Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherokee Street Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 652 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

This school is very good if you have a mainstream student with average intelligence but they do nothing for students on either end of that. My daughter had difficulty in the early years and they kept pushing me to get her a diagnosis of ADHD and put her in Special Ed (which I was not opposed to). I spent the money, got her tested where they said to and the MD said she was def. NOT adhd & Sp. Ed would ruin her. Seems they want to push anyone that might bring down their standardized scores into Sp. Ed. so those grades won't count. I heard this from other parents, too. My son was the opposite - extremely bright, could read long before kindergarten, and they had no idea how to handle him. His 2nd grade teacher (since retired) used to get angry when he finished his work too fast. I moved to another district when he was entering 3rd grade and daughter entering 6th. My daughter who had struggled at Cherokee became an honor student after her first year here and my son was tested and placed in a gifted program. Their school experience has been so much better in this district because the schools are more interested in providing an education than just getting scores on standardized exams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My son is now in the 3rd grade so I have 3 years of experience with the school and teachers. The teachers that I've encountered are very warm and caring towards the students. Coming from a city school, this school is much like a family. Almost everyone from the community have went to this school and now their children. I find this to say so much! This is a great school and do are the people who dedicate their lives to making it the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

I have 2 children in this school. My oldest is graduating this year. Overall, my experiences have been good. The curiculumn is challenging to the children. There is alot of emphasis on math which puts other subjects on the back burner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

My two boys go to Cherokee and I find it to be an exceptional school. Both were able to really read by the end of Kindergarten (thank you Mrs. Cocoran!) and they both love going to school. Parent involvement is actively sought, the PTA pulls together numerous successful events throughout the year and I honestly could not ask for a better educational start for my children. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

I think that Cherokee dislikes when parents does not listen to them. When a teacher wants something they have to call ACS. I feel that they are having a problem in the budget maybe that's why they are calling ACS on some of the parents. Don't you think so?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

The teachers are very good. Many will go out of their way to help. Some actually are eager to increase their skills in the classroom and frequently update their knowledge of learning disabilities to better serve all students in class with the best educational experience possible. The teachers on the support staff for educational interventions are very good as well. I have been happy with all of the teachers there. My children have liked their teachers and enjoyed some of the programs offered at this school. Unfortunately, personal experience with some other staff members was extremely unprofessional and counter productive to the educational success and well being of my child. My dealings with the school have done little to secure my faith in their ability to provide my children with a proper, safe, nurturing learning environment suited to their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

My son's kindergarten teacher Ms. Salerno is amazing. My son loves to go to school due to the fun and exciting learning environment she provides. Thank you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

Kids learning is fun and they are learning really fast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

The Cherokee Steet school is a great place. The Principal and staff all care about the students.


Posted April 10, 2008

I wasn't that happy with the school. I think the school is too focused on education and not enough on the child. Education is good but you also have to let a kid be a kid. It can not be all about grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

I can't say enough about the teaching staff at this school. Every teacher my son has had, has been wonderful, attentive, approachable, and supportive. The school community is excellent- parent concerns are taken seriously and the staff really cares about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

I am proud to be a Cherokee parent, The parent-teacher-student relationship is outstanding. The teacher's are some of the best, they truly care about our children. We have one of the best PTA's. Academically they always integrate any new state mandated requirement with ease. We are a family I feel that almost every parent in the school knows who you are and would help if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

It has great teachers that work with parents as a team. They have an open door at all times. Academically my son got better at reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

My daughters have all done very well here. We are very happy we made the move to this District. The teachers truly care about the kids both in school and support their after school activities too. Some of their teachers even come to their dance competitions to cheer them on! That gives the kids positive re-enforcement. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

This school rocked. All the teachers were cool and really nice. They were always helpful and would help you if you needed it. The curriculum is way more advanced than the school I went to before moving to here and way way more advanced than the school I go to now after moving. The after school program SCOPE is really fun and they will help you with your homework.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2007

The teachers at this school are wonderful. My son as special needs and I couldn't be more please with how responsive the teaching staff has been. Parent involvement is high, and our kids have true school spirit. An excellent school in an excellent district. I don't mind the tax bill when I know my children are receiving such a robust and well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

Great school, great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

This is a wonderful school. The quality of education is excellent, along with outstanding special services, and extracurricular activities. Our parent involvement is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

this school is wonderful, everyone there is very kind and my kids loved it there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

This school is great! My son attended first grade there and the teachers are extremely helpful when the children need a little extra help. They really go out of their way to make sure all activities are enjoyable for the students and the parents as well. The teachers hardly asked the parents to contribute money as with other districts who need to depend on the parents when funding is not available to the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students26%
Female29%
Male23%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities0%
General population32%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English26%
Non-migrant26%

Math

All Students30%
Female28%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities11%
General population34%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English30%
Non-migrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Female40%
Male19%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities5%
General population35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Math

All Students24%
Female24%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities11%
General population27%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%

Science

All Students85%
Female88%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities21%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Female43%
Male28%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities5%
General population41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%

Math

All Students27%
Female20%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities9%
General population30%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 82% 48%
Hispanic 2 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
Black 2 2% 19%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 217%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 76%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. BRIDGETTE WILSON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

130 Cherokee St
Ronkonkoma, NY 11779
Phone: (631) 467-6027

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Joseph School
Ronkonkoma, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT