Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holmes Road Elementary School

Public | PK-2 | 408 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2010

I have one that went to Holmes rd and then on to Kirk Rd. I have one that started kindergarden at Holmes Rd this September. Both have special needs and the teachers and staff and parents are wonderful with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

We have 2 children in this school too. My oldest daughter is receiving all outstanding on her report cards and loves learning. My son is follwing in her foot steps. The method of teaching is wonderful; makes learning enjoyable. The staff is great too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

We have 3 children in this school. You know the school is good and your children are excelling when you worry that if you move, how will you ever find a school as good as the one they are currently attending. Holms Rd School recently received International Baccalaureate Accreditation (IBA). This school as a partnership with Buckman Hights Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My child is currently attending kindergarten, and also completed pre-k, at Holmes Road. Before her enrolled I really wasn't familiar with the school and have been extremely impressed. I volunteer on a regular basis at Holmes Road and have had nothing but wonderful experiences dealing with the teachers, principal and staff. There is a sense of community where the staff know all of the students by name. The teachers I've all worked with have gone the extra mile to bring out the best in each student and make each child feel special. The school is also in the midst of becoming an International Baccalaureat Primary Years Programme school, which has encouraged the children to become empathetic with people different from themselves as well as inquisitive critical thinkers. I cannot recommend Holmes Road Elementary School enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My child is excelling very nicely at this school. He loves his music, art and gym. He also loves that on nice days they are taken outside to play on their playground. I like the way he is disciplined. Before I started to work I was very involved in school activities. Parents are given a great opportunity to be active in the school and not just through the PTA. I'm just sad that the school does not go any higher than the second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 64% 48%
Hispanic 2 15% 23%
Black 2 11% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
Two or more races 1 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 250%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 3%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KRISTIN TSANG

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Holmes Rd
Rochester, NY 14626
Phone: (585) 966-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT