Advertisement
Advertisement

Cobblestone School

Private | PK-6 | 60 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rochester

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2009

The schoolmis good at theatre and acting, students don't get exams or grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

Our grandson has been at Cobblestone for five years and loves it! He finds it challenging and exciting; loves his teachers and is making great friends. The individual attention is extrememly important and helps him grow and thrive as a learner. The environment is stimulating, challenging and fun for all!


Posted March 16, 2009

We chose Cobblestone for our son because of their emphasis on the whole child. We feel that emotional and social development in the elementary school years is as important as academics. We have stayed because the intellectual environment is so rich. My son asks thoughtful, insightful questions. His written and verbal self-expression has blossomed. Gifted in math, he has been able to 'move up' with the older children and remain challenged. We are thrilled with Cobblestone School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

My son attended a suburban public school then came to Cobblestone in 3rd grade. It was a great change! The small class sizes allow teachers to be flexible and attend to children's individual strengths and weaknesses. There isn't just lip-service given to multiple intelligences and individual learning styles - it's a way of life here. Parent-teacher conferences include the student and ask them to reflect on themselves and take ownership of what they've done well in school and what they can work on for the future. There is no teaching to the test here - it's about teaching for learning. I'll be sad when my son leaves after fininshing 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

My son attended Cobblestone School from K-8 and recently graduated and moved to another school with a reputation as a 'college prep' school. We were a bit concerned about the additional rigor required with the move both to High School and to a more traditionally academically focused environment. Our worries were unfounded. He blended in well with other students and is doing well in all his subjects. The student focused and integrated approach to learning that occurs at Cobblestone School really seems to be the right approach up through the middle grades. The small class sizes lead to many close friendships and the requirements for individual 'research' and presentation to peers and parents really helps prepare students to interact with others. Kids think of their teachers as friends and someone who is helping them learn. What a great environment for a young learner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

I am so happy that my daughter has the opportunity to go to a school as wonderful as Cobblestone! This is a school that translates the love of learning into high academic results. My daughter is thoroughly excited about all of her school projects, but especially about math. Cobblestone has encouraged her enthusiasm and as a result-- for her math is not just something to do at school or to memorize for tests. She just enjoys it and wants to practice it in the car, during breakfast, and wherever . I doubt she would be so enthusiastic about math, if she were just learning it in order to pass a standardized test. Cobblestone also provides a caring community and my daughter is always happy to go to school and comes home smiling. I recommend the school to anyone who wants their child to love learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

Incredible! Amazing, wonderful school! Yay!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2006

Cobblestone is the only school in the Rochester area that encourages students to not only be actively involved in their learning, but to assume control of their learning. Cobblestone' s curriculum is integrated and provides for in-depth study of various fields and topics. Students develop outstanding research and analytic skills. Also, because all students are given many opportunities to present and display their knowledge, talents, and skills, they become very self-confident and articulate public speakers compared to their public school counterparts. One has only to attend the plays or student research presentations to realize what a wonderful place Cobblestone is. Also truly special about Cobblestone is the recognition that students learn differently. Teachers and administrators embrace a 'one mind at a time' philosophy while also promoting a strong sense of community. Cobblestone does what all schools should do - help students meet their full potential as individuals and community members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

Amazing school with great teachers and kids. Their philosophy on teaching/learning is revolutionary and effective. My son has learned such great things at Cobblestone but not only schoolwork...he's also brought home morals and values that should be stressed (equality, environmental, etc. etc.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Cobblestone has a unique learning environment in today's test-them-to-death atmosphere, emphasizing personal and social as well as academic growth, small classes (1/12 ratio), and meeting the unique needs of each student. Grades are not assigned; portfolios are used for assessment, a much better indicator of growth and development for both parents and child. It is understood that children learn at different rates; for example, my older son read reluctantly and late, yet I experienced none of the hysterics I likely would have in a public school, only quiet, patient support. Learning is presented as a lifelong joy and responsibility rather than a burden or something to fear. Cobblestone's chief liability is also a chief strength--its size. Because Cobblestone is small, peer groups are also small and extra-curricular activities limited. We consider that a worthy trade-off to a culture that likes to think that testing defines education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

Great independant school, children are encouraged to learn by questioning their world, exploring nature, and interacting with their peers. Great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 52%
Black 6% 21%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 4% 21%
Two or more races 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rose Martin
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (585) 271-3501

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Prince St
Rochester, NY 14607
Website: Click here
Phone: (585) 271-4548

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





School 35-Pinnacle
Rochester, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT