Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

School 41 Kodak Park

Public | PK-6 | 575 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

I think 41 is a very positive and friendly school. they offer alot of extra help if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

This is not a good school at all rude staff including teachers. The treat parents very nasty. The principal is the worst, not a good leader at all. How can they teach our children if they don't care about them.. But the want respect from the children and they don't respect them.. Children are mistreated on a daily basis at Kodak Park. This is one of the worst city schools by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2012

TERRIABLE!!! my daughter has been going there since K and now shes in 3rd grade. ive been very happy with the school up until this yr. I dont know what has happened, but the kids are monsters and are constantly being yelled at, teachers are very unproffessional and very rude, This year im pregnant and need to pick my daughgter up from school once a week for appts i havge to attend for this baby, and everytimne i come to pick her up, the secretary calls the teachers room. His students answer!!!!! what? Ive never heard of such a thing???? The teacher as well seems to be very overwhelmed with his naughty students and my daughter doesnt get the help she needs in some areas. Last week, i went to pick my daughter up because i was on my way to the hospital because i was in preterm labor there was some incident happening in the hall and i was refused to get my daughter. i was in horrible pain and the assistant or the principal unsure which laughed at me. i almost had my child in the halway of the school. No one had bothered to offer me help. luckily the docs stopped my preterm labor when we go there. Needless to say my child will be enrolled in another school thankfully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

I was so happy with this school school the first 4 years my child attended. The staff had so much energy and the children felt that. The last couple of years have been a nightmare and you can see the change in the whole school. Im happy this is my childs last year there. Hopefully they can turn this school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

I loved this school. My daughter was taken care of and taught so much, just in kindergarten. There are special programs offered in case your child's teacher, or you have any concerns with your child. They are not afraid to work with your child and they do this without putting a label on them. Honestly I loved this school! I wish [my] daughter still had the opportunity to be at #41!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
14%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
5%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 62% 19%
White 2 19% 48%
Hispanic 1 17% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 293%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 9%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARION E. WHITFIELD

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

279 W Ridge Rd
Rochester, NY 14615
Phone: (585) 254-4472

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Rogers Middle School
Rochester, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT