Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Private
Rye, NY
Students enrolled: 333

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


School Of The Holy Child 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Very small school and therfore can adjust to a girls special education needs. However school clubs and sports program is poor.

School Of The Holy Child 4

Posted March 01, 2014
- a parent
One daughter is a freshman, one about to graduate. If we had to do it all again, we would absolutely pick Holy Child! Academics are rigorous and much better than most public high schools. Certainly better than less-expensive Catholic high schools, Is Holy Child costly? Yes. But you get one crack at your kid's education. It's not just the strong academics, but it's the small class size, community service and faith-centered activities we love. It's place where they can try many things and discover their interests/talents in academics, arts, athletics, service etc. It's not a one curriculum for all school some parents might not like this if they compare course-to-course to what their friend s kids take. It s a small school so you are well-known. That might not be what some girls/parents want. Faculty/administration are very accessible. College guidance is very good and personalized none of the insanity of over-testing and over-applying. College placements reflect that tailored approach. At the end of the day, it s reassuring to know parents and school community are aligned in developing girls who are not only bright but who kind and giving people.


School Of The Holy Child 3

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
This school has a free after school care, lunch and some of the local trips. The school is all girls school with male administrators, nice teachers/parents, and many sporting activities. The school is small, which is both positive and negative. The education here is OK and what you have in some public schools. The tuition is about $30,000 per year, but the school offers less for the money. In the high school, students are expected to make a decision on taking less than the required courses with care less attitude from the dean and an advisor. It's true the enrollment in this school is decreasing and they need to hire knowledgeable advisors and dean who will encourage their students to do their best and also challenge students to learn. As a parent, visit many local schools and ask hard questions before you make a decision on SHC. $30,000.00 worth something better than what my child is getting in this school. This is my experience and yours may be differ.

School Of The Holy Child 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Holy Child is an incredible school with incomparable community. The teachers, faculty, coaches and parents are all invested in the well being and success of the girls. My daughter was lucky enough to attend from 5th-12th grade and had a wonderful experience. She branched out and tried things she would have never tried had she not felt so supported and pushed herself in ways she never would have had she not been so challenged. The small class size ensures no student ever gets lost or forgotten and the array of programs offered guarantees your daughter will never lack for ways to expand her classroom beyond the traditional setting. I cannot speak highly enough about the opportunities available at Holy Child.

School Of The Holy Child 5

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
Holy Child continues to be a terrific school for both of my daughters. We as a family were drawn to the school initially because of the small class size; typical class sizes are anywhere from 10-15 girls. The students are encouraged to meet with their teachers individually and have great access to them before, during and after school. The sports program is very good and there is also a commitment to community service that is felt throughout the school. My older daughter will be more than ready for college upon graduation next year.


School Of The Holy Child 5

Posted February 23, 2013
- a parent
Holy Child offers a terrific education. Your daughter's strengths will be recognized and she will be encouraged and motivated by teachers and administration to pursue her passions. Holy Child has academically challenging courses, a strong athletic program and amazing extra-curricular programs. Your daughter will thank you for sending her to such a wonderful school.

School Of The Holy Child 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
Holy Child has been an amazing educational experience for my daughter. Young women are encouraged to be independent, critical thinkers, and to challenge themselves both in and out of the classroom. No girl "falls through the cracks" at Holy Child. Whatever her strengths or interests may be, each young woman is expected to pursue her passion, whether it be academics, the arts, athletics or community service. My daughter was more than prepared for her college experience.

School Of The Holy Child 3

Posted August 08, 2012
- a parent
The SHC is a nice school, small, and seems like a community. Most of the teachers and head of school are very good people. The academic in this school is around average and my child seems to lack the drive to gain knowledge she had in her former school. Students form 7th grade must have a personal computer, buy all text books, and have a free lunch/after care from the school. I hope teachers in SHC school think outside the box and challenge their students to learn!


School Of The Holy Child 3

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
I think HC has slipped in quality over the past few years. Teacher turn over at this school is very high, which usually indicates issues with the leadership of the school. My daughter will be a senior and is happy to be leaving soon. She lost both her favorite history teacher and Spanish teacher this year. We are not too keen on the new principal's leadership either.

School Of The Holy Child 5

Posted June 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

School Of The Holy Child
2225 Westchester Avenue, Rye, NY  10580
(914) 967-5622
Last modified School Of The Holy Child is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
School Of The Holy Child Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top