5

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
We are exceedingly grateful for and to Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School. Everyday we feel the warmth, care, compassion, determination & integrity of the faculty. Our principal is exceptionally inspirational & passionate about our children's all around well-being. My son is currently in Kindergarten. He came in with an IEP. As of 2 weeks ago he no longer has one and is reading above his grade level. Thank you PPA :-)

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Yes all scholars have respect and if not then they work with scholars to show them about great respect towards others


Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
All students at ppa are treated equally the teachers make sure of that, and work very hard with scholars

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School 5

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Best charter school I'm far rockaway no complaints everyone is caring and on top of things

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Love the teachers at this school, they work with all scholars every step of the way and make sure they succeed there goal on what they need help with


Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
AMAZING SCHOOL!!, I really love this school. I notice improvements since my daughter switched schools, she did great on the Ny state test and the teachers teach the child very well! My daughter also loves the school she made friends, got perfect grades, and liked the teachers. The staff and Teachers are very nice and friendly.

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
my son has excelled since arriving to ppa, we are so proud of his progress and we love the staff of PPA they are very caring and also set a high standard of learning.

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School
no rating

Posted September 06, 2009
- a parent
I really think it's time for this school to have an up to date website.


Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School 5

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school in terms of a public education.The hours are 8am-4pm....kinda long...but my daughter is excelling.It's her 2nd year.Her Kindergarten teacher Mrs Johnson was excellent...her 1st grade teacher Mrs Garcon is excellent. the problem I see is with the kid's coming in with no formal training at home.So like someone said earlier parental involvement is essential.Why should my child lose learning time cause a teacher is disciplining your child?If your child is on red...he/she is behaving badly. The most important opinion is the kids...unfortunately they cannot leave a review.They run into the school in the mornings.That says it all.My daughter loves to go this school. Paulette Jemmott-Wiley

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School 5

Posted May 26, 2009
- a parent
This is my daughter's 2nd year in this school and academically its excellent. I grew up going to private school and this school tops what I had initially expected, especially for a public school in Queens/NYC. Unfortunately, we are in a rough neighborhood where parents seem to think that the teachers can fix all the problems but in order for a child to EXCEL academically, they need support at HOME. The biggest issue I have seen in this school as far as students go is their BEHAVIOR. Teachers are limited to how much they can discipline a child, and it becomes a challenge when basic rules are not enforced at HOME. I trully wish to see the Board of Ed assist some more and see the school building actually come to life. I would definately recommend this school to anyone with children entering k-5th.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School
611 Beach 19th Street, Queens, NY  11691
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (646) 403-9231
Last modified Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top