Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Camillus School

Private | K-8 | 179 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rockaway Park

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $518,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2013

This school has done a 360 since Principal Kennedy took over. She is doing a great job and I love how she interacts with the students. Wish she was there when my son started but he will be graduating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

My child has been attending this school for a number of years now. I have always felt in my heard that i would rate this school at 5 stars. To date something has happened with the school to change my feeling. As a perent i feel this school is going down hill, and it is time to hit the road sorry to say. Right now i give this school one BIG star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

So far, so good. My kids started attending saint Camillus this year. It definitely is a close knit environment and you really get to know the teachers and principal. I must say that the staff is top rate and are always willing to answer any and all questions regarding your child. The Class Jump service is second to none, my wife and I use it daily to do our kids homework and monitor their projects and assignments. My son is 6 years old and LOVES IT!!! I hope all continues to go as the first eight months experience and look forward to him graduating in the future. Thank you Saint Camillus!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

When I came into this school a few years ago, I was bullied relentlessly by the children who are well known in the school. It was apparent that the teachers that I had didn't have any type of training in detecting bullying. But then again, they weren't so nice to me during my elementary days. When I moved to Junior high things became a bit better for me. I started having bonds with teachers that truly inspired me. After I graduated with honors, I took away many things from this school: strength, challenging academic endeavors and confidence. Even though I disliked the students and some of my teachers, am on my way to becoming valedictorian in high school because of them.


Posted September 7, 2010

My son went to St Camillus from 6th to 8th grade. I think this is one of the best schools. The teachers and students are very supportive and caring. They teach your children about having good morals and christian values. I am grateful to have found and send my son to this school. Jeanmarie N
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

I must say this school is very well rounded. The principal and teachers listen and understand the students and parents! We are very happy to be a part of St. Camillus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

All of my children attend St. Camillus. The teaching staff and especially the principal are always available and responsive for any concerns I have as a parent. The website for homework and classwork assignments is a great tool for our family. I am very happy with the education my children are recieving at St. Camillus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I was a student at St.Camillus But I have Recently Left. This School Is Very Good. The Teachers Are Very Nice And Understanding. I Encourage You To Send Your Childern here. It Will Be The Best Thing You Will Do. Your Children Will Learn Good Things From This School !
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2009

The teachers and staff of St. Camillus are second to none. This will be my third year with St. Camillus, my girls are going into 1st and 2nd grade. Due to the small size of the school and the classes it really is like a family. The teachers and staff take pride in getting to know your child and follow their progress as they step up to the next grade. I feel blessed that St. Camillus exists and that my children are able to attend this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

St. Camillus is a Fantastic school ,my son is in Kindergarten and his teacher is GREAT!!! The teachers, principal and Pattie (the office secretary) are wonderful. I LOVE ST. CAMILLUS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2008

I am a Student pf St. Camillus , it is a wonderful school. Next year I will sadly be graduating. I encourage you to send your children to this school. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

Excellent school that offers the students a balance of a strong since of spirituality and academic rigor. It is one of the finest Catholic schools around. The principal is dedicated to the students and is willing to go the extra mile to help them acheive. I love this place, and my children love it as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I rate this school so high because the sense of community between the students is excellent. Not only do they learn academics, but they learn to care about and respect one another. Extremely private school, medium class size, no overcrowding. Only one of each class. Excellent staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

I feel that St. Camillus School is a wonderful place for children to learn and grow. The teachers instill the values of family, respect and religion in the students. Teachers are very dedicated to helping all the students as well as the families. A +++ for this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2005

St. Camillus School is a small K-8 school that is diverse in its population and curriculum. The staff is very dedicated as well as the principal. There is a music program, computers, sports and a physical education program. st. camillus is located across the street from beautifyl rockaway Beach, which provides so much for learning.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 52%
Black 31% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Agnes White
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

185 Beach 99th St
Rockaway Park, NY 11694
Phone: (718) 634-5260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Rose of Lima School
Rockaway Beach, NY


P.S. 183 Dr Richard R Green
Rockaway Beach, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT