Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rochester

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2012

This is all a school should be: high academic standards, with teachers and staff who will work very hard with your son to have him achieve those standards (Mrs. Bovenzi alone is worth the tuition); honor and brotherhood--they truly are a band of brothers, men that any parent would be proud of; exceptional value-sell something and sacrifice, do whatever it takes to send your boy here-it will be worth it. Before my son attended McQuaid, I was worried about the all-boys thing and if it would be a lot of bullying and other undersirable behavior-it was the opposite, and none of that type of thing is tolerated. I wish every boy in the area could attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

McQuaid has excellent teachers, programs and activities. The school provides an atmosphere of education and stresses the importance of learning. Students are taught to think as opposed to learning how to take tests.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2010

My son began McQ in 9th grade and loves it - the sports, camaraderie, and challenging academics make it a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

Yes it's a huge transfer, due to how diffrent it is. The classes are hard but if you work it's fine. The no girls may freak you're son out but there are dances and chances to have fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

Our son is a senior this year at McQuaid. There is no other school like McQuaid in terms of academics, character building, integrity, and teaching. It is worth every dime. Thanks to all the great teachers and faculty. It has been a blessing for our son. He has developed into true man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

This school is amazing. But, if you are not prepared to do hard work then there is no point in you going there because we do hard work. I am a 7th Grader.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2006

McQuaid set my son on the road to success. In middle school, he was known for blending into the background and getting by with minimal effort. As expected, he objected to being enrolled in an all boys school. He quickly found there was no where to hide, and expectations from the teachers were high. He struggled at first, but eventually gained skills and confidence. He was accepted at a good college, and quickly found his McQuaid education had him better prepared than most of his classmates. Though his McQuaid class rank was 'average,' their superior scholastic program made all the difference. The 'ridiculously nit-picky' english department made his writing ability exceptional. He graduated from college with honors and is now employed in the medical field. We credit his turn around to the discipline and education from McQuaid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I've seen great change in my son, spirtually and mentally. Superb schoool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Excellent school with great teachers, principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

Rigorous academic requirements leading to high standardize test scores for those who are bright and willing to work. The workload can be difficult to get used to but developing study habits which become life long. The academic standard is not to get an 'A', but to learn. The focus on the pupil as a whole was demonstrated repeatedly, and fulfills the Jesuit Philosophy. The all male environment encourages a freedom of self, intense bonding and geniune concern for others. Fulfilling the schools philosphy of 'Men for Others'. Students do not differentiate between themselves and have a diverse friendship base, other religions, musical, art, science and athletics all blending. Allowing my son to choose from a wide variety of colleges in which he feels comfortable with all other people. Active social lives! Girls and all. Best decision we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

McQuaid is the greatest school on earth. Not only do you learn academic values but you also learn how to act including sports. Not to many people actually know how to act on or off the field. Brotherhood is one of the biggest qualities shown in and throughout the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2004

Our son was skeptical to attend an all boys school however, after 'shadowing' a student he was excited. He took the entrance exam and was waiting anxiously for his acceptance. He has attended since 7th grade and in his 4th year as a sophmore is so so very happy there. He wouldn't have it any other way. The teachers are exceptional. He has grow as a man and has values that reflect our family and the Jesuit tradition:Honor,Love,Trust,Faith and Generosity. We have struggled financially to make this wonderful education possible for him and every cent is worth it. He has grown into an exceptional young man. His brother, although also hesitant, will also be privledged to attend if accepted. Thank you McQ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

5 of my children, 20 of my friends and the undersigned all attended McQuaid from 1959 - 1998. It has offered the finest education available in NY for the last 50 Years. Almost all the students do well in the College of their choice and the alumni make up the leaders in this City in almost every field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

McQuaid is simply the best educational opportunity I could have ever imagined for my sons. The middle school is absolutely outstanding, as is the high school. Teachers have very high educational expectations for the boys, but maintain a relaxed, friendly, and personal atmosphere. My boys were skeptical of the all-boy atmosphere, but they love this school and are challenged and happy there. Tuition has been a strain for us, but worth every penny. My kids understand the financial sacrifices that have been necessary (few vacations, modest cars, that sort of thing) and perhaps that has also been a motivating factor for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Our son began McQuaid in 9th grade and was truly prepared for college upon his graduation. Honor, teamwork, loyalty and hard work are just a few of the words that all helped in the development of his four year education. The rigor and demands for accountability in both academic and social arenas has helped him achieved more than we could have hoped for. It was after these results we determined that our second son should enter into McQuaid s seventh grade. He finished his first year last June and would not think of going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 52%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 3% 21%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James Coughlin
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rochester
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Clinton Avenue South
Rochester, NY 14618
Phone: (585) 256-6118

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





School Without Walls
Rochester, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT