Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9 & Ungraded
Public district
Rego Park, NY
Students enrolled: 1,476
 

4 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 1

Posted March 26, 2015
- a community member
Fine school. However, the main thing that is not good is about its environment. The good thing about it is that the teachers work hard to make sure that everyone is safe and are good students.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted October 17, 2014
- a teacher
Hello, Helping parents is very important to JHS157. The office staff is usually very polite, professional and welcoming. If you have a concern, you should come to school and meet with the principal. I am sure this can easily be addressed


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 1

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Office staff is very rude! Horrible customer service to whichever lady answers the phone. At least pretend to be nice!

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
As a new parent, coming to Halsey from PS175- my son and I absolutely love the school. The teachers are great, the principal is welcoming and patient with all the little questions and concerns. Their SEP - Software Engineering program is simply amazing, the band is great and my son enjoys Mouse Squad, SEP and the Jazz Band. He is challenged being in the honors program. As a parent, I love the PupilPath system they use and wish that all teachers used it, as some use it less than others. I would highly recommend this school to all my friends and family!
1 person found this helpful

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
I go to this school it is my first year and i love it. The teachers are great and really want us to have a great future!!!!


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
To be a new student's parent, I like the way the school is which is at the beginning of the school year all teachers meet all students parents to introduce themselves and email address to keep in touch.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My kids are in 7 and 8 grades and I see they don't have to much problems. I love the extra help for the kids and tje talwnt classes specially music and art my kids been learning to be proud of them self and academic they are learning and helping friends. I love this school andthe people who work Iin there is always helping parents
1 person found this helpful

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 3

Posted May 26, 2013
- a community member
I went to Halsey JHS 157 from 2007-2010 I loved this school the teachers encouraged us to learn but that was 3 years ago. I now attend Forest Hills High school A few blocks away, a lot of the things that i was taught in my first year of high school, I was already taught in Middle School Yes, there were fights, Yes there were bullies, I was never in A fight and I was never bullied because I minded my own business but still made friends. Security and deans were great but a little rude. This was a good school


Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 2

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
Locker rooms in this school are not supervised by teachers. Children get beat up in the locker rooms while changing before/after gym classes. There are alot of bullies in this school constantly intimadating children.

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey 4

Posted November 30, 2012
- a community member
Halsey is a pretty good school. I am currently going to Halsey and I am in the honors class. There are some people that are very nice especially in the honor classes. Though my only complaint is (since I am a student many might think otherwise) that some of the kids are bad kids that push everyone in their way. I was on the staircase and a random kid pulled my lunchbox and I almost fell. He didn't even say sorry which is very rude and it is NOT nice. Besides that, I think this school is good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey
63-55 102nd St, Rego Park, NY  11374
(718) 830-4910
Last modified Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 157 Stephen A Halsey Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top