Advertisement
Advertisement

Hillel Community Day School

Private | K-8 | 74 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rochester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2011

The school is really nothing like the dec. 16 description below. That person must have been thinking of a school with a similar name in a different area. Hillel is truly a pluralistic school where Jews of all affiliations and interfaith families feel comfortable. The approach to learning is quite modern and there aren't many issues that other children encounter in the public schools, such a bullying, drugs, violence, etc. Hillel Community Day School is a warm, stimulating environment and a wonderful school that nurtures your child's creativity and a place where they will thrive.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2009

My child loves going to school each day because of the Jewish and secular learning and the warm, nurturing Jewish atmosphere. If you want your child to learn about their Jewish Heritage and to be proud to be Jewish, this is the place! If you want your child to get an excellent education in the basics -- reading, writing, social studies, science and math -- AND to learn Hebrew, Torah, Jewish History and all about Israel, this is the place!!! What an enriched curriculum! The small size of the classes allows the teachers to customize learning to the child. When my older kids transitioned from Hillel to other schools they were immediately placed in advanced classes and I know that Hillel prepared them well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

It's like one big family. Everyone knows the kids by name, and the school nurse is amazing. I wish they had a high school too!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

My kids love going to school everyday at Hillel, and I love the small class size, the caring and nurturing atmosphere , and the feeling that we belong to a warm extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

We sent our oldest daughter to Hillel mostly because she missed the public school age cutoff for kindergarten, but the quality of education and the warmth and friendliness of the faculty, staff and parents have been so overwhelming that she's still there in 2nd grade, and now so is her sister! Talented teachers, a strong sense of community and small class sizes make Hillel stand out even amongst the nationally recognized public schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

This school is fantastic! Small class size, individual attention to each student and lots of activities for parents and students. Fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love that my son loves the school! It feels like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Hillel provides a warm loving environment that makes my children motivated to LEARN! Gives my children a big lead in competition in life vs. the education they'll get at public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Hillel Community Day School has been such a positive experience for my daughter. Our family was first attracted to Hillel a few years ago because of the outstanding secular & Judaic education, family atomosphere and community spirit. We planned on only staying for Kindergarten but we fell in love with the school almost immediately and have continued to be part of it for the last 4 years. We were worried about long term financial affordability but with the Financial Aid they offered and volunteer opportunities, it has continued to be an affordable and great investment in my child's education & future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 52%
Hispanic 3% 21%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Chaim Hisiger
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA
  • NSHDS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

191 Fairfield Dr
Rochester, NY 14620
Phone: (585) 271-6877

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westfall Academy
Rochester, NY




Our School
Rochester, NY


School 35-Pinnacle
Rochester, NY


Seton Catholic School
Rochester, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT