Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
Ridge Street School is excellent and we are thrilled to be a part of a district that offers so much. The extra-curricular programs the PTA make available and coordination with town programs is plentiful and amazing. In addition, afterschool care is available on site so children with working parents can remain in the school until pick up. The principal is very engaged with the students and has championed an enviornment supportive of being a good citizen, team work, and respect for fellow students. This year the Superintendent has spent much effort in evaluating school safety and procedures and has made some positive changes to security protocols to better protect the children and staff. Despite some concerns I have read expressed in previous reviews, in my opinion, full time Kindergarten has worked well for us and many parents we know, especially those who come from 2 career households. Many children who enter Kindergarten are already accustomed to full time care and had no issue around transition as it pertains to the length of day in the classroom.

Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School 5

Posted June 29, 2011
- a parent
I have two children in the school. We moved from another area where the schools were lacking simply because of Blind Brook's reputation. While the community can feel too small at times, the schools do not disappoint. The standards are exceptional and resources abundant. The PTA does an amazing job, and the kids excel. Really has a private school feel to it. Wonderful opportunities fro every child.


Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
The district is one of the smaller ones in the county but they manage to offer so much to students and families. Parent involvement is great with an active PTA and the district (from what I see) welcomes input. The decision makers are thoughtful about what works and what doesn't. The school has nice traditions (experienced my first grader's 'Snow Ball Dance'). Teacher retention is great and they all show they care about the students and school. The only negative is the elementary school needs to find a long-term principal (they had 3 or more in the last 10 years).

Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School 5

Posted November 09, 2007
- a parent
While the kindergarten day is a bit long for some children, Mr. Fittinghoff, the principal, and Ms. Tayor, the assistant principal, initiated steps to ensure a smooth transition for the children. These are as follows: a six-week introductory schedule during which kids had three full days and two half days, a kindergarten-only bus for the first day of school and the afternoon trip during this period, and half days for the first few days of school involving either private diagnostic meetings or 'meet and greet's within groups of roughly 11 children .

Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School
no rating

Posted November 04, 2007
- a parent
My child is in 1st grade here. We'd like to be out by 3rd grade, when all the standardized testing starts. That's when the school switches from educating the children to focussing on test prep. The superintendent is clearly pursuing test scores for their own sake, rather than viewing them as the natural by-product of a good education. This is also a district that, starting this year, has the kindergarteners in school from 8:30-3:10 5 days a week, over the strenuous objections of the kindergarten teachers and most parents, all of whom feel that it's far too long a day for these kids.


Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School 5

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
We have two children at RSS. The class sizes, activities and standards are excellent. The principal is very good. They are upgrading the facilities and make good use of technology in the classrooms.

Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School 3

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
Most of the teachers are great and dedicated. The new principal and assistant principal are very energetic, approachable and focused on the kids. The physical facilities are in serious need of updating and/or repair.

Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School 5

Posted May 10, 2004
- a parent
I went to RSS from 1965 - 1971 and still think it's the best school around. I raised my daughter in Boca Raton Florida and compared to the schools here (which are supposed to be pretty good in Boca) RSS was like an upper-echelon private school. The work I did in 6th grade is harder than my daughter's 12th grade work - I grew up feeling average, but now that I'm a 48 year old, I believe my elementary and jr. high education prepared me above and beyond what most people get out of school. I wish I still lived in Rye Brook so my daughter could have gone to RSS! Great memories when Mr. P. was ass't vice principal and gave us the Ponterio Pinch - Susan Miller

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School
390 North Ridge Street, Rye Brook, NY  10573
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (914) 937-3600
Last modified Bruno M Ponterio Ridge Street School is a Public school that serves grades K-5, 7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top