Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 71 Forest

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 982 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2010

i like this school because my child is learning so much and i thank the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

My daughter completed kindergarten at PS 71. I was very disappointed in their curriculum. They didn t seem to challenge the children enough. My daughter would bring home 1 or 2 sheets of H.W. and would be done in 5 min. They don't even have a reward system that acknowledges the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I intended PS. 71 three years ago and I loved that school.The teachers care about your education and PS 71 has many activities to do especially in 5th grade. I love the t-shirts they give of the 5th grade and the monthly trips they take. I love the dodgeball game miss.minnie plays and hope the school stands on forever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2008

My twins both attend PS 71 and I aboslutely love the communication that I have with their teachers. Ms. Napoli is a great VP and Ms Olivelli really cares about all 'her' kids and it shows with the way she interacts with her staff and the parents. Thank You, PS 71!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I have to say that I was so impressed with my childs progress this year. My child is in 4th grade and Ms. B has motivated my child tremendously. I am so happy that he is in 71, I just wish he could have his teacher for another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My children both attend P.S. 71 and I am very pleased with their progress. The teachers are kind and caring as well as very good at teaching! I love the music, art and computer programs and learning for life. The issues I have are that there is no gym, and not enough outdoor time. There are also no sports for after school. I would say it is one of the better schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I highly recommend this school for parents who want to enroll their child in elementary school. i had went to this school for all of my elementary school years and loved it. I am now a sophmore in high school. i currently attend Braden River High School(the best high school in the state of FL). Forest Elementary has left me with long lasting memories for years to come.


Posted January 11, 2008

My daughter has gone to this school for five years, I have nothing bad to say about the school, they are dedicated teachers who are willing to work the children and I love that the most !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My daughter graduated from PS71 2 years ago, my son is there now in kindergarten. I regret that the school only goes up to 5th grade, would've loved to have them there through 12th grade. My daughter's teachers were wonderful. Ms. Canepa is a great guidance counselor too. As a full time employee, I've always appreciated the teachers' willingness to accommodate my request to go on class trips, and we also enjoy family nights. Through the years, Principals Griffiths and Olivella have made arrangements for children to participate in music recitals, my daughter had a few of them and my son recently had a keyboard recital. PS71 is definitely a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

the school is berygood. my son now in 5 grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

My son is now in the 1st grade at PS 71. I am very pleased with his overall growth. His reading skills are excellent and he truly enjoys school. Everyday I get a positive report from him. He adores his teachers, Ms. Schneider (K) and Ms. Zecca (1st)!!! I am pleased with my son's overall educational growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2006

I think this school is the best. It's such a great school and has helped me grow immensely. I used to attend this school and just recently raduated. My favorite teachers were Ms. Stehle, Mrs. Murphy, Ms. Levine, and Ms.Zambelli. It rocks. Thank you to all the teachers and Mr. Griffiths the principal (in 04-05 school year). I met most of my best friends there. I love this school to death.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2006

the school has helped my child improve in reading and math. i have also some friends that have enrolled their children also and have been pleased with the results of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

Great school. I highly reccomend enrolling your child in this school if you live in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

My son has successfully completed 5th grade at 71. He has graduated with awards and is exceeding reading level. This school is by far one of the best schools I have had my children in. I highly recommend this schoo. While teachers do excellent work it is also up to us the parents to continue the teachings at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

I believe PS 71 is one of the best Elementary Schools in the Ridgewood area. My child has advanced in all areas, the teacher's are caring, understanding, and are willing to work with the parent as well as the child. I am very pleased that my child goes to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 51% 23%
White 2 43% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 4% 9%
Black 1 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 117%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 277%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 10%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 46%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 731 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents67978%
Teachers5268%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. WALKYDIA OLIVELLA

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

62-85 Forest Ave
Ridgewood, NY 11385
Phone: (718) 821-7772

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 153 Maspeth
Maspeth, NY




Ps 9
Maspeth, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT