Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

School 46 Charles Carroll

Public | K-6 | 293 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

This is a fantastic school with caring and dedicated teachers. The building is aging, however it has charm and character.


Posted December 3, 2012

I've worked at #46 for many years. The first time I set foot at 46 I said to the principal how much much I admired the quiet learning environment, friendly,AND DEDICATED teachers and staff members. This past June I retired after many happy and fulfilled years...it's still the quiet friendly learning environment and of course amazing teachers and staff members..Very welcoming ....


Posted July 2, 2012

The location and campus is great. The leadership is strong and remarkable. The teachers and staff are knowledgable, dedicated, and welcoming. The office staff is very helpful. There is a positive vibe throughout the building. The children appear to love learning and attending School 46. The academic program is engaging, diverse, and meets the needs of all the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2006

I transferred my 4th grader from a charter school with an excellent teacher/child ratio and have never regretted it! great teachers and staff...We are looking forward to another successful year at #46!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

I have a soon to be second grader and one entering kindergarten. I am very pleased with school #46. The parent participation is great and my daughter is doing well there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

I am very happy with this school. My daughter is in first grade and she loves her peers and all the teachers. Overall, very satisfied. All teachers I've dealt with are very helpful and I always know whats going on with my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My two children (grade 4 and 5) have both attended School 46 since kindergarten. I have been very pleased with their teachers, the principal and the facility. The kids both like the school very much. I have found both administration and teachers to be very receptive and responsive whenever there has been a concern, which of course happens from time to time. There is also a consistent emphasis on communication with the parents and parent involvement is welcome. I was skeptical of city school's ability to provide quality education until my experience at this school. They have done and excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 52% 19%
Hispanic 1 25% 23%
White 2 21% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 178%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 13%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. T'HANI PANTOJA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Newcastle Rd
Rochester, NY 14610
Phone: (585) 288-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Hamidiye Academy
Rochester, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT