Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps Is 295 1

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
This school is the worst in the neighborhood. Talk about bullies, there are bullies in all different forms. This school is all about having its ratings being high and good. I would advise anyone thinking of sending their child there to look for another alternative. Yes, the school is small but the children are the same from kindergarten to 8th grade. If your child is harassed at grade 2, I guaranteed you it would continue to the upper grades. The school does nothing to help. Bad management knowing it is in the same building as the school superintendent. What a shame……

Ps Is 295 3

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
My kids love their school but I wish they have some more activities on daily basis.


Ps Is 295 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a parent
Great School Great Staff..I wish there were less traffic some times. :) Teaching staff were excellent in 2012-2013 academic year.

Ps Is 295 3

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Parents need to be more evolved in parent teachers conference and more activities for the kids it is also a middle school . Things has change since my daughters been their academically teachers are great the ones my daughter had.

Ps Is 295 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is rather new. I like that there is fewer classes per grade. My daughter has been there for three years, and till this date has no complaint about this school. She loves all her teachers and classes, and they have thought her plenty. My only concern is the crossing guards. This is a busy avenue, and they need to have more security to help these kids cross the streets in the morning and in the afternoon.


Ps Is 295 4

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
The school is good....work in progress...but needs better safety parameters for children that walk to school. The Jamaica Ave and 222nd intersection is dangerous due to heavy commercial traffic, a city bus depot that is heavily active in the morning, and a short walk signal for children to cross. The crossing guard can not even assist the children to cross Jamaica Ave, because the crossing guard says she does not have enough time to cross over with the children so instead they wave their hands and tell the children run..run..cross now! At the same time huge commercial heavy traffic is simultaneously are making left and right turn onto Jamaica Ave, narrowingly missing the kids from getting run over. In conclusion, the school is new, the safety for children is totally disregarded, no signs to reduce the speed , no upgrade to traffic signals to allow children to cross safely, no speed bumps. The interim principal and the PTA are unsuccessful in solving this problem. Any real effective suggestions to rectify this major oversight and neglect for children's safety would be appreciated.

Ps Is 295 4

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
good school.... my child attended PS 33 and we transferred to this school . I am very pleased witht he teachers, program and the school qquality. My child loves the school and i am happy it goes to grade 8.... it makes for a much better education for kids to be in a smaller school without the problems of the large middle schools.

Ps Is 295 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
I love this school for its commitment to students.


Ps Is 295 1

Posted June 14, 2010
- a parent
This school is ok Not welcoming and not a comfortable parent involvement school.I wouldn't recommend it .

Ps Is 295 4

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
A good school with good educational oppurtunities. Though I wouldn't reccomend it against top schools such as Louis Armstrong or Scholars Academy, this school has good learning preferences, but is new and it isn't as well run as some other schools. This is a school for a child that is shy to travel out of town. Otherwise, other schools a kind of better. I am sure as this building gets older, it will become top.

Nearby schools

Ps Is 295
222-14 Jamaica Avenue, Queens, NY  11428
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (718) 464-1433
Last modified Ps Is 295 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top