Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Rye, NY
Students enrolled: 958
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rye High School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
Rye High School is based in a nice, welcoming community. The teachers are all very helpful and engaging. The other students at the school involve themselves in many activies. The sports that Rye High School runs are great for character building as well as keeping students busy and interested. As a graduate of Rye High School, I would reccomend this school to anyone who is looking for a good education for their children. It is challenging, yet the teachers are willing to work with students in order to allow them to succeed.

Rye High School 4

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been here from 6-8th and entering 9th grade. We moved here for the education and safety factor. Teachers are outstanding (7 of 10 are) and the HS teachers are even better - told personally by parents with older kids. The major problem is there is no diversity here and it's not representative of the world that our children will have to perform in. Other major problem is, if your child has not been playing sports since/like 4th grade competitively to include sports camps, they will very likely never get on any of the teams, hence, they make half as many friends and are a second class citizen socially and to some degree confidence-wise. If these two issues have little value, I recommend this school 5 or 5 since the kids can also walk safely to a well monitored, town and learn independence much earlier...If your child is average or better excellent suggestion. If not, suggest they go somewhere else, since it seems like they actively try to dissuade low performers from attending to artificially elevate published performance stats.


Rye High School 5

Posted February 03, 2012
- a parent
No high school is going to be perfect for every kid, but Rye High does a great job overall. It tends to work more like a prep school than a typical average public school. It's clearly a competitive environment, where the expectation is that most students are not only going on to college, but to a selective college. A lot of kids graduate with more than six AP classes, some are essentially in a full college program by senior year. Every year, a few dozen kids go off to the Ivy League and the like. Sports and clubs are a big deal, and funded exceptionally well for a public school. It's an affluent community, and parents tend to pick up the slack where the school budget won't cover something. All that said, I don't think Rye High is the most inventive, creative environment. It's a bit old school in its approach, focusing on doing core education very well. There is good support for kids who struggle academically, but they could feel out of the mainstream. If diversity is important to you, you will hate this school. It's about as white bread as you'll find anywhere.

Rye High School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a student
This school is composed of incredible people, from faculty to students. Everyone cares about learning for the sake of learning, not just for an A on the next test. It is an environment to be envied by all. I love this school.

Rye High School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
Rye High School has high standards for education. Rye High School has an undefeatable football team. We have awesome programs that help unfortunate people around the world. We have programs that strongly support american troops & homeless and hungry people around the world. We are internationally involved with different cultures around the world. Our school is awesome! VOTE!


Rye High School 1

Posted February 15, 2008
- a parent
By the time the kids have made it through RYe's substandard elementary schools, the high school has them tracked. For 10% of the kids who are blindly compliant, the high school will bend over backwards to keep the ratings high. The other 90% will have to realize as adults that they are dynamic, creative, valuable, intelligent people. Don't believe the hype.

Rye High School
no rating

Posted April 09, 2007
- a parent
This school puts an excessive amount of pressure on the students in an unhealthy manner. If a student is not trying to be accepted into a college that is Ivy League or otherwise difficult to get into they find themselves shoved to the side. Students also spend too much time learning information through notes, leaving little time for analyzing and developing new ideas upon the information presented. The theatre department is also poorly funded despite the clear need for new props and sets. The school also recently renovated the cafeteria. However it is unclear where the money raised was used as little change was made. Despite other lacking areas the schools english department is very successful at opening the minds of students and engaging them in discussion.
1 person found this helpful

Rye High School 4

Posted January 20, 2006
- a student
At Rye, professors are not distant academic deities, but active participants in the lives and learning experiences of each and every student. I greatly value the role my teachers have played in shaping who I am and the way I think, and at Rye I am positive I would not only continue to have incredible, intelligent teachers but dynamic and accomplished role models as well.


Rye High School 5

Posted July 13, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school with challenging academic programs, full sports options and great parent involvement. Offers full range of AP classes and students are very focused on school and competitive colleges. School is very open to parent involvement and input and parents are in fact very involved. In my opinion my daughter, who is a high achiever academically, received a better education than the children of my friends who attended Rye Country Day and other area private schools and had the added benefit of the sports and local involvement of a public, neighborhood school. We moved to Rye for the schools and wer not disappointed!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rye High School
Parsons St, Rye, NY  10580
(914) 967-6100
Last modified Rye High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rye High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top