Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Needs more substantive parent engagement, but the school is very good academically and my son is happy!

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Thank you to the P.A.! You are working so hard for us to develop our association, and you are making a difference for 100s of families. Thank you so much!


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a community member
My son has been attending Halsey for the second year now. The teachers are committed and involved in the children's academic success. The band teacher and director, Ms. Wolff is amazing, caring and willing to go the extra mile to support the band. My son will greatly miss Halsey as we are relocating. The administration seems to have improved, but I must admit, they could be rude and unhelpful at times.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 1

Posted March 26, 2015
- a community member
Fine school. However, the main thing that is not good is about its environment. The good thing about it is that the teachers work hard to make sure that everyone is safe and are good students.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted October 17, 2014
- a teacher
Hello, Helping parents is very important to JHS157. The office staff is usually very polite, professional and welcoming. If you have a concern, you should come to school and meet with the principal. I am sure this can easily be addressed


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 1

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Office staff is very rude! Horrible customer service to whichever lady answers the phone. At least pretend to be nice!

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
As a new parent, coming to Halsey from PS175- my son and I absolutely love the school. The teachers are great, the principal is welcoming and patient with all the little questions and concerns. Their SEP - Software Engineering program is simply amazing, the band is great and my son enjoys Mouse Squad, SEP and the Jazz Band. He is challenged being in the honors program. As a parent, I love the PupilPath system they use and wish that all teachers used it, as some use it less than others. I would highly recommend this school to all my friends and family!

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
I go to this school it is my first year and i love it. The teachers are great and really want us to have a great future!!!!


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
To be a new student's parent, I like the way the school is which is at the beginning of the school year all teachers meet all students parents to introduce themselves and email address to keep in touch.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My kids are in 7 and 8 grades and I see they don't have to much problems. I love the extra help for the kids and tje talwnt classes specially music and art my kids been learning to be proud of them self and academic they are learning and helping friends. I love this school andthe people who work Iin there is always helping parents

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey
63-55 102nd St, Rego Park, NY  11374
(718) 830-4910
Last modified Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top