Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Rochester, NY
Students enrolled: 1,161

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brighton High School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a community member
What I like about this school. Having regular classes, joining clubs, also going to the Junior Prom and the Senior ball. About joining clubs, meeting new friends and having a good / fun time. When I was there, I joined Friends Of Rachel and DECA club. It is really fun. There is classes that i do like. Economics, Law & Government. I learned so much. Right now, i'm a alumni because i graduated in 2008-11.

Brighton High School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a student
Simply said, Brighton is an amazing school. I'm a senior and been in the district my whole life. I went to a different school for 10th and 11th grade and never realized how much I didn't appreciate the quality of learning. Not untill it's gone do you realize how good of an education you got, especially if you've never had another school to compare it to. Cliques aren't really an issue. There are cliques but no student cares about them. You will find your niche here.


Brighton High School 5

Posted May 04, 2012
- a student
overall, its a great school, good teachers, challenging courses, one of the top 150 schools in the country and its hard to go wrong with that. the only problem i have is that kids don't seem like the want to learn: they just talk to their friends during the lectures don't pay any attention to the teachers and they expect the teachers to stay after school and help them (which they sometimes don't even do). i'm one of the smarter ones and a bit of a perfectionist and maybe that's why i say this but i wish the teachers were strict and don't put up with any disrespect they get. But other then that, its an exceptional school

Brighton High School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Brighton High School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Last year my daughter with Spina Bifida started HS. She's wheelchair bound, but the school opened their doors and their hearts to her and accepted her fully into the mainstream. They even modified the school play to include her. This year our other daughter started there. She also has SB, but is on a ventilator full time and medically fragile. Again, not only the staff, but the kids have opened their hearts and fully accepted her into the BHS community. It's not just a school, it's a community and one I'm proud to be in.


Brighton High School 4

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brighton High School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brighton High School 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a student
I graduated from brighton's school system in 1984 and discovered that what i thought was a normal education was in fact one of the best in the country. Brighton has been reviewed in the top 10 public systems in a variety of studies. I was way ahead of my peers when i started college. Great great teachers who have the highest of expectations for their students. Interesting programs and excellent facilities.


Brighton High School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2008
- a student
I go to Brighton and I think it is a great school. It is the best in the area. The school suits every kid's learning ability. At Brighton, I feel challenged, but if it ever gets too hard, I can get plenty of help from my teachers and consolers. The school offers just about every extracurricular activity there is. The only thing I do not like about Brighton is the other kids. Sometimes they can be really stuck up and mean. A lot of kids think they are 'all that'. But I guess you get that in any high school. I would recommend Brighton. After all, it is one of the top ranked public schools in the country. You cannot go wrong with that.

Brighton High School 1

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brighton High School
1150 Winton Rd S, Rochester, NY  14618
(585) 242-5001
Last modified Brighton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brighton High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top