Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 5

Posted April 26, 2013
- a parent
P S 232 QUEENS The culture and climate of this school are excellent. The leadership, instruction, safety, and caring are beyond excellent. This school provides the most positive learning environment. This is no small feat with Mayor Bloomberg running the school system !!!

Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 2

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
If you have other choices, exercise them. The main drawback to this school- unfortunately, is it's principal. He'll give the "we're one big family" speech at the start of the school term, then it becomes crystal clear when you need to deal with him that he is nothing more than a representative for the United Federation of Teachers (UFT). He'll put the well-being and comfort of the teachers ahead of your child's. Another observation- the atmosphere is HIGH stress, and is obvious if you look at the expressions on the children's faces when they leave school at the end of the day; or stand near the timecards at the start of the day and see the mayhem created by the teachers (and the expressions of misery) as they get their daily assignments. The bottom line, you're better off in a school that actually cares about your child's education and places more emphasis on a nurturing environment for learning. Also, the grade for this school has severely dropped off in the last couple of years- so proceed with caution.


Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 2

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
This school is way overrated and if a child has special needs the principle and staff will target the child with false documentation to have the child removed from the school. This has been going on for years all to save money in the school budget so it can be used on the not so smart Belle Harbor children and not a child with special needs.You can judge a school by how it treats its weak and sick and this school gets a BIG F

Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
Our school has opened its arms to the special needs community by offering support to parents of special needs children once a month. It is also very involved with the community (advertising local events, participating in parades).

Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 4

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are great! My daughter has a wonderful experience every year!


Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 1

Posted January 07, 2009
- a parent
The teacher my son had last year was a nightmare and the principal was not any better. No matter how many legimate reasons we had they meant nothing in the end. This has been the most stressful school my son has attended. I do not recommend it at all.

Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 3

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 5

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
I think PS 114 is an excellent elementary school...despite bulging class sizes, my oldest has had an excellent teacher in every grade and my daughter has had great teachers as so far...not only are the teachers great, but I think the quality of the kids in this neighborhood is excellent as well...school could use more parental involvement, but school itself is wonderful!


Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 0
no rating

Posted August 16, 2008
- a parent
I have never had a worse experience than at this school...teacher quality is no where near a 5 star, at least not for the teacher my child has dealt with, along with the 'extra help' that is supposedly provided, well lets just say the title was there but not the actual help.

Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor 5

Posted June 30, 2008
- a parent
a wonderful school. have very energetic students waiting to learn. full of high spirit.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor
134-01 Cronston Ave, Rockaway Park, NY  11694
(718) 634-3382
Last modified Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps Ms 114 Belle Harbor Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top