Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public district
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 502
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Baccalaureate School for Global Education 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a community member
i am a former student that went from 7-8. I now go to Stuyvesant H.S. BSGE (common acronym) is somewhat challenging, but okay. This post was created, not because of me wanting to lambast the school, but because the administrators FAIL to communicate certain aspects that may result in a lower chance of getting into a better college a.k.a. no transparency or communication. For one, there is NO Spanish proficiency test administered. This critical test is something colleges look to and the absence of it can mean that if you plan to transfer, you may be put back into Level 1 again, unless the school administers its own tests. Second, is there is NO physics class. BSGE cut off physics in 2009 due to budget cuts. Instead, they have Forensics. Overall, it was okay, but 8th grade math wasn't really hard. BSGE is more of an art and science school (It stresses Chemistry and has it for 2 years). Note that there is NO IB Technology either.

Baccalaureate School for Global Education 5

Posted October 06, 2014
- a community member
My school is amazing! It is like another family because it is so small. Teachers can focus on you. There are less than 100 kids per grade. You advance very quickly as you get older. Everyone is willing to help you out if you need help. Teachers, as I mentioned before, are the best. They are funny but also push you to the best of your abilities. Many kids from High School come from the 8th graders at the school. That way, you can make friends with kids who already know the environment. Sports are limited and there isn't a lot of sports to play. However, you can make clubs and enjoy with the people around you. It is exciting to have your friends on the same club. Ultimately, I believe if you like schools with fewer children than normal, then this is the right school for you. Good Luck and Best of Wishes! ****Remember there is an exclusive entrance exam and interview for the school if you are in 7th Grade****


Baccalaureate School for Global Education 2

Posted August 27, 2014
- a community member
The Baccalaureate is academically challenging and my class worked really hard to complete homework even if we stay up ALL night.The 7 grade was hard and then 8th and 9th grades were easy.10th and 11th grades get more challenging and if you do not manage your time you will fall behind.Unlike friends at other schools we have to work if we want to succeed.The principal does not seem to care about students and teachers in some of the grades. For example, some of the eleventh grade teachers treat some students as if they are wasting time and students are not able to learn. one of the two main teachers with issues retired.They did not treat me this way but they were known not to like students who they eventually said would not get the diploma.A few of those students earned the diploma this year so they were actually wrong. In reality some of the 11th grade work is too far ahead.The principal is so busy and not realizing some teachers are trying to determine the future of students and the school and giving up on students based on personal issues an the belief that slower students can't get the diploma in the end.12th grade teachers are better and don't act as if they are the best even if

Baccalaureate School for Global Education 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Committed teachers, wide ranging curriculum, creative, engaging teaching methods and a laid back atmosphere that still demands kids really push themselves to excel.

Baccalaureate School for Global Education 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
An academically challenging school with a lot of support and care from the teachers. Great for motivated kids. You'll learn to think critically and to write well. Not a lot of options and extras, so if you're a "sports kid" or a "super math kid" -- probably not the right fit.


Baccalaureate School for Global Education 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
The Baccalaureate School for Global Education has a challenging and engaging curriculum that demands of students to be active and responsible in their own education. The teachers are top-notch; they care about the students and this is evident in the careful planning of curriculum, homework and class assignments. It is a high level learning environment that also values school community and warm, respectful social relations amongst students and with teachers.

Baccalaureate School for Global Education 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
The school is academically complete and challenging. It brings the best out of the students. The teachers are very dedicated to the students. The best part is if a student is not doing well, they can spend time after school and catch up.

Baccalaureate School for Global Education 4

Posted March 07, 2011
- a parent
My son started 7th grade this year. I've been very favorably impressed by the quality of the work and depth of thinking demanded of students. As with any school, not every teacher is great-- he has one that's hard to deal with. The work is several steps ahead of what was being asked in his old school in terms of conceptual thinking. The teachers make themselves available to help and seem really focused on each kid.


Baccalaureate School for Global Education
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
The diversity, the curriculum, very dedicated teachers, engaged students.

Baccalaureate School for Global Education
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
It offers rigorous courses for students to challenge them in order to be more engaged in school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baccalaureate School for Global Education
34-12 36th Avenue, Queens, NY  11106
(718) 361-5275
Last modified Baccalaureate School for Global Education is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Baccalaureate School for Global Education Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top