Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Private
Rochester, NY
Students enrolled: 839
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 4

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
McQuaid Jesuit High School is a wonderful school in terms of staff, students, and teachers. The principal, Fr. James Coughlin, has ruined teacher morale, ignored and berated parents repeatedly, and done nothing to help, only to harm the student body. HE CANNOT LEAVE SOON ENOUGH. The Board has wanted him out for many years. Finally the Jesuits pulled the plug this year!!!

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
This is all a school should be: high academic standards, with teachers and staff who will work very hard with your son to have him achieve those standards (Mrs. Bovenzi alone is worth the tuition); honor and brotherhood--they truly are a band of brothers, men that any parent would be proud of; exceptional value-sell something and sacrifice, do whatever it takes to send your boy here-it will be worth it. Before my son attended McQuaid, I was worried about the all-boys thing and if it would be a lot of bullying and other undersirable behavior-it was the opposite, and none of that type of thing is tolerated. I wish every boy in the area could attend this school.


Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 5

Posted May 26, 2011
- a student
McQuaid has excellent teachers, programs and activities. The school provides an atmosphere of education and stresses the importance of learning. Students are taught to think as opposed to learning how to take tests.

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
My son began McQ in 9th grade and loves it - the sports, camaraderie, and challenging academics make it a great place to be.

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School
no rating

Posted December 01, 2007
- a student
Yes it's a huge transfer, due to how diffrent it is. The classes are hard but if you work it's fine. The no girls may freak you're son out but there are dances and chances to have fun.


Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 5

Posted September 06, 2007
- a parent
Our son is a senior this year at McQuaid. There is no other school like McQuaid in terms of academics, character building, integrity, and teaching. It is worth every dime. Thanks to all the great teachers and faculty. It has been a blessing for our son. He has developed into true man.

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 4

Posted June 04, 2007
- a student
This school is amazing. But, if you are not prepared to do hard work then there is no point in you going there because we do hard work. I am a 7th Grader.

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 5

Posted September 07, 2006
- a parent
McQuaid set my son on the road to success. In middle school, he was known for blending into the background and getting by with minimal effort. As expected, he objected to being enrolled in an all boys school. He quickly found there was no where to hide, and expectations from the teachers were high. He struggled at first, but eventually gained skills and confidence. He was accepted at a good college, and quickly found his McQuaid education had him better prepared than most of his classmates. Though his McQuaid class rank was 'average,' their superior scholastic program made all the difference. The 'ridiculously nit-picky' english department made his writing ability exceptional. He graduated from college with honors and is now employed in the medical field. We credit his turn around to the discipline and education from McQuaid.


Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 5

Posted May 07, 2006
- a parent
I've seen great change in my son, spirtually and mentally. Superb schoool!

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School 5

Posted February 07, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school with great teachers, principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mc Quaid Jesuit High School
1800 Clinton Avenue South, Rochester, NY  14618
(585) 256-6118
Last modified Mc Quaid Jesuit High School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Mc Quaid Jesuit High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top