Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Genesee Community Charter School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is in one word, magic! My son just graduated, and my daughter will be a second grader this August. "Friends" as students are called are encouraged to think freely and form their own conclusions while learning in a very unconventional way. The unconventional style of learning is what makes this school a great fit for students at all academic levels. Engaging and structured, GCCS is the perfect place for students who need structure and creative stimulation. The art room, dance studio and music room allow students to spend plenty of time exploring their artistic abilities, while connecting their expeditions (lessons) to art, music and physical movement. My children LOVE school. Every day is a whole new adventure. This school really does work hard to meet their students' individual needs. I had a child who was two full school years behind, who is not excelling and I give credit to his determination, and the patience and commitment of GCCS staff. My daughter was reading in Kindergarten! If you want to be part of a school and community that believes in the importance of the arts, learning outside of the classroom and academic excellence, GCCS is for you!

Genesee Community Charter School 5

Posted December 08, 2013
- a community member
I am part of the GCCS class of 2013, and I am so thankful for this school. It has shaped me into a wonderful young adult through it's wonderful curriculum, and style of teaching. You will be so happy with this school, and it's a wonderful enviroment for one to grow and learn in.


Genesee Community Charter School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
GCCS continues to provide my child with a great education. They use the community as a learning environment and teach in a way that makes my child WANT to learn.

Genesee Community Charter School 5

Posted August 23, 2012
- a parent
I am thankful for our wonderful school every single day. Dr. Wing and the entire staff believe in these children! Children here preserve their innate love of learning. It is miraculous to witness. Thank goodness for GCCS, Dr. Wing, and NY Regents. An amazing public school!

Genesee Community Charter School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
Daughter: 3rd Son: K Highlights: -teachers who lead by example -consistent use of "therapeutic" language ("I" messages and feeling statements) -respect for everyone earned and expected -a music/arts/drama program, highlighted every Wed in community circle, that will bring tears to your eyes with its excellence -my daughter was offered free after school help with her reading -my son's teachers have worked individually with him and us through his behavioral challenges -once every 12 week exhibition nights which highlight student work -meaningful parent volunteer opportunities -2 years with same teachers is a ++ -3 instructors/30 students per class -10+ field studies offered/year -meaningful, relevant, local history curriculum -I watched my daughter be a docent at the RMSC where she exhibited poise and confidence speaking to guests of the museum (one of the parent visitors commented to me, "How old is she? What school does she go to? I am extremely impressed, and I am a teacher too!") -I feel genuinely welcome each time I step foot in the door -I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!! Criticism: -there should be more schools like GCCS available in the city of Rochester!!


Genesee Community Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 19, 2009
- a parent
It's a great community. Teachers, parents, kids & staff are

Genesee Community Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
The teachers integrate the arts with their core curriculum maximizing learning potential for every student.

Genesee Community Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I love Genesee Community Charter School because the hands-on learning techniques are complemented by school design principles that are consistently applied in every classroom and every grade. The dedication of the teachers and staff cannot be matched. The school has contributed greatly to the City of Rochester by direct student involvement in projects such as the rewatering of the canal aqueduct and the planning of ARTWALK 2.


Genesee Community Charter School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
The teachers make learning fun, and they teach the students to think for themselves.

Genesee Community Charter School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
Awesome school!!!! Warm family enviroment.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Genesee Community Charter School
657 East Avenue, Rochester, NY  14607
(585) 697-1960
Last modified Genesee Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Genesee Community Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top