Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

School 33 Audubon

Public | PK-6 | 1128 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2011

im very pleased with 33 were going to miss them but thanks for puttn up with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

school 33 is the best school i think for pre-k and the teachers are great this is my sons first year at school and he loves his teachers and class mates, everyone gets along so good. i also worked at this school and i loved it then and i still do the school keeps growing and the kids grow too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Iam a parent of a 5yr daughter who attend this school. She is currently enrolled the Dual Language program and will remain there from K-6 grade. I think this school is wonder, my daughter loves her teacher and her classmates. This past September was her first year here, it's now January and already she's speaking a lot of spanish. I'm not a shame to say that Iam learning spanish from her.Anyways this school is amazing. Keep up the good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

They have an awesome, caring staff and a dedicated PTA.


Posted September 15, 2007

I used to go to #33 school. It is a great school with a great environment and is safe. The faculty is great, the administration is excellent, the programs are wonderful. It's just a great school, and i am proud to say, 'That's were I came from.'


Posted November 28, 2006

As a previous student of #33 school myself, I am honored to let my child attend this school. His teachers are great and they care about my child's academic progress, safety, and overall well being. I am also pleased to say that the principal of this school will always make time to talk to me regardless of the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

From what I know about the School, it does have good teachers who actually put in the time with the students so that they can better understand what they are learning. The school is better with homework assignments that you can understand and it just seem as though the school is better at getting students to pay more attention in class. My son loved the school, because he must have gotten along with everybody and they got along with him. His old teacher said that she knew that there was more to my son then him just playing around in class. I want my son to get the best education that he can and number 33 School is it for everything that they offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
17%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 62% 19%
Hispanic 1 34% 23%
White 2 4% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 212%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 196%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 17%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. LARRY ELLISON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Webster Rd
Rochester, NY 14609
Phone: (585) 482-9290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hamidiye Academy
Rochester, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT