Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 174 William Sidney Mount

Public | PK-6 | 589 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

We had high hopes for 174, especially with our child in the GATE program. But what we realized is that it's a numbers game geared towards getting higher test scores so the school gets more money. It's not really about the kids. Otherwise, why would there be 32 kids with 1 teacher, packed in like sardines? Homework and assignments often go unchecked and there's little individual attention. The teacher does the best she can, but it's really a failing of the administration. But who can blame them, as their budget it tied solely to how well the kids test. It's quite sad! Still, there are good points. Good after-school programs, interesting field trips, and regular social events led by a strong coordinator. However, it's frustrating, as I just feel it could be so much better if the teacher/student ratio was anywhere near manageable. And finally, I do believe there is a problem with how the administration deals with bullying and other foul behaviors. It seems they prefer to keep things quiet and sweep matters under the rug instead of tackling them directly. That's very weak leadership. Parents want transparency and visible action!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

It's great neighborhood school. My daughter went there for 4 years before she got into Lous Armstrong middle school. My son is in 4th grade and likes it there. I would not say that he gets plenty of homework but when I feel the he is done with his homework too fast I make him do extra math on computer through 10 Marks that his teacher signed him with. School offers plenty of after school activities . Even though they are not free I hear that many NYC schools don't even offer any after school activities. My son loves going to after school like basketball and chess. This school also offers many trips and I was lucky to go as a parent volunteer parent to Lincoln Center and see ballet Nutcracker and then 4 seasons. Parent coordinator is also great. She is very responsive to parents needs and very organized. The building probably needs renovations but it's not easy to get funds for that. It's not the most important thing . Main hing is that my child is safe there and he is leaning .Overall our family is very pleased with this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

Teachers in this school are absolutely amazing... unfortunately the school didn't get 5 stars due to the principal (she lacks personality, leadership, communication, and ensuring the school is a safe environment).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

My daughter is in kindergarten. The most important thing is that she likes school and seems always happy going there in the morning. Her class is small, they have 13 or 14 students, which is good, not to mention that they have one lead teacher, one assistant and 2 or 3 paras, which is great. I think for me, personally is very difficult to say if she has the best teacher, but in general I like P.S 174 very much. It is very active school. I receive lots of emails on daily basis. I feel I'm getting information about all the activities and couple of times I sent an email to a parent coordinator and her response was very quick and productive. Overall I'm happy with this school. Hopefully I'll be even happier next year when she goes to 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

My daughter is about to finish the 1st grade. She is in the gifted and talented program. Since she still has 4 grades to go before hitting JHS this review could of course change but so far almost everything is positive. During the past year I did have some concerns involving another student and the principle was very responsive. With thousands of students every school is going to have its share of problems, but it s how these problems are handled that makes a school good. The principle doesn t hide in her office, I normally see her in the halls interacting with the teachers and students. The assistant principle is very lively and friendly. My daughter s Kindergarten and 1st grade teachers have been excellent. The teachers that my daughter has had so far really seem to care about their students. There are nice programs and trips that the class goes on and parent participation is always encouraged. Last week the class just had a writing celebration and talent show in which parents and relatives were invited. During this show the children were able to express themselves through writing and art. The bottom line is that my daughter is HAPPY and she is LEARNING.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

We feel very fortunate to have the opportunity for our daughters to attend this wonderful school. The oldest is in 4th grade gifted and talented, and the youngest is in 1st grade. Both have had ample experiences to perform before the school (singing, dancing, and musical theater), and there are diverse after school programs which have enriched them immensely. The principal is always there, supporting the children in all their endeavors, and she knows them all by name and personality. My girls can't wait to go to school each day. We are very happy here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

PS174 is the best school ever. My daughter is in gifted and talented and she loves it! The staff is wonderful. The lunches are nutriciuos annd the programs are excellent. My daughter is in 4th grade and has been in this school since kindergarten. My other daughter is in 1st grade and she loves it too. The principle is very nice. My daughters adore their teachers and assistant principle. My oldest daughter in 4th grade is very sad to be leaving in 5th. We all LOVE it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

This is the best school that there can be. Best principal, teachers, you name it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

Our son stayed from 1 to 3 grades in the gifted class which might be OK, but the school staffs and classes are bad in general. They are still teaching 2nd grade stuff to the 3rd graders. They never had good lunch and the lunch coordinators always yield at the kids. The teachers (even the gifted class teachers) and the principle are not responsive at all. They just ignore you and your kids. It is a horrible school in Forest Hills area. Now we moved out and he is so happy with his current school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

Lazy principal, lazy teachers. Boring. Filthy classrooms. Pre-K was total waste of time for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

The Principle is very lazy and is not working hard to cater the needs of kids.This school has no after school program ,no morning program ,no extra enrichment. Enrichment class does not mean art and craft work. My son is in 2nd grade now and will be going to 3rd grade .Till now , my experience with the teacher was excellent only in kindergarten .Ms Greenbaun class. I am not happy with his 1st and 2nd grade class.Hoping the gets a better teacher in 3rd grade.PA needs to arrange some free after school programs. Morining program that PS 201 has is wonderful.....Hope we get a better principle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

One needs to understand the diversity of the school in order to better interpret the test scores - compared to any other FH school the school serves a much higher % of ELL and Spec ed students which reflects on the test results - as such the reported #s are misleading - one needs to look at Gen Ed as well as non-ELL to understand the data - overall the test scores are very good - better than local private schools, ahead of and / or on par with PS 144 and 139 - and close to PS 101 when you adjust for the above factors -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

A very mixed bag - some really terrific teachers, but a lazy principal who simply doesn't deal with important issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

The administration is VERY supportive of the Gifted and Talented and general students, and the PA is extremely active. The parents here ROCK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The teachers and administration really care about the children and try very hard to get the parents involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

It's my kids' favorite. My 2 kids go to that school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Great teachers and Healthy Environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

P.S. 174 have great teachers and a caring support staff that provide a nurturing environment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I rate PS 174 highly because the staff, teachers and even the principal keeps the parents updated on upcoming events and/or issue in regards to the school. The teachers are very good. They encourage the kids to better themselves. I am so happy how well my son is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

great school, great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 48%
Asian 34% 9%
Hispanic 22% 23%
Black 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 64%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 375 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents35067%
Teachers2563%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KARIN KELLY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65-10 Dieterle Cres
Rego Park, NY 11374
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 897-7006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 139 Rego Park
Rego Park, NY



P.S. 49 Dorothy Bonawit Kole
Middle Village, NY


St. Margaret's School
Middle Village, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT