Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverhead Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1525 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

Within our wonderful Riverhead High School, there is a club that has a great group of students involved in a leadership program called Key Club. These students work in all areas if the community to provide volunteer hours where needed; from raising finds for homeless programs by sleeping outside themselves to face painting at school carnivals. At the present time, trey are collecting prom dresses and other items to provide for anyone who needs a dress. These funds would be added to help any one who needed assistance on the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 28, 2013

When we move out to Riverhead we had concerns simply based on what other people were telling us. What we found and have experieced is the complete opposite! The Riverhead District is by far one of the best on the east end. The smaller districts don't compare with the programs that are offered. The community recently step up and approved over 80 million in renovations. I assume it gets a bad rap due to the diversity but that provides a real world learning environment for the students. The kids will all benefit in the long run both academically and character. It's sad how some parents are closed minded and only look for schools with no diversity. I don't understand why this site only gives it 3 stars when the majority reviews are 4 and 5. The couple 1 and 2s are over 10 yrs ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

My kids love thier schools and teachers. The Riverhead District is negatively perceived by folks outside the town who know very little about the town and District. The facts are the district has great programs in both sports and academics. Our student population is a class act where most excell in all areas. It's great to see all our sports team mentor elementary kids across the district. Are their some bad apples...of course....like any other district. Many folks perceive it negatively simply because it's not all white. It's sad but true. The truth is the district is comparable (and in some areas better) than neighboring districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

it may have a bad rep. but this school will give ur students the best education. ap and honors, latin and ancent greek as well as some of the best sport teams in ny
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

I went to this school, have lived in this town most of my life, and am happy to send my children to this district. Other local school districts are constantly taking aim at Riverhead and often it's unjustified. Yes, there are problems in Riverhead, but there are problems in other school district as well. The problems in Riverhead get accelerated because of its large population. With bigger numbers, come bigger problems. If people from other towns knew what the Riverhead School District offers it's students, they might be singing a different tune. There is no other local school district that can offer the programs that Riverhead does. Proud to send my children to this district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Riverhead does have a bad reputation according to some people, but the truth is they have no idea what theyre talking about. Yes, RHS has its ups and downs but what school doesnt? Lets face it there's no perfect town or school. Some schools are just better in certain things. For example, We might not have had the best regents scores this year but our football team won the long island championship. I dont think you can get any student to tell you he/she likes every one of their teachers. Just because they dont like one teacher doesnt mean that RHS has a bad staff. The truth is every one is gonna have their own opinion but if you really focus on your schoolwork and not on the perfection of your school you will do well and thats all that really matters. RHS is a good school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

I really hate the reputation Riverhead gets among other schools. We have a lot of problem areas to be certain (five assistant principals and an overbearing administration), but there are wonderful things about Riverhead too. Our music and theater program is great, our Latin program is well known (to people who pay attention to Latin programs), and we have some of the best and most helpful teachers around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2007

School is what parents and the children put into it. My one son quit school, two others have had straight A's from kindergarten to present one just graduated and hopes to be a teacher in Riverhead in 4 years. Another is just starting. The teachers have always been involved and willing to assist the children that want it and the parents who are willing to put forth the effort as well. I highly recommend this district. Go Blue Waves.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

They put in 200 cameras .the kids can't be kids,and are constantly watched from every angleyou can think of.the teachers are great and have been without a contract for over a year. I'm not happy with the school. Neither are my kids,its school not jail!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

Wonderfully inovative, well managed and diverse school with a dedicated and well educated faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I was very happy with my education from Riverhead, I feel the curriculum was not only challenging but very diverse for all educational levels, even offering alternative occupational courses rather than standard academics. I was very priveleged to have been taught by some of the greatest teachers within the Riverhead ranks: Mr. Jester, Biology, Mr. Kozyra, English 12, Ms. Kelsey, English 11, Mr. Moritz Seq II & III Math & Comp. Prog. only to name a few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

Academic programs are great, and availability of music, art, and sports is also great. The level of parental involvment seems to be low, however.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2005

I am a student at RHS. Our school is good and bad in many different aspects. We have violence in our school, but we have really good academic programs and a lot of sports to offer. Sports is a big deal here. There are a lot of good teachers, and some bad ones, like in every school. One thing I like about our school is the obvious diversity amongst the students - it's refreshing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2004

I am a student at RHS. I think my school is an ok school. There is alot of violence and many things going about but other than that its an ok school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

No leadership from administration or principle. Lack of any disipline, students run the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son attends this school and based on his performance and the circle of friends he pals around with. I would give this school high marks. The teachers I have met through extra curricular activities seem to be highly motivated and involved. My hat is off to them, thanks. A.F.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

I am a former student and also a former teacher at RHS. I taught four years in Florida and was considerably disappointed upon returning on staff to RHS. Low teacher morale, lack of teacher in-services for updated teaching trends, animosity b/w teachers and administration, lack of support pertaining to discipline and an inclusion program that was poorly managed are just some of the issues. Florida schools may have a long way to go to raise their level of education but the effort is apparent, but RHS soured my perception of the NYS education system forever. You may have noticed that no one has bothered to post the school statistics on this site. Riverhead is one of two schools that does not have a working web sight on all of Long Island!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 27, 2003

We unfortunately had two boys attend without realizing the standards were very low, the community support is lacking. When we moved, our kids needed serious remedial work to catch up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have two children who have gone through this school system. Both of them are pretty good kids, so they have always found a way to get along and to get ahead. With all of the diversity (population) and all of the good curriculum to choose from, I have been very pleased overall with how both kids have fared. As an educator myself, I have no reservations about my children being students of Riverhead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This School has a push system from lower levels; most children entering this school have been pushed up. This meaning most of the children entering 9th grade have not passed lower levels of education, being pushed up into 9th grade, even though they do not understand the basics of lower education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

164 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
African American52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female80%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Students69%
Female62%
Male77%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities40%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%

English

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
African American79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities76%
General population93%
English language learners82%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%

Geometry

All Students76%
Female79%
Male75%
African American52%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities43%
General population79%
English language learners45%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%

Global History and Geography

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
African American56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities38%
General population82%
English language learners32%
Proficient in English78%
Migrant70%
Non-migrant75%

Integrated Algebra

All Students66%
Female72%
Male60%
African American59%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities47%
General population69%
English language learners35%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%

Living Environment

All Students77%
Female76%
Male79%
African American62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities50%
General population81%
English language learners31%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%

Physics

All Students89%
Female88%
Male90%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students82%
Female79%
Male83%
African American63%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities47%
General population87%
English language learners59%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 56% 48%
Hispanic 1 22% 23%
Black 2 20% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 76%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Harrison Ave
Riverhead, NY 11901
Phone: (631) 369-6723

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Little Flower School
Wading River, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT