Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey

Public | 6-9 & ungraded | 1248 students

We are best known for accelerated Math/Sci/Talent.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

As a new parent, coming to Halsey from PS175- my son and I absolutely love the school. The teachers are great, the principal is welcoming and patient with all the little questions and concerns. Their SEP - Software Engineering program is simply amazing, the band is great and my son enjoys Mouse Squad, SEP and the Jazz Band. He is challenged being in the honors program. As a parent, I love the PupilPath system they use and wish that all teachers used it, as some use it less than others. I would highly recommend this school to all my friends and family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My kids are in 7 and 8 grades and I see they don't have to much problems. I love the extra help for the kids and tje talwnt classes specially music and art my kids been learning to be proud of them self and academic they are learning and helping friends. I love this school andthe people who work Iin there is always helping parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

I went to Halsey JHS 157 from 2007-2010 I loved this school the teachers encouraged us to learn but that was 3 years ago. I now attend Forest Hills High school A few blocks away, a lot of the things that i was taught in my first year of high school, I was already taught in Middle School Yes, there were fights, Yes there were bullies, I was never in A fight and I was never bullied because I minded my own business but still made friends. Security and deans were great but a little rude. This was a good school


Posted December 5, 2012

Locker rooms in this school are not supervised by teachers. Children get beat up in the locker rooms while changing before/after gym classes. There are alot of bullies in this school constantly intimadating children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

This is a great school. I have sent my two children here and both have done very well academically and socially. I particularly like that the principal is a major presence in the school. He attends all school events, such as chorus and band performances,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

teachers are inexperienced and unorganzied and it is not okay to insult the students....there is no control in the classroom...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I love the camaraderie between teachers and parents. The neighborhood is a close-nit community of families who are devoted to the success of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

The Principal and Staff are the perfect fit for a JHS. Caring and hard working to make these young teenage years memorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Halsey is a great school with wonderful teachers who care about the students. My child went through a lot of 'growing pains' while in Halsey JHS and with the help of the teachers, Guidance counselor, and Asst. Principal's help he made it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I love it because it has #1 principal,great staff and I feel welcome there,plus my son is treated well and he is very happy with his teachers and classmates,I would recomend it to anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

the teachers are demanding and help kids rise to the occasion as they mature.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

I am at this school in 9th grade and i never want to leave, the teachers are great, there is alot of fun and i love this shool
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

Halsey is a wonderful Middle School with a very supportive and a staff enthusiastic about teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

I go to this school right now and I am in the honors class. This is my first year here at halsey and so far it's great! All the teachers are nice, and they always respect you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

I'm currently a senior at Halsey. It's not the WORST school ever, but at the same time, it's not the best. Yeah, fights do occur, but at least we have a peer mediation program!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2009

i was in this school a couple of years ago and i hated it. I thought that too many fights occured during the week. There used to be like 3 fights a week. The only thing good that i have to say about this school is that the teachers are ok and the students are relatively nice. I don't recommend this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

I dont likeand like it because the teachers dont teach they just review and never teach.


Posted January 13, 2009

I attended this school 3 years ago and it certainly is a good school. Security does a good job to keep it safe. The teachers push you to exceed and are respectful. The school has many programs and things to do. The cafeteria is pretty big.I liked it, for me it was great. The students are nice youll make a lot of new friends. And the school has become way better since i left. I recommend your child leaving to hs in 9th grade though because he would struugle in hs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

Wow i just got to say you have to put your child here! its like the best school in the world! i had 2 move but i really regret it cuz of the teachers and my firends. Your child will get the best education cuz the teachers know what they r doing and will push your child to do the best. In the beginning you may get a lot of homework but after awhile you will get use to it and it will be easier. The children in the school are really nice. They r friendly and make you feel like a whole big happly family. The talents (drama, chorus, art, computer etc.) Are the best u can find. They always have shows that the whole school can part of and will have alot of fun. I started out to be non honors but after the first semester i got in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

This is an awesome school with lots of choices and great teachers and i am able to feel safe and great in the school of Stephen A. Halsey. They give extra curriculum activities if u need help with a subject its great
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

460 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

446 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

456 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

446 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

266 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 44% 48%
Hispanic 2 23% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 22% 9%
Black 1 12% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 115%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 258%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 53%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Italian
Russian
Spanish
Tagalog
Punjabi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Italian
  • Punjabi
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2072 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents65651%
Students132498%
Teachers9298%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. VINCENT SURACI
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Italian
  • Punjabi
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
More from this school
  • JHS 157 recieved a grade of “A” on our 2009-2010 Progress Report. Our score of a 92.7 out of a possible 100 was the highest score of any JHS/MS in District 28 We are pleased to announce that construction on our new million dollar state-of-the art Science Lab begins summer 2010 Our students feel welcomed and safe at Stephen A. Halsey, JHS 157. Students appreciate that our teachers really get to know their learning strengths and areas of need. Students know that this enables teachers to plan challenging accelerated curriculum for advanced learners as well as supportive lessons for youngsters that need the extra help. Children know their teachers and the school community work together to ensure all students achieve their learning potential. Students in our accelerated Honors Program know they have the opportunity to earn high school Regents credit in Algebra, Earth Science and Foreign Language by the end of 8th grade. Our youngsters enjoy being able to participate in the Performing Arts talent program of their choice which include theatrical productions in Drama, concerts in Chorus, Jazz Chorus, Concert Band, Jazz Band and participation in the NYSMA competition. Students may also choose to participate in Visual Fine Art or our Technology/Computer talent programs. Boys and girls enjoy participating in over 20 extended day after school and Saturday enrichment programs and clubs including Ball Room Dancing, Hasley Bull Dog School Newspaper, Technology Team, Accelerated Math and ELA, Mouse Squad, Film Making, A Study of Culture through Cooking, CHAMPS Dance Team and Halsey Garden, Foreign Language and Chess Clubs; just to name a few. Students may also participate in our 21st Century after-school program from 2:20 PM-6:00PM. Our boys and girls enjoy going on school trips that enhance their learning experience through-out the year including a Washington DC, Williamsburg Virginia, walking tour of Revolutionary Era Manhattan, trips to Lincoln Center, Broadway and many museums. Students also enjoy their end of year grade trips to Chelsea Piers and Adventure Land. Over-all our students really like being part of a school that celebrates students work and achievement; as well as being part of a safe, nurturing environment with a wide variety of enrichment programs and fun activities for boys and girls to participate in. Parents are comfortable knowing that their children attend a school that promotes a safe, child-centered, nurturing learning environment. We also promote an “Open Door” policy where parents know that they can come to our school at anytime and speak to a member of our staff with any concerns or questions they may have. Our parents have the opportunity to participate in various parent workshops as well as being a part of our School Leadership Team and/or Parent Association. Parents like that their children have the opportunity to be part of an accelerated honors program as well as the many after school and Saturday enrichment activities. Our students leave us prepared for the challenges of a rigorous high school curriculum. Each year we have a high number of students that make specialized high schools and specialized programs in various high schools through NYC including Stuyvessant, Bronx Science, Brooklyn Tech, LaGuardia, Frank Sinatra, Carl Sagan at Forest Hills and the DaVinci Program at Cardozo, to name a few. We encourage and strive to achieve a collaborative partnership with all parents and guardians as we work together to ensure their child’s success at JHS 157
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
PS.196
PS.220
PS.175

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
NYC Specialized HS Programs
Forest Hills HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

63-55 102nd St
Rego Park, NY 11374
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 830-4910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Jhs 190 Russell Sage
Forest Hills, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT