Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
546 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Resurrection School 4

Posted August 12, 2016
- a parent
Our Resurrection Experience has been very positive. Our children work hard during the day and have a very busy academic schedule with Homework every night. The teachers are strong, some better than others but my kids certainly are learning so much. The parent community is the best in the area- parents are involved, committed to the school, and definitely want the best experience for their kids. Always room for some improvement, like all schools, but Res is a great option If you want a strong academic school with great Catholic values.

Resurrection School 2

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
Have sent children through this school for 10+ years. If you're a favorite of the Monsignor or Principal (read a donor to the Foundation) you are golden. Stepford wives run the PTO. The Pre-K through 2nd grade is very nuturing and academically appropriate, in my experience. 3-8 is busy work and does not come close to preparing students to enter high school, as mentioned in another post. I was lucky, my children adapted and caught up...others may not be so fortunate. In recent years, # of classes per grade & enrollment has dropped (there used to be 3 2nd grade classes with 20-22 students, now there are 2 with 16-19 per class). Have heard stories of people being put on "wait lists" - translation turned away for the pre-K!! This is particularly distressing. Sad to see the school headed in the wrong direction with administrators who don't listen to anyone not in line with their adenga.


Resurrection School 2

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
A dubiously deleted parent review (October 2013) chastised for being "grossly inaccurate" actually brings up a few valid points. I agree that the review was harsh, but I ve been troubled by a few of the same concerns. Some other reviews here seem overly complimentary and quite honestly a bit suspicious. The art program may have more than dry markers and paper, but it is taught in what used to be a CCD closet and lacks aspects of what I d consider a solid art class. Also, iPads are rarely brought out (in my child s experience) and the Middle School laptops are over a decade old. Grammar School computer lab is spacious, but in the middle school, all children and computers are crammed into a small room which used to hold 9-10 students for advanced math. Resurrection is a poor choice for students with special needs. There is an attitude of you conform rather than we accommodate. Entering into high schools, a couple students I ve spoken to find the need to catch up in some areas because they were not properly prepared at Res. All that said, there is a good advanced math program & some staff are enthusiastic about educating. In general, not my first choice recommendation.

Resurrection School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Our kids have attended Resurrection for the last 10+ years, and we are lucky to be a part of a strong Catholic educational institution. We have always felt an incredible sense of community. Parents are dedicated and involved from helping with a special craft to chairing our Spring Fundraiser. Our professional faculty is invested in our children. Our Principal and Assistant Principal, who joined us last year, brought many talents and wisdom from years of experience. They are committed to providing our teachers with the professional development necessary to incorporate the new common core standards into their curriculum. For years, parents asked for Spanish. This year, preK-4 through 8th have Spanish. Technology is a priority. Every classroom is equipped with a Smart Board. There are 45 iPads (more coming), utilized in Computers and as a learning tool in classrooms. We also have a new state of the art website. In Music, 3rd graders learn how to use the recorder; a few years ago, they performed at Carnegie Hall. 4th graders learn rhythm through the use of tapping cups.

Resurrection School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
(cont d from last posting) There are many outlets for athletes. Various sports are offered through After School Club. Middle School Sports (for 5th-8th) continues to expand; lax was added last Spring. And MS gym and many MS Sports utilize our newly renovated gym. On the other end of the spectrum, Drama Club put on its first production, Annie, last year and is preparing for this Spring s The Wizard of Oz. Our kids receive a well-rounded and competitive education. Their spiritual development is just as important. The school comes together every first Friday to celebrate mass with individual class masses in between. There is a new Montessori Religious Center. 2nd and 8th Grade are special years, as students prepare for First Reconciliation, First Communion and Confirmation together. Our Principal, Assistant Principal and faculty are leading our kids on a path of academic excellence while nurturing a community of faith. We are extremely happy with our experience over the last 10+ years and are excited to see what the future holds for our children at Res.


Resurrection School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school. Educationally and morally very strong. There is a strong sense of service that extends from the school to the community. There is a family feeling at Resurrection. The preschool age classes are an excellent fun introduction to school for little ones who flourish through the classroom experience and the nurturing creative teachers. The new administration is strong and keeps the school current with curriculum and technology. Spanish is now taught in all grades. Present faculty is held to high standards. The middle school sports program is a huge success. I highly recommend Resurrection School.

Resurrection School 4

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Resurrection is a wonderful local parochial school. The school community is involved and very close-knit and that translates to a very happy educational experience for the students. The administration has taken recent steps to enhance the educational platform, with the addition of foreign language for all grades, a science program that integrates lab and classroom work, a technology program that incorporates iPads into everyday classroom learning, as well as a middle school athletics program that has added new sports each year over the past 3 years. The school provides its students with a wonderful educational foundation. It is a great school and we feel lucky to be apart of the Resurrection family.

Resurrection School 5

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
Resurrection is a wonderful place to educate your child. The principal is caring and leads with a true sense of community. The parents are very involved and you feel like you belong to a family. And your child grows up with wonderful values and God in their life. What more could you want?


Resurrection School 2

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
Some teachers are good, one or two fantastic. Students are basically given busy work in class and do not learn much in most classes. Homework is a joke, and if students do do it then they finish it all in about 20 minutes. Principal has priorities wrong - more focused in getting certain students into prestigious high schools than helping his school's performance. Recently hired a full-timme religion teacher when school is in desperate need of a spanish program and each teacher proved competant in teaching religion. Overall, below average.

Resurrection School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
Fantastic principal. Teachers that care. Good values. Lots of homework. Good selection of after school clubs. Students do well in standardized testing. Advanced Math class available. Small classes.

Nearby schools

Resurrection School
116 Milton Road, Rye, NY  10580
(914) 967-1218
Last modified Resurrection School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top