Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Queens, NY
Students enrolled: 572

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps Is 295 3

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
My kids love their school but I wish they have some more activities on daily basis.

Ps Is 295 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Great School Great Staff..I wish there were less traffic some times. :) Teaching staff were excellent in 2012-2013 academic year.


Ps Is 295 3

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Parents need to be more evolved in parent teachers conference and more activities for the kids it is also a middle school . Things has change since my daughters been their academically teachers are great the ones my daughter had.

Ps Is 295 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is rather new. I like that there is fewer classes per grade. My daughter has been there for three years, and till this date has no complaint about this school. She loves all her teachers and classes, and they have thought her plenty. My only concern is the crossing guards. This is a busy avenue, and they need to have more security to help these kids cross the streets in the morning and in the afternoon.

Ps Is 295 4

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
The school is good....work in progress...but needs better safety parameters for children that walk to school. The Jamaica Ave and 222nd intersection is dangerous due to heavy commercial traffic, a city bus depot that is heavily active in the morning, and a short walk signal for children to cross. The crossing guard can not even assist the children to cross Jamaica Ave, because the crossing guard says she does not have enough time to cross over with the children so instead they wave their hands and tell the children run..run..cross now! At the same time huge commercial heavy traffic is simultaneously are making left and right turn onto Jamaica Ave, narrowingly missing the kids from getting run over. In conclusion, the school is new, the safety for children is totally disregarded, no signs to reduce the speed , no upgrade to traffic signals to allow children to cross safely, no speed bumps. The interim principal and the PTA are unsuccessful in solving this problem. Any real effective suggestions to rectify this major oversight and neglect for children's safety would be appreciated.


Ps Is 295 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
I love this school for its commitment to students.

Ps Is 295 1

Posted June 14, 2010
- a parent
This school is ok Not welcoming and not a comfortable parent involvement school.I wouldn't recommend it .

Ps Is 295 4

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
A good school with good educational oppurtunities. Though I wouldn't reccomend it against top schools such as Louis Armstrong or Scholars Academy, this school has good learning preferences, but is new and it isn't as well run as some other schools. This is a school for a child that is shy to travel out of town. Otherwise, other schools a kind of better. I am sure as this building gets older, it will become top.


Ps Is 295 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
i love this school. it has a oppertunity to teach fun things and learn at the same time.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps Is 295
222-14 Jamaica Avenue, Queens, NY  11428
(718) 464-1433
Last modified Ps Is 295 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps Is 295 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top