Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 4

Posted December 19, 2015
- a student
I'm currently a high school freshman attending this school. I think as long as you are involved in the school you will be just fine. The uniform policy is annoying at times but you get used to it. The teachers are helpful as well as long as you talk to them. College readiness is not the best though. However, many of the AP classes are very challenging. Personally the school overall, can be good or bad depending how you make yourself.

World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 19, 2015
- a student
Sometimes they show favorites for old students also, sometimes teachers can be disrespectful at times, but that depends on the way you treat them.


World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 1

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been here since 6th grade. She is now a 7th grader. She likes the school, but as a parent I am not a fan of it. I think the only think I am a fan of is the UNIFORMS. The teachers are ok. I do not like how the Parent Teacher conferences are. My daughter is presenting her porfolio meanwhile there is no teacher present to meet with us. Where is the old traditional meeting the teachers. I feel that my child really don't have structure as far as readiness to learn the stuff she should as a 7th grader. I think I would of been better sending my child to her regular zone. There is to much going on with kids there. The principal (Cynthia Schneider) is never to been seen. I think I have more interaction with the Assistant Principal (Nancy Poulos) then the Principal alone. I can not wait to get my daughter out of there after 8th grade. You are better of going to IS 25 (if that is your zone) or staying with your zone Jr. HS. Whether this school is a charter school and college board is not WORTH sending your child there if you want a better education for them.

World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 1

Posted March 16, 2014
- a community member
Not a good high school experience at all. According to others, its a school of favortism. Its very true. Lots of the students can get away with murder and still not get into any trouble. Theres no activities besides the clubs and the staff members are the definition of rude. Nobody is a hater they are just peoples opinions. Many opinions infact.

World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a community member
I go to this school and it rocks. I dont know why people are such haters and say that the WJPS sucks... First of all I know the uniform seems bad but it is one example of the high expectation of this wondeful school. ANOTHER good reason why it is a good school is because the teachers are very prepared. SOME haters dont like the fact that Wednesdays are half days... well teachers have orientation every Wednesday and they get classes on how to educate students better that is why On wedsnedays students leave early. I give this school 5 stars outta 5 stars. It is ranked very high nationally and is in the Best High School Roll. Lastly it is a middle school and a high school so u dont have to fuss about picking your High school so yeah. Very good school.


World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
This school rocks! My kids come home every day with a new story about her friends, and about her teachers fun ways of teaching

World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 1

Posted June 26, 2013
- a community member
This school stinks. I am an alumni of this school and now a current 9th grader who left WJPS for a different high school. No clubs, barely any work, dumb uniform policy, and half days on Wednesdays FOR WHAT REASON!!?? I AM NEVER COMING BACK HERE AGAIN

World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 1

Posted June 25, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school from 6th to 8th grade. In the orientation, they told us there were multiple clubs, but that is a big fat LIE! The school has like only 5 clubs, and they're only available to high school. Also, the principal barely helps us with our problems ;she just tells us to work harder. In my years of middle school, we received about 1 textbook, and work goes by VERY slowly. When regents came, we didn't even learn half of the topics there. The uniform code is also terrible. Online, they claim you need to wear wjps shorts, but no one follows it. Zero sports teams, and students get half days every Wednesday, but what's the point? We barely get any work! If you want your child to get a good education, or to be challenged, DO NOT GO TO WJPS!!!


World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 1

Posted June 21, 2013
- a community member
im a student here at wjps, i just finished my freshmen year, and i must say it was horrible. The principle can care less, she acts like she cares when she doesnt. the whole school is about favoritism, ESPECIALLY when it comes to student government, they never get into trouble for uniforms, and im not over exaggerating. The teachers can careless about you, the lessons go by so slow by the time regents come along we still didnt learn 6 topics, i had to learn it all on my own. There is no extra activities to do. Next year the regents are gonna be really hard for the upcoming freshmen, new material that the teachers dont even know yet, so if i were you i wouldnt send your child there. Dont be fooled by the small classes, it dosnt change anything. Not to mention all the teachers get side tracked all the time. Anyway, long story short... dont go to wjps

World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School 1

Posted June 16, 2013
- a community member
My son was just accepted into this school for 9th grade this september but after reading these reviews, i am not sure how i feel about this school. Any advise from anyone would be helpful..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School
34-65 192nd Street, Queens, NY  11358
(718) 461-2219
Last modified World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
World Journalism Preparatory: A College Board School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top