Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9 & Ungraded
Public
Rego Park, NY
Students enrolled: 1,248

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


46 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted October 17, 2014
- a teacher
Hello, Helping parents is very important to JHS157. The office staff is usually very polite, professional and welcoming. If you have a concern, you should come to school and meet with the principal. I am sure this can easily be addressed

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 1

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Office staff is very rude! Horrible customer service to whichever lady answers the phone. At least pretend to be nice!


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
As a new parent, coming to Halsey from PS175- my son and I absolutely love the school. The teachers are great, the principal is welcoming and patient with all the little questions and concerns. Their SEP - Software Engineering program is simply amazing, the band is great and my son enjoys Mouse Squad, SEP and the Jazz Band. He is challenged being in the honors program. As a parent, I love the PupilPath system they use and wish that all teachers used it, as some use it less than others. I would highly recommend this school to all my friends and family!
1 person found this helpful

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My kids are in 7 and 8 grades and I see they don't have to much problems. I love the extra help for the kids and tje talwnt classes specially music and art my kids been learning to be proud of them self and academic they are learning and helping friends. I love this school andthe people who work Iin there is always helping parents
1 person found this helpful

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 3

Posted May 26, 2013
- a community member
I went to Halsey JHS 157 from 2007-2010 I loved this school the teachers encouraged us to learn but that was 3 years ago. I now attend Forest Hills High school A few blocks away, a lot of the things that i was taught in my first year of high school, I was already taught in Middle School Yes, there were fights, Yes there were bullies, I was never in A fight and I was never bullied because I minded my own business but still made friends. Security and deans were great but a little rude. This was a good school


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 2

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
Locker rooms in this school are not supervised by teachers. Children get beat up in the locker rooms while changing before/after gym classes. There are alot of bullies in this school constantly intimadating children.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school. I have sent my two children here and both have done very well academically and socially. I particularly like that the principal is a major presence in the school. He attends all school events, such as chorus and band performances,

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 2

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
teachers are inexperienced and unorganzied and it is not okay to insult the students....there is no control in the classroom...


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 0
no rating

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
I love the camaraderie between teachers and parents. The neighborhood is a close-nit community of families who are devoted to the success of their students.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
The Principal and Staff are the perfect fit for a JHS. Caring and hard working to make these young teenage years memorable.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey
63-55 102nd St, Rego Park, NY  11374
(718) 830-4910
Last modified Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top