Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rochester Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 8 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rochester

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2013

Wonderful shool - my daughter and I are both very happy with Rochester Christian! Classes are small enough that kids get a lot of attention. Great education - I'm always amazed at everything my daughter is learning, and she is only in 1st grade! The teachers really care about the students. Very nurturing Christian environment. The leadership is purposeful about not only setting a godly example but also encouraging the kids to grow in their faith. As a parent I always feel welcome and wanted whenever and however I am able to participate in my daughter's educational experience. I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

We enrolled our oldest child in RCS preschool and have had our children there ever since - 10 years in all. It is a nice school, small in size with a dedicated staff and the parents are very involved. The students have been involved in several school wide service projects and my children have had a rewarding experience each time. We are very happy with the Christian environment, the strong academics and the recent upgrades to the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

Having transitioned from homeschooling into "school" life at Rochester Christian School, I am thankful for the immediate rewards our family has reaped by placing our children here! The smaller, family atmosphere of the student body and faculty appeal to us because we feel we have access to our children and to the Staff. We were welcomed by numerous parents who have never met us before when we arrived mid-year, and I know my children are receiving from teachers who share our values. I give Rochester Christian School 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

Great School! We have been here for 5 1/2 years and have found the school to be a huge blessing. Our kids participate in sports (soccer and track) and unlike another reviewer, the teams our son has been on the past couple of years (middle school) have been 12-25 kids. Our son has played in every game and ran track in his preferred event. Our daughter sings with the worship team and the music and art programs are phenomenal. If you are looking for excellent academic standards, quality sports and music programs, and a school where you as a parent can be involved in the day to day activities of the school, you NEED to check out RCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

We have had 4 children at RCS & we have LOVED the school! It is truly the best school around, and it has been around for 95 years so they know what they are doing. The sports program has been wondering for our children because anyone can play which is not the case in public school. They have wonderful coaches who love the Lord, and they play for the Glory of God, not to win all the time. Our children have had the best opportunities at RCS because it is a small environment. We would thoroughly recommend this school to any prospective parent who wants a Christ centered environment for their children, prek-8!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

Our family has been a part of Rochester Christian School for the past 10 years. We have found it to be academically and spiritually excellent. All three of my boys have attended there. The parents are certified teachers and many of them have their masters. The teachers care about their students and encourage parent involvement in the classroom. We have found it to be spiritually and academically an incredible place for our children to learn. It is the only elementary school in New York State that is accredited by Christian Schools International and Middle States. We highly recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

My daughters came to RCS after their former school closed unexpectedly. We were nervous about making a change since we loved our old school, but I can gratefully say now, that it was a blessing in disguise. The education they are recieving at RCS is the best there is, in my opinion. The staff is dedicated to their profession, excellence in academics, and their role as mentors for Christ. RCS has a perfect balance of shelter from worldly influence and reality. There is a wonderful mix of races, cultures and socio-economic backgrounds amongst the students, as well as many different churches represented. We feel safe in the knowledge that the administration is dedicated to only one thing - education, and not church building funds or answering to any church board. Parents are very involved in the school environment. Discipline is fair, swift, and appropriate. Most importantly, our children feel safe and are happy. They are thriving, making meaningful friendships, and we are absolutely certain there is no better school in Rochester for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

We came to RCS when our son was in 2nd grade and public school was failing him. We wanted smaller class sizes and a more individual educational experience. We ended up with so much more. Our son is in 7th grade now, and our daughter is in 4th. We can't say enough good things about our experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

We have 3 children at RCS and we are extremely happy with the academics but more importantly the spiritual component is what we appreciate. We love the concept of the kids serving God with their "head, heart & hands" and doing cool service projects like raising money for clean water in Uganda and filling socks for the Open Door mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

When I sent my kid here, it was nice. He made friends and enjoyed school. Then when he got in Middle School, there was at least 10 minutes or less homework which is not what the public schools were giving. The sports program is terrible. There is 6 to about 8 kids on most of the teams since the school is so small and there is only 4 other schools to play against. This school is a good school for a kid that is shy and does not advance in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

We are thrilled with the education, both in and out of the classroom, that Rochester Christian School provides. My son has an IEP and we find that the teachers, principal, and other staff are very helpful in implementing - even exceeding - our expectations. The teachers are creative, encouraging, and professional and the curriculum is of a high standard. The teachers take time to notice the different needs of each child, helping them to excel to the best of their own ability. The staff take time to get to know the students and the parents, often helping in ways that large, public schools cannot. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

This school did not meet inherent expectations. Bullying and teasing were prevalent with little or no discipline for the offenders. Politics plays too much of a role in the child's performance which is unacceptable. I didn't find Math as one of its better taught subjects in time covered and teaching concepts. Other subjects had a much more significant time component as compated to Math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

We are new to the area and couldn't be happier with the quality of education and caring staff at RCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

This is a fantastic school and I believe it is Rochester's best kept secret!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

The teacher to student ratio is great. The parents all participate in their childrens' education, they do not just 'send' them to school. The work is challenging, and there are always opportunities for the children to grasp more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

My children have thrived under the guidance of the highly skilled and experienced faculty and staff. This school is a real blessing to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I would give it a more average score for a more average student. However, if your child requires any sort of special needs or extra help, you may be better off in a different place, as in the case of my son. The teacher was very frazzled and overwhelmed. The children sat for long periods of time and were expected to do lots of writing and memorization. There was a ton of homework. We soon became overwhelmed and the teacher was unsympathetic with plans that the distric psychologist put into place to ensure his sucess. We had to move him to public school mid-year. It was a nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

The level of parent involvement and caring teachers create a very special learning community. Students are looked at as unique individuals and encouraged to excell. For such a small school, the level of extracurricular activities was good. On the whole, our experience at RCS was a great one!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 52%
Black 10% 21%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Deborah Abbey
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

260 Embury Road
Rochester, NY 14625
Phone: (585) 671-4910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT