Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Mcgann-Mercy Diocesan High School

Private | 7-12 | 537 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Riverhead

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $265,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2014

Unfortunately, this school should not call itself a catholic school. I've never in my life have seen educators want the students to fail as much as this staff!! Instead of working with their students to succeed they would rather fail them. As far as the administration, they pick and choose who they want to discipline. If it's an easy target they will step in but if it's a big donors child they do nothing. It's a shame how this school is considered a catholic school but there is nothing Christian about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

My son loves Mercy! Thank God for Catholic School. When he attended Pulaski he was almost killed by a student, Riverhead public schools, pure violence. My son has been at Mercy since 7th grade, he is now a 9th grader, and honor student. He has good friends there, they are not snobby, and we are not rich, not even close. My priorities are not fancy cars, clothes, and having my hair and nails done. My priority is an excellent education and safety for my son. After my son was in the dangerous Riverhead public school, the only option was Mercy or home school. I chose Mercy instead of home schooling for so many positive reasons for my son. He couldn't be happier. Way to go Mercy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

I went to the school play here just this weekend and was absolutely DISGUSTED to hear foul language used in the play repeatedly, in addtion to using the Lord's name in vain and two male characters kiss on the stage. Unbelievable. I wonder how the priests in the audience and the school principal feel about it. Apparently there are no differences between this parochial school and the local high school.


Posted October 20, 2013

As a prior student I have to say these were some of the best four years of my life. I still have great friends and close relationships with the people I met here at mercy. The faculty truly believes in you and wants the best out of you. Yes they do push you and they don't except less than your full potential but that is one of the best qualities of this special place. Unlike other catholic schools on Long Island, mercy has the heart and character. In other words the morals and values you learn here are truly priceless. You cannot put a price tag on friendships, right from wrong, compassion, selflessness, and the meaning of the word family. This is all a result of being a part of the mercy family . I wouldn't trade it for the world


Posted January 9, 2011

I love Mercy and I think all the kids I know are really nice. I'm a new eighth grader and I'm shy. I was afraid everyone would be cliquey and have friends already and would ignore me, but everyone was kind and accepting. there were only a few annoying kids. Overall, it's great.


Posted August 20, 2010

The school is centered around family and values where all are respected. Parents have like kind values and education is a top priority. All the children are involved in activities there is something for everyone there. Go Monarchs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

Best school ever! great teachers and faculty members. It's like my second family/home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2010

Best school ever! great teachers and faculty members. It's like my second family/home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

I am a freshman at McGann Mercy and I agree with the girl in 7th grade, it is very cliquey and the kids there are very stuck up. Honestly i hate it there. Compared to my firends in public school the kids are pretty mean. The academics are okay but nothing great. I also hope to switch back to public school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2009

I am a 7th grader here at McGann-Mercy. The acedemics are good, but the classes are really small and form cliques. The kids seem stuck up,coming from public school the kids weren't as spoiled. I grew tired over this school very quickly and now i'm hoping to go back to public school for my 8th grade year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2008

I am a freshman and I love Mc Gann Mercy. The staff is wondeful and the principal is the nicest man! Phone calls to home wishing a merry christmas and other school related things are really a plus! The 'friendly neighborhood chaplain' Father Mike is a real character! In the best way! I just love everything about the school and I'm so glad my parents send me there! =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

Bishop McGann has seen great strides in thier academics, Athletics, and Spiritual guidance. Dr. Steve Cheeseman has led this group of teachers, many of whom are retired from public school with years of experience behind them. Test scores speak for themselves! Safety, probably one of the best on the east end with its name badges, electronic gates and security guards on duty on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

I am an alumni and send my children to Mercy. The Junior High program is excellent. The children are given every opportunity for advancement. My child has flourished. The High School has gone through many changes for the good. The principal & staff are first rate. Father Mike ties it all together. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

In the last few years with the addition of diocesan support, this school has done an excellent job in adding academic courses and extracurricular activities (incl. sports, music and drama) while still retaining the special spiritual, caring community established by the Sisters of Mercy. This nurturing environment is what makes this school so special. Children are not just a number here. They are seen as a vital part of this scholastic community and are encouraged to live and learn to their fullest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

the quality is overall excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

caring environment, fine arts programs are growing- good drama dept parent involvement welcome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Very small high school that is improving every year. Great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Mercy has been everything we had expected from a high school. The teachers are friendly and students seem to be in a family like atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 52%
Hispanic 4% 21%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carl Semmler
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1225 Ostrander Avenue
Riverhead, NY 11901
Phone: (631) 727-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Isidore School
Riverhead, NY



Westhampton Middle School
Westhampton Beach, NY



Little Flower School
Wading River, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT