Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Siena Catholic Academy

Private | 7-8 | 299 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rochester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $147,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

My fourth child is now in this school and they all have loved it. My husband and I have also been very happy. My older children who have attended are thriving in High School now. This school lays a great foundation for them and provides them an environment where they are only with other middle schoolers and are able to express themselves and feel safe. Yes middle schoolers can be tough so there can be issues but it has been my experience that any problems that have been brought to the attention of the administration have been dealt with very quickly and appropriately. I really like that there are many opportunities to get involved, volunteer and become a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Siena has a great middle school environment. It understands the middle school student's emotions and needs. The academics are outstanding.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2013

My son attends this school and loves it! He has thrived academically and has made a great group of friends. Teachers are always accessible, and the student body itself is a great, responsible group. Only caveat is the sports program, as the current AD is somewhat incompetant. That said, it's his first year in the position, understand there's growing pains, but if you're not up to the job, don't do it! Otherwise, academically excellent, nurturing social environment, a great place to send your kids for those pivotal 2 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

This may have been a good school once, but it has gone downhill a great deal with the hiring of a new principal there 2 years ago. There's absolutely no strong leadership with kids and teachers bullying and things being stolen from one another. Never expected this from a Catholic school. Very disappointed!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

This school is amazing! i am now an 8th grader. The teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

Siena Catholic academy is an amazing school. i am currently an 8th grader and i am not looking forward to leaving. This is truly an amazing school and if i could, i would got to school here forever. I have made the best friends that i have ever had. This is my favorite place to be. I look forward to going to school in the morning. The teachers are great and always want to help you and see you succeed. everyone is amazingly friendly, and it is really easy to fit in. Siena is truly an amazing place to be, and it will always remain in lmy heart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

Prettty nice Christian values followed by the school's administration. It was a great co-ed middle school experience for our first son. Now our younger one is there, and the older one is at McQuaid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

Siena Catholic Academy is one of the best experiences of my life. I am currently an 8th grader and I have could never have felt more prepared for high school. The friends you make are good influences and I will be friends with them forever. I have matured so much in the past two years and I am so grateful to Siena for all they have done.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

im in 8th grade at siena and its probably one of the best schools i ever went to the people r so funny
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

Terrible School. The are strangers around the building and the teachers are mean.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

I am a seventh grader at SCA.And I think SCA is one of the best schools around.The teachers help us have fun with learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2008

I am an 8th grade student at Siena and I think it is an amazing school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2007

I am a recent graduate of Siena Catholic Academy (Class of 2007). The teachers were excellent, the classes were relevant, and the friends you will make there are- there's no other way to say it- awesome. If I could relive my two years there, I would! This is an excellent school to send your son or daughter to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2007

We are very, very pleased with Siena. This is the first school that has really challenged our son academically. And the culture of the school is just what he needed. He has felt welcomed and valued. They clearly instill the values they advertise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

2005-2007 SCA is an outstanding Jr High School. Administration, Faculty and Staff are the most dedicated. Excellent pupil/teacher ratio. Strong moral teachings. Discipline procedures are the best. Good all round sports program with parent coaches run by CYO. Well maintained web-site, access to teachers second to none. We wish that we could remain here for the next four years. The Bianco Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

SCA is an amazing school. The teachers and staff are very friendly, and kind. They always want the best for their students. I love Siena! I'm going to miss it so much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2007

Fourth child going there now, a great school, bridges teens from grade school to high school- academically and socially. Strong admin & teaching staff. Strong family involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

The quality of the academic programs at SCA is very high. The teachers help each student as an individual. They do there best to remember the names of all the kids, and I think that really helps you to learn. There are many extra curricular activities availabe to the students. You can take music lessons during the day or after school. Art is a subject for 40 minunets once a week. The sports available include socceer, basketball, track and cheerleading. Also chior and band are available. Parents are very involved, they are always invited to come to masses, they help at dances and they help with service projects. I think we are a very lucky school to have such great parents who set the example of a christian attude and a christian lifestyle
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 52%
Black 6% 21%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Vincent Tata
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rochester
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2617 East Avenue
Rochester, NY 14610
Phone: (585) 381-1220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Harley School
Rochester, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT