Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
There is a great balance between teachers and parental involvement. My niece attends this school and I find her teacher to be exemplary. She is very involved not only with their educational need but with their emotional needs and development .I have found this to be true throughout the school and in any activity she is involved with.

Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
I have had many occasions where I have witnessed the fine job both the teachers and parents do while working together in the pursuit of one common goal in mind our children of tomorrow. Great Job!!!!


Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
This school is OK. I miss the days at FJC (K-2) with my 5th grader, although I do have a student in that school as well and it's not what it was just a few years ago. JAE was better, we actually had a real gifted program for grades 3-5. Now we still have something (but only for 4th and 5th), but it's taught by a teacher who is certified in technology (not a bad thing....but it's not gifted) and special ed!!! Please bring back a wonderful, understanding, caring teacher like Mrs. McCabe.

Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 5

Posted June 19, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
I have had nothing but positive experiences in this building. Other parents need to stop judging the principal and teachers constantly and let them do their job as educators. Basing (bad) past experiences in this school is not helping the present children at this time. Stop the negativity, and try supporting the academic environment your child is in now.


Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 3

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
I have been disappointed with JAE. The teachers are much more of a mixed bag when compared with the very fine staff at FJC (the K-2 school in Rocky Point). Some teachers are excellent; others seem burned out or are simply sub-par. The principal conveys a negative vibe and does not seem open to positive interaction with parents. There is insufficient academic rigor; even in grade 5 students are not realigned for subjects based on academic ability but remain all mixed together. The bright spot is the music program simply stellar!

Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 4

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
The JAE school has a staff of wonderful teachers who are dedicated and who work hard to give your children the best education they can. Mr. Knapp, the music teacher is beyond any expectations. He is a music teacher genius. Enroll your child in chorus, so that they can have this fabulous, dedicated teacher touch their lives.


Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 4

Posted February 09, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School 3

Posted September 04, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School
525 Rt 25a, Rocky Point, NY  11778
(631) 744-1600
Last modified Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joseph A Edgar Imtermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top