Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverhead Senior High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a teacher
Within our wonderful Riverhead High School, there is a club that has a great group of students involved in a leadership program called Key Club. These students work in all areas if the community to provide volunteer hours where needed; from raising finds for homeless programs by sleeping outside themselves to face painting at school carnivals. At the present time, trey are collecting prom dresses and other items to provide for anyone who needs a dress. These funds would be added to help any one who needed assistance on the school.

Riverhead Senior High School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
When we move out to Riverhead we had concerns simply based on what other people were telling us. What we found and have experieced is the complete opposite! The Riverhead District is by far one of the best on the east end. The smaller districts don't compare with the programs that are offered. The community recently step up and approved over 80 million in renovations. I assume it gets a bad rap due to the diversity but that provides a real world learning environment for the students. The kids will all benefit in the long run both academically and character. It's sad how some parents are closed minded and only look for schools with no diversity. I don't understand why this site only gives it 3 stars when the majority reviews are 4 and 5. The couple 1 and 2s are over 10 yrs ago.


Riverhead Senior High School 5

Posted May 06, 2012
- a parent
My kids love thier schools and teachers. The Riverhead District is negatively perceived by folks outside the town who know very little about the town and District. The facts are the district has great programs in both sports and academics. Our student population is a class act where most excell in all areas. It's great to see all our sports team mentor elementary kids across the district. Are their some bad apples...of course....like any other district. Many folks perceive it negatively simply because it's not all white. It's sad but true. The truth is the district is comparable (and in some areas better) than neighboring districts.

Riverhead Senior High School 5

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
it may have a bad rep. but this school will give ur students the best education. ap and honors, latin and ancent greek as well as some of the best sport teams in ny

Riverhead Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
I went to this school, have lived in this town most of my life, and am happy to send my children to this district. Other local school districts are constantly taking aim at Riverhead and often it's unjustified. Yes, there are problems in Riverhead, but there are problems in other school district as well. The problems in Riverhead get accelerated because of its large population. With bigger numbers, come bigger problems. If people from other towns knew what the Riverhead School District offers it's students, they might be singing a different tune. There is no other local school district that can offer the programs that Riverhead does. Proud to send my children to this district!


Riverhead Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
Riverhead does have a bad reputation according to some people, but the truth is they have no idea what theyre talking about. Yes, RHS has its ups and downs but what school doesnt? Lets face it there's no perfect town or school. Some schools are just better in certain things. For example, We might not have had the best regents scores this year but our football team won the long island championship. I dont think you can get any student to tell you he/she likes every one of their teachers. Just because they dont like one teacher doesnt mean that RHS has a bad staff. The truth is every one is gonna have their own opinion but if you really focus on your schoolwork and not on the perfection of your school you will do well and thats all that really matters. RHS is a good school to attend.

Riverhead Senior High School 2

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Riverhead Senior High School 2

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Riverhead Senior High School 4

Posted December 15, 2007
- a student
I really hate the reputation Riverhead gets among other schools. We have a lot of problem areas to be certain (five assistant principals and an overbearing administration), but there are wonderful things about Riverhead too. Our music and theater program is great, our Latin program is well known (to people who pay attention to Latin programs), and we have some of the best and most helpful teachers around.

Riverhead Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted July 21, 2007
- a parent
School is what parents and the children put into it. My one son quit school, two others have had straight A's from kindergarten to present one just graduated and hopes to be a teacher in Riverhead in 4 years. Another is just starting. The teachers have always been involved and willing to assist the children that want it and the parents who are willing to put forth the effort as well. I highly recommend this district. Go Blue Waves.....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverhead Senior High School
700 Harrison Ave, Riverhead, NY  11901
(631) 369-6723
Last modified Riverhead Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverhead Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top