Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Ronkonkoma, NY
Students enrolled: 366
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Edith L Slocum Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
So glad my child is finally leaving this school. We have had nothing but problems. If your child needs special ed this is not the school for you. I have a younger son who I have fought to have placed in Sycamore which has been wonderful. Hopefully he remains there because Slocum has been a nightmare!

Edith L Slocum Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2010
- a parent
There is a true sense of community and family at Slocum. There is a tremendous amount of parental involvement and pride. The students are challenged and cared for. I love this school.


Edith L Slocum Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
it is a great school with a really nice and friendly staff who cares about the children going to it

Edith L Slocum Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2007
- a student
if you ask me this is the Best school ever!

Edith L Slocum Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 01, 2007
- a parent
Edith L Slocum has a very warm and caring enviroment. The teachers are wonderful and the principal always looks out for the childrens' safety. You could not look for a better elementary school. This school is top notch!


Edith L Slocum Elementary School 4

Posted June 23, 2006
- a parent
Excellent principal, great environment! Some of the teachers need a little more motivation and others need experience.

Edith L Slocum Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
This school is ok if your child does not special services.

Edith L Slocum Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2006
- a student
The school is one of the best on Long Island. The principal even reads to each class.


Edith L Slocum Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2004
- a parent
Sandra Rubin is an excellent principal who leads by example. From the teachers who work for her to the activities at the school she believes that if it is not in the best interest of the students then it's not good enough for her school. She instills a sense of pride for the school & provides a safe & caring environment for learning.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edith L Slocum Elementary School
2460 Sycamore Avenue, Ronkonkoma, NY  11779
(631) 467-6040
Last modified Edith L Slocum Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edith L Slocum Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top