Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Child School

Private | K-12 | 340 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Roosevelt Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $577,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

The Child School Legacy HIgh Schol is a state approved private school for children with learning disabilities. My daughter started in kindergarten and is currently in 9th grade. Use of Wilson reading in the early grades has greatly enhanced her ability to learn to read. She has generally enjoyed attending the school. High scool , which can be difficult, has been supportive for her. The school responds to my cncerns about her. The school's founder had a mixed reputation but she has retired and the school is run by the previous the director of the high school with a steady hand. They are starting to formaly use positive behavior support and interventions. They support kids other talents with music, art, sports a annual play and technology. Those programs are what get my daughter to school. High school has elective tracks for kids to specialize in things that interest them. The previous director overextended himself financially in too many projects but the school has worked through that and is now on good financial grounds .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

My child has attended this school for a few years now. Some classes/buildings are overcrowded, but this doesn't effect the quality of the Teachers ability to provide the best possible service that they can anywhere they can. In short that means that the staff can be very creative and pliable when it needs to be. The school is working to better itself and it's teachers in order to give the children who attend the school the best education possible. With time I'd like to add a star. Right now they are doing an average job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

A wonderful school for smart kids with support from dedicated teachers and therapists. The school provides a strong academic environment with support for learning disabilities. An outstanding designated private special education school for elementary, middle, and high school students. We are very glad we came here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son struggled through public elementary school with a speech and processing disorder, as well as ADHD and some spectrum traits/behaviors. the Public school atmosphere broke his spirit. He started The Child School in the summer before 6th grade and became a new person. He started to LOVE school, his teachers, his peers, and everyone noticed a change. He no longer acts out in class but is a well behaved, polite, respectful boy who is happy to go to school and learn. The Child School brought my son back to me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

The teachers and staff are committed to making sure every child is given the time and dedication to accommodate their needs, This is a school that welcomes children with learning disabilities and helps them excel in all areas of life. It is truly a lifesaver for not only the children but the families as well. These children will succeed in this school and most graduate with Regents diplomas. They go on to College and become confident, young adults. This school is very much deserving and really could use these funds to purchase equipment for occupational therapy and other much needed services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son has been at this school since 2004 and he has grown academically and emotionally more than I ever dreamed possible. The classes are small; the teachers are highly skilled both in their subjects and in working with emotionally fragile kids with various learning styles. The location on Roosevelt Island abutting the East River is absolutely beautiful. A gem of a school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

I'm a parent of a child who currently attends the school. He has been here for 4 years, my child has a severe learning disability, adhd and was not expected to learn to read or write. He had such a rough time in public schools because they did not take the time to address his individual needs. Within his first year my son began to read and write. He is now a confident young man who thanks to all the class selections has had great educational opportunities and social extra curriculars. I'm am proud to say we are a TCS/Legacy family. I recommend the school. No school is perfect but TCS works very hard to meet each child's individual needs. Cant wait till he goes to Legacy in a years time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

My daughter attended The Child School for three years and made a great deal of progress. The curriculum was individualized to meet her specific strengths and deficits. She got 1:1 assistance in the areas where she needed it and got the spotlight on her strengths ranging from the annual science fair to the dance shows. The teachers and therapists are very involved, very accessible and willing to work with parents. She flourished socially and emotionally in the elementary school's therapeutic environment and made her first friends here. The PTA is very involved and sponsors many events for parents, students and alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

This school has been great. They have some excellent teachers, and an excellent speech therapist. We have lots of electives. These electives vary from clubs like synchronized swimming to academic electives like abstract chemistry. Everyone fits in somewhere here.


Posted February 8, 2013

Excellent School - My child entered this school in Kindergarten and is now in 5th grade. Our experience has been wonderful and our child has flourished. The teachers are loving and nurturing, firm. The staff takes a team approach on each student and collaborates with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

the one of the best special education and i love going there my favorite teacher is Tobi


Posted December 7, 2012

The Child School was not able to provide an appropriate program for my son. He was 9 years old (ADHD/Anxiety) and spent a couple of traumatic weeks in this school. I frequently got phonecalls to pick him up, sometimes 10 minutes after he arrived with the bus at school. My son was not able to attend any other school for 9 months - private hominstruction was the only option. Today, one year later, he is doing perfectly fine in a wonderful school, in downtown manhatten. It was definately not the right fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

This school provides an excellent learning experience. Friends always have a positive attitude towards each other in and outside school. The teachers are always helpful and really help the students. this is a great school, recommend it for anyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

My son is 9 years old, he is diagnosed with ADHD, Separation Anxiety and a very high IQ. September 2011 he was enrolled in The Child School. The school was not able to provide a program for my son needs. After summerschool and 3 weeks during september the school decided to expel him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

The admissions department does not represent their school well. They do not respond to e-mail and are not very helpful on the phone. They are condescending and flustered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

The Child School is a school that serves children with developmental and learning disabilities. Shame on the previous reviewer for his/her ugly language and attitude toward the children he/she was supposed to be educating. Kudos to Child School for getting rid of you - you don't belong in any classroom!


Posted November 26, 2010

This school is amazing! Great for kids with learning disabilities or ADD or even high functioning kids with asperger's. The school is academically strong but very theraputic and supportive. Our son struggled in a public school due to severe ADD, where despite having great teachers, the class size was just too big. Now at the Child School, he's in a class of 8 kids with two and sometimes three teachers. There's no way for him to be distracted with someone over him all the time. Moreover, the teachers here have different kinds of methods to help kids overcome their issues. Our son's grades have improved dramatically at TCS, his confidence has skyrocketed, and he now loves school. The founder, Maari de Souza, is a genius, who inspires the students to achieve. She's now been joined by a new director, Sal Ferrara, who is also a force of nature, and who has BIG plans for the school to take it to the next level, like new sports teams and facilties. The school is great, and it's improving. We are thankful beyond words that our son is attending the Child School. It is a special, special, special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

The Child School is wonderful for kids with learning disabilities. My son is in 8th grade and has been a student here since second grade. The head of school and teachers will do everything they can to help your child learn and it works. My son has made magnificent progress here. Socially, the school is difficult for a kid who does not have significant emotional problems as many of the kids do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I think this school is excellent. I didn't say perfect because no school is, but my son has been there since he was five and is now 18. This is a kid we thought might never read and write and whose behavior was all over the place. He is now an educated, accomplished, skilled young adult and I give the school huge credit for that. For every teacher that has been less than perfect there have been 10 that were dedicated and worked their hearts out. In addition to My son has been involved with theater, singing, studio art at TCS and is now in a pre-professional musical theater company. He has travelled to five foreign countries--from Costa Rica to Morocco--with the school. Don't believe most of what detractors say; my husband's an educator and we both think the school is awesome in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

I have worked with the staff on extra curricular projects. The opportunities are fantastic at this school. The school is clean, bright, airy, with a center atrium garden. The staff is commited to serving developmentally disabled kids.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 52%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 3% 21%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Vishu Grover
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAPSEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

587 Main St
Roosevelt Island, NY 10044
Phone: (212) 223-5055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. Is 217 Roosevelt Island
Roosevelt Island, NY



The Town School
New York, NY


P.S. 76 William Hallett
Long Island City, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT