Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waterside Children S Studio School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 423 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2013

WCSS is an amazing school!! The principal and teachers and staff are very supportive and caring about the students. The academics are rigorous and my son has advanced so much in reading, math and science in just the first grade alone. The arts, drama, music and enrichment clusters are a nice balance to compliment with hands on learning. I am extremely happy with PS 317.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

This school is fantastic. The standards are way up in this school. If you ever go to any events where Dana explains the curriculum, you would know how high the standards and expectations are at this school. That is why they got an A on the progress report. I know about the new common core learning standards because P.S. 317 principal and staff explains it to us in great detail. The arts are implemented within the standards and keep the kids engaged. My child knows how to read because of this school. The community LOVES this school and so do I. I hear all the talk about how great this school is and I am so happy to live in the zone so that my child can go to the best school in the city. This school is so safe and any unsafe behavior is dealt with on the spot, it never escalates. I love everything about this school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

It is so clear that what is being done at this school is not effective. The learning is so fragmented that the students never catch up or have time to complete a task or project completely or adequately.


Posted September 11, 2011

Students are pumped through and the standards are very low at this school. It is such a shame.


Posted September 7, 2011

There is too much focus on the arts and not enough on academic subjects. So many of these students have not mastered the basic skills they will need in the future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 28, 2011

Waterside children s studio school 317 is a great school; the principal is approachable and knowledgeable, promotes an active and social environment for the students and the parents. The teachers are involved with the school and active in its desire to make it better. The teachers are involved in what they call enrichment courses, sewing, arts and crafts, basketball, cheerleading and more. They are also involved in the PTA, which promotes parent and child socialization, with extras like movie night and social gatherings. My child has shown great improvement academically and in self-esteem. My child has been encouraged to propose enrichment programs, like clean our beach. The school is a safe environment and attentive to a child s and a parents needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

2 yrs ago I was torn because being a homeowner I believe that my tax dollars should be reflected in the school in my community. Almost two years ago to the day I met Dana Gerandasi & this was one of the best chance encounters ever! I explained my concerns & she asked me to give her 1 year to show me what an amazing education she would provide to not only my daughters but children of our community. Here we are just about 2 years later & my daughters are excelling academically! Her team of teachers are all as dedicated as she is & share in her vision! The culture of the school is one that is inviting, parent friendly, very informative & JUST AMAZING! Dana, Katy McGulliciddy, Zoraida Quiles & all of the teachers have provided an amazing foundation for my children! Every time I have had a question, I have been received by open arms. My daughters are very lucky to attend this school & I wouldn't have it any other way! I wish this school could be duplicated everywhere, in every community all over the city! Thank you Dana for everything you have done so far & everything you will do! You are a woman of your word and I am honored to know you! Mr. and Mrs. Joseph and Cynthia Nieto
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I'm so happy with this school. Teachers are incredible, faculty is super helpful, security guards are diligent. I love all the opportunity they give us parents to get involve, if only more parents will take advantage of this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

Working at this school, you can feel the wonderful energy. Everyone walks into the school with a smile and a laugh. The energy is contagious! The professional development is worthwhile, the learning is authentic and the teachers are all hardworking. It is a pleasure working with such a talented staff that is dedicated to learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2011

I love this school! My son loves this school!! The teachers and the principal have completely transformed this school from what the old school (ps 225) was. The old school, P.S. 225, had bulleying and very mean teachers. My son never learned anything because the teachers did not care. He hated coming to school. In comes Waterside Children's Studio School and my son finally loves coming to school and has learned a tremendous amount. He has changed in so many ways and it is this school that has done it all. The arts programs that they offer allows my child to have a creative outlet. Thank you to his teachers in 3rd and 4th grade and to Principal Gerendasi for giving my child the BEST education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

It is surprising that the negative reviews about PS317 the Waterside Children's Studio School were posted early in March, the week in which the school received rave reviews during a peer quality review, scoring Well-Developed and Proficient in indicators such as curriculum and instruction, teacher development, and school culture. Our school stepped into a building to replace a school that was being closed down. Around this phase-out was a great deal of negativity, and many parents felt disenfranchised. We have created an arts and literacy rich environment which makes our children excited to come to school and their families proud of what their children can and have been accomplishing. I am proud to work with a team filled with tireless, passionate teachers, from Pre-K to 4th grade; an administration that values its staff and actively supports our work and development; and most of all, I am proud to work with the children of Rockaway Park, who have risen to the challenging and rigorous academic programs we have put in place, which build our students to be independent and critical readers, writers, and thinkers. It is a school where the success of children is always put first.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2011

I am also saddened by some of the comments below. Textbooks in the content area would be useless to the students who struggle reading them, as well as boring to those who need to be challenged. Hence, we have brand new social studies books with authentic texts on all levels. EVERY student is engaged, excited and learning so many new facts, especially social studies. Being that this school has one of the most successful inquiry teams, I am led to believe that not only is data used effectively, but it drives most of the instruction. The teachers are hard working and dedicated. The students enjoy coming to school and are eager to learn. In my opinion, that is what makes a school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2011

The negative comments below really surprised me. Yes, we receive a lot of professional development -- it means that our principal wants us to be better teachers! Yes, we focus on the arts -- because that is what our school was founded on! That doesn't mean that we ignore the content-areas -- all teachers teach math, reading, writing, social studies, and science -- and we try to integrate the arts into all subjects. I think it's wonderful that our students receive Drama, Music, Art, and Creative Writing, something that is missing from many elementary schools. We also offer Enrichment Clusters, which the children adore, and I can't say I remember our schedule ever changing for that, since it's the same time every week. The teachers at our school are smart and dedicated to learning the best practices for our students. This is not the school for you if you want no creativity and boring textbooks.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 27, 2011

As a teacher at this school, I am saddened and surprised by the misleading "reviews" below. They appear to be written by the same person, who I can only surmise is a disgruntled and frustrated employee of another school. Hands-on, authentic learning is at the heart of what we do, but extensive libraries are available for all subjects. A wide variety of materials are used across the curriculum to keep students engaged and reach ALL learners. Schedule changes for enrichment clusters (which have been a phenomenal success) are rare; they are held the same time every week. Most of these claims are baseless and without merit. I can say with conviction that the staff at Waterside is deeply committed to helping our kids succeed in every capacity.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

This school was not given a Progress Report Grade by the NYC Department of Education for the 2009-2010 school year.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 23%
Black 35% 19%
White 2 18% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 211%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 189%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 25%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 221 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents19058%
Teachers31100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DANA GERENDASI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1-90 Beach 110th St
Rockaway Park, NY 11694
Phone: (718) 634-1344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Ps 183 Dr Richard R Green
Rockaway Beach, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT