Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

School 7 Virgil Grissom

Public | PK-6 | 592 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2010

When my oldest daughter attened from Fall of 1993 to 1999, the teachers got her from being a difficult student (she had ADD) to being a good student. However, now, with my 11 year old in 5th grade there, things have changed a bit. When I tried to enlist the school's help with my daughter's attendance issues, I got as far as a few rounds of phone tag with the school psychologist and finally decided my time would be better spent trying to address the issue on my own. Also, how can they give my daughter "Honor Roll" and "High Honor Roll" status, then turn around and say she is not meeting the stanards for ELA and needs summer school? This seems to be a problem with atleast a few of the RCSD schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

When my son attended, I felt he got the best education here before we had to move him to another local school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

My daughter has been at this school for 3 years and she loves it. The staff is wonderful and care for there kids. She has learn so much being there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Our public school has raised and educated many generations of creative, intelligent children. As adults, these children have become great citizens and neighbors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

They have teachers who care and students who are willing to learn.


Posted May 10, 2010

I love Virigil Grissom school #7 because when my daughter Arail Cheesbro first come to the school she didnt know how to read and now she know how and shes getting all the help she needs. I really love it.I wish that i had the kind of school back in my days. so i just want to say thank you all the help with my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I love Virgil Grissom School #7 for several reasons. The most being the schools primary focus on educating our youth. Secondly the family friendly atmospere that makes communication with staff easier and more genuine. The schools focus on literacy and family involvement is key to a successful partnership. I love Virgil Grissom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

#7 School has been a high achieving school for many years. It has a wonderful reputation due to the dedicated and hard-working staff, as well as its parental support. The students are motivated to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

All of my children and now my graddaughter attended 7 school it really cares about it's student


Posted May 6, 2010

I have 3 children that is (or )have attend #7.The staff is great. My children love school & hate to miss a day so that in it self speaks enough. My children have had wonderful teachers.So if any school should win this contest it should be school#7.The prize will be much appreciated & will used.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My daughter is in pre-k and absolutely loves her teachers and all the fun things that they do each day in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My daughter has learned a tremendous amount this year! The staff is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This is a great school, my sone has improved with his reading, since sttending his school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

#7 school is a very caring atmosphere the children enjoy going to the school and I feel the teachers enjoy working there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

School #7 teachers rock. I feel that I can approach any of them with a concern or, a pat on the back. Whether it be the gym teachers, the music teacher or the teachers of the academics. The entire staff is great from the ladies in the office to the lunchroom staff, from the Principal to the student teachers,and the support staff My kids are getting a quality well rounded education my kids are at home at virgil I. Grissom school # 7.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

School #7 is a great school and my son loves going to school because of the great staff they have there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

My children have gone to School 7 for thier entire elementary school years, my son is in his last year there and my daughter is in 2nd grade. I refuse to move from the house i am in so that my kids can stay in School 7. The staff and the school itself is the best school i could have ever asked for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

As a teacher new to the building half way through the year, I have been welcomed by all and made to feel like part of the staff. The teachers are all hard workers and looking out for the well being of their students. It has been a pleasure to work at #7 school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2010

I am a parent of several former School #7 students. This school has so many dedicated teachers who genuinely care about what they are doing. Mr. Moore, the principal has been a great leader for the school and as an African-American male, he is a role model for the children. For several years he has been doing a reading program and when the kids meet the goal set for the year, he has to spend a day on the roof.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Full of wonderful children who are filled with potential for academic success, and many caring adults.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 66% 19%
Hispanic 1 16% 23%
White 2 16% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 291%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 9%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID LINCOLN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31 Bryan St
Rochester, NY 14613
Phone: (585) 254-3110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






School 41 Kodak Park
Rochester, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT