Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


82 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


School 58 World Of Inquiry School 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent that was interested in school 58 and attended the "open" house for my daughter to be in the lottery for 7th grade. They pulled all the children and took them in a separate room. At the time I thought nothing. According to my daughter they told the children that if they didnt want to be at the school to go back in the room and tell their parents they do not want to be at the school. This was not welcoming at all. If felt "cultish" and as far as diversity, the teachers and staff present were all caucasian except for about one or two people. The feeling I had was that of desparation by the school to only get the "good" kids. I would never have my daughter attend school 58. I have taught her better in life. I am not bitter for her not getting in. By the grace of God and her talent she was accepted into the School of the Arts.

School 58 World Of Inquiry School 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
We love this school and can't imagine sending our kids somewhere else - so happy that we stayed in the RCSD; we would never leave the City of Rochester with WOIS #58 being our school.


School 58 World Of Inquiry School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2010
- a parent
My children are getting an excellent education and LOVE going to school!

School 58 World Of Inquiry School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2010
- a parent
World of Inquiry is a prime example of a high performing urban school and having quality school choices is an important key to building a livable community. We are very happy with our decision to send our children to World of Inquiry.

School 58 World Of Inquiry School 0
no rating

Posted November 11, 2010
- a parent
The teachers care about the students. It it very diverse and has a family atmosphere


School 58 World Of Inquiry School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a community member
truly an inspirational place for a child to learn and grow!

School 58 World Of Inquiry School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a community member
Great school, dedicated teachers and parents!

School 58 World Of Inquiry School 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
School #58 has been like our second family for over 10 years. We feel at home whenever we step into the building. The PTO keeps our school connected by having an array of social activities which are fun for the whole family (annual picnic, movie nights, potluck dinners, snow party, workshops, etc.). The school secretaries are friendly and efficient. The custodial staff keep our building and grounds clean and tidy. The administrators and teachers are top-notch, innovative educators and it is evident by the Expeditionary Learning Exhibit, which are done in the Fall and Spring. They participate in Outward Bounds twice a year and the students go hiking, fishing, kayaking and canoeing which helps to build team spirit. The school has Parent/Teacher Conferences which are student led. There are an array of extracurricular activities for students to participate in like the Step Team, poetry club, band, choir, basketball, soccer and the outdoor club. Every Wednesday, the school has a morning meeting. These meetings are student led. Each week, they have the number of the week, a song, a dance to perform and their own radio station: WGYB (We Got Your Back). We are happy to be a part of WOIS #58 and recommend the school to everyone. There school motto is: We are Crew Members not Passengers.


School 58 World Of Inquiry School 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
The parent-liaison is phenomenal, so the parents and children are well advocated for, thus allowing a great partnership to ensure the success of the students.

School 58 World Of Inquiry School 0
no rating

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
The World of Inquiry School#58 has been a blessing for my 2 children and family. The principal, teachers, and staff are first class & very skilled/supportive. Both my children have excelled in the expeditionary learning (ELA) environment and have become leaders/role models. Attending the World of Inquiry school#58 will lead them both to successful futures in whatever they choose to do.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School 58 World Of Inquiry School
950 Norton Street, Rochester, NY  14621
(585) 325-6170
Last modified School 58 World Of Inquiry School is a Public school that serves grades K-11. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
School 58 World Of Inquiry School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. Top