Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey

Public | 6-9 & ungraded | 1248 students

We are best known for accelerated Math/Sci/Talent.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2008

This school wasn't a good school for me. I only spent one year there. I was always picked on. I sure hope things have changed. The deans didn't do anything to help. The assistant principal for the 6th graders would lock the bathroom doors. The buses were ridiculous. It was either late picking the kids up in the cold or never showing up in the afternoons. Thank whoever invented Metro cards since that helped me get there and back. There were some teachers I liked though. But I would never go back.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2008

I currently go to this school and i love it. The school has a lot to offer and i especially love the technology program. Ive been in the school for 4 years and im still attending the school. The students get a lot of respect in this school and besides since im good with computers all the teachers give me a lot of respect also. I love this school and i always will. My favorite teacher in the school is and always will be the computer teacher in room 301.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

I've been in many different middle schools, partically because i movr a lot. I spent 3 years in this school ( 7th 8th and 9th) and they were the best years ever. Everyone is kind, and wants to help around. The deans are amazing! They really listen to what you have to say. The teachers as well are loving.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

This school brings soo much memories into the heart of my family and im currently in halsey.I love this school the teachers are nice and the students know when to get there additudes poppin!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2007

THE MOST RAD school ever! the school offers so many programs! it is so good! this is my first year here and it is absolutely great! I mean, better than my elementary school, I must say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

I went to this school. I don't who in the world says this school is good because it isn't. All the school staff takes pride in the cleanliness, but not the education in this school. Trust me! This school is not good at all. May I repeat, at all!


Posted November 1, 2007

Okay School. First year here and the activities are great! [I think] there are too many fights in this school though. ehh... we all get into fights. The students just need to know how to avoid them. Make sure the student gets into honors. Whats Good about honors: More atention, more activites such as field trips. Whats Bad: Too much HW! Also, the teachers always want more. Okay school, Just don't get into fights!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

The academic programs are great! Art, drama, gardening,science, band, chorus, health, yoga, dance, boating, volleyball, handball, and taikwando are extracurricular programs. I just graduated and I was really happy there. Some of the kids are bad but thats in every school. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2006

Make sure from the beginning that your child gets into honor class. The only kids who get good education and attention are kids who are in the honor classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Halsey is becoming the elite school it once was. The new principal reinstated all our art and music programs. Every child in the school can participate in art or music if they choose to. He also has invented theme days. Wonderful place
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

460 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

446 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

456 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

446 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 44% 48%
Hispanic 2 23% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 22% 9%
Black 2 12% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 115%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 158%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 53%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Italian
Russian
Spanish
Tagalog
Punjabi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Italian
  • Punjabi
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2072 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents65651%
Students132498%
Teachers9298%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. VINCENT SURACI
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Italian
  • Punjabi
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • JHS 157 recieved a grade of “A” on our 2009-2010 Progress Report. Our score of a 92.7 out of a possible 100 was the highest score of any JHS/MS in District 28 We are pleased to announce that construction on our new million dollar state-of-the art Science Lab begins summer 2010 Our students feel welcomed and safe at Stephen A. Halsey, JHS 157. Students appreciate that our teachers really get to know their learning strengths and areas of need. Students know that this enables teachers to plan challenging accelerated curriculum for advanced learners as well as supportive lessons for youngsters that need the extra help. Children know their teachers and the school community work together to ensure all students achieve their learning potential. Students in our accelerated Honors Program know they have the opportunity to earn high school Regents credit in Algebra, Earth Science and Foreign Language by the end of 8th grade. Our youngsters enjoy being able to participate in the Performing Arts talent program of their choice which include theatrical productions in Drama, concerts in Chorus, Jazz Chorus, Concert Band, Jazz Band and participation in the NYSMA competition. Students may also choose to participate in Visual Fine Art or our Technology/Computer talent programs. Boys and girls enjoy participating in over 20 extended day after school and Saturday enrichment programs and clubs including Ball Room Dancing, Hasley Bull Dog School Newspaper, Technology Team, Accelerated Math and ELA, Mouse Squad, Film Making, A Study of Culture through Cooking, CHAMPS Dance Team and Halsey Garden, Foreign Language and Chess Clubs; just to name a few. Students may also participate in our 21st Century after-school program from 2:20 PM-6:00PM. Our boys and girls enjoy going on school trips that enhance their learning experience through-out the year including a Washington DC, Williamsburg Virginia, walking tour of Revolutionary Era Manhattan, trips to Lincoln Center, Broadway and many museums. Students also enjoy their end of year grade trips to Chelsea Piers and Adventure Land. Over-all our students really like being part of a school that celebrates students work and achievement; as well as being part of a safe, nurturing environment with a wide variety of enrichment programs and fun activities for boys and girls to participate in. Parents are comfortable knowing that their children attend a school that promotes a safe, child-centered, nurturing learning environment. We also promote an “Open Door” policy where parents know that they can come to our school at anytime and speak to a member of our staff with any concerns or questions they may have. Our parents have the opportunity to participate in various parent workshops as well as being a part of our School Leadership Team and/or Parent Association. Parents like that their children have the opportunity to be part of an accelerated honors program as well as the many after school and Saturday enrichment activities. Our students leave us prepared for the challenges of a rigorous high school curriculum. Each year we have a high number of students that make specialized high schools and specialized programs in various high schools through NYC including Stuyvessant, Bronx Science, Brooklyn Tech, LaGuardia, Frank Sinatra, Carl Sagan at Forest Hills and the DaVinci Program at Cardozo, to name a few. We encourage and strive to achieve a collaborative partnership with all parents and guardians as we work together to ensure their child’s success at JHS 157
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
PS.196
PS.220
PS.175

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
NYC Specialized HS Programs
Forest Hills HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

63-55 102nd St
Rego Park, NY 11374
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 830-4910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jhs 190 Russell Sage
Forest Hills, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT