Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

School 12 James P B Duffy

Public | K-6 | 763 students

a well rounded and rigorious education that includes the arts

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2014

School 12 James PB Duffy is the best school my child ever attended!! Great teachers and very great teaching techniques!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

The parent involvement is very strong here. The principal is quick to responsive to questions. Good teachers overall. A few who have been excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

All three of our children have attended School 12. This website currently lists the school as a "2" based on two former students who left the school early. I'm sorry to hear of their experiences. My children have thrived at the school due to the excellent teaching staff and administration. There is a strong neighborhood contingent of kids that makes this a neighborhood school. The school music band is the best (elementary) in the city, the Hola program (dual language) has been a wonderful way for my children to learn Spanish, the huge volunteer program supports many efforts including one-on-one tutoring, and the strong and well funded PTA supports many after school programs including Friday night roller skating. My wife and I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

I am a 15 year old ex student who has moved on to School of The Arts. This school without a doubt was one of the toughest experiences ever. I was bullied ALL throughout my time there (6 years) and teachers weren't very involved in the social aspect of what kids were doing. When i was still attending, no one realized how pre-maturely us kids have been growing up and i know that i'm not the only one who was bullied and had a tough time there. Otherwise the teachers were nice to me, and it made me the strong girl i am today so i don't regret the social "strengthening" i guess you could call it in a nice way. I absolutely still would not recommend this school.


Posted March 8, 2011

im an EX student of school number 12. i moved in 2nd gread but with my experince with this school i hate it. when i attened the teachers did nothing to help. i was failing horribaly and they still passed meh! i dont know how it is now but my experince was enough!


Posted February 2, 2008

School 12 is a very good school. I recommend to anyone looking for a friendly environment, filled with opportunity, and acceptance to races of any kind.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2006

I would definitely recommend this school as one of the best in the city. It offers so many opportunities for students and parents. I would particularly like to recommend the Hola program, in which students study in both English and Spanish. I've been pleased with the cultural diversity and opportunities for parents to volunteer. The school band plays at the Lilac Festival every year. The art teachers go out of their way to display student work: a spring art show, participation in the school district art show, and collaboration with the community to publish work. The school is located on Highland Park, across from Highland Hospital. The public library and the city recreation center are annexed to the school building. There is a large playground and fields behind the school. The day care center next to the school has a wrap-around program. I love the neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

I'm a deaf parent of my hearing son. This school has gone above and beyond to obtain interpreters for me for parent-teacher conferences, or parent group nights. The teachers that my son had were wonderful in putting up with trying to get an interpreters and catering to my son's needs during classes. They work absolutely hard to make sure that my son is getting the challenges he needs to have, rather than slacking away. Just one thing that I truly feel alone is there's no support from other parents who are hearing. If they could just open their eyes and talk with me, they would find I have a lot in common with them! The school is great in all other areas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

This was our first year with a child at school 12. Our son entered into the advanced program for 5th grade. Overall, we are pleased with the school though we do wish the school was in more communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

My son attended this school as a placement for special needs. He was in an integrated class with a full-time one to one aide. All the teachers there did an excellent job in providing an environment in which my son's needs were met and he was not made to feel set apart from the other students due to his needs. Also, the students themselves were a positive force in the school. My son experienced none of the bullying that usually occurs (especially in fourth and fifth grade) towards kids who are perceived as different. Not only do I credit the teachers for this, but the parents of students at this school who are largely involved in both the school and the success of their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

I used to go to school here when I was a kid, and it was one of the best schools I have ever attended, I learned more in my 4 and half years at this school then I did in the rest of my schooling. I highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
21%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 56% 19%
Hispanic 2 28% 23%
White 1 14% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 215%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 279%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 19%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Hindi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Clubs
  • Dance club: latin
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hindi
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: SPn

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 9:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELE LIGUORI-ALAMPI
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (585) 395-7412

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hindi
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Center for Youth
  • Greater Rochester Health Foundation
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • co-ed team

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club: latin
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: SPn
  • Girl scouts
  • Hoola Hoop club
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Running Club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • write grants for school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

March 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
pre-K

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
School of the Arts
Wilson Foundation to IB placement
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

999 South Ave
Rochester, NY 14620
Website: Click here
Phone: (585) 461-3280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



School 35 Pinnacle
Rochester, NY



School 2 Clara Barton
Rochester, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT