Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rye Country Day School

Private | PK-12 | 887 students

We are best known for excellence in education.

 
 

Living in Rye

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2013

Excellent spirit! Hard work promoted with an equal emphasis on play. Wealthy but humble for the most part and the culture around campus is that of like a big family. Diversity is greatly valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

Attending this school changed the trajectory of my daughter's life. She was always bright and driven but this school opened up all sorts of opportunities for her. She had outstanding instructors and participated in numerous after-school activities such as drama and softball. I count my daughter attending RCDS as one of the greatest blessings of our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

I graduated from RCDS this past year (Class of 2011) and I thought that this site needed a better perspective from a recent graduate. To retain my anonymity, I will be vague about my success. I go to a top 20 university (probably sub 10 in the next 2 years) and this school prepared me well in most aspects. To put it bluntly, this school equips students with the tools to achieve great measures of success collegiately, but it is not the place for everyone. There are teachers and classes to avoid. Work is demanding, but often felt like busy work to me. Most of the teachers really love working at RCDS and are always available for extra help (seriously, if your student goes to this school, get them to go to extra help whenever they can. It's a huge boon in college for academics and networking). The academics, as I mentioned, can coast students or really challenge them. The sports I chose were very competitive and successful. Coaches all understand academics come first. All in all, this school prepared me aptly for college and I recommend it to students with stars in their eyes and a good work ethic.


Posted January 21, 2011

My daughter is in the sixth grade now and having attended Collegiate myself, I can say that RCDS is an exceptional school. Not only do all of the teachers encourage the students to strive to be their best, they do so in a way that is challenging but not overboard. Whenever that has been an issue, which are rare to almost never, with students slightly getting out of line (which is true everywhere and with all ages), RCDS is right on top of it and manage everything in a very thoughtful and proper way. I couldn't disagree more than with the other person who reviewed here. That person must have had an isolated incident and thought it not handled correctly. Remember, even with teachers and administration, they are still human. Mistakes can be made, the question is whether they learned from it. If anyone has any reservations about RCDS, don't. It's really wonderful; but as with all schools, the fit must be right. If your child wants to excel and become an exceptional young adult, then this might be the right school Obviously, it's not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

As a parent of former student at RCDS,the end result of a quality education can't be denied.She has been fortunate to have such dedicated teachers and caring administrative faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

I read the nine reviews posted and there were a few that just didn't make sense. While I agree that not every child can handle the work-load of a really good private school, the notion that RCDS is anything but an incredible learning institution is just false. Our daughter just finished fifth grade and LOVES it. The teachers are incredible passionate about their work. She is always encouraged to strive to be her best in a caring and thoughtful manner. The children are all top notch and though girls can sometimes get into little groups, RCDS does everything in its power to counter this. Our son is at Brunswick and I attended Collegiate in NYC. These are all great schools, but if anyone has any doubts about RCDS, reconsider. It is a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

The education is first-rate, rigorous and deep across all disciplines, we found the middle and high school teachers to be responsive and committed. The music program is turly outstanding and deserves special mention. RCDS is a great place for kids who are highly motivated and intellectually curious, they will get the most attention and recognizion. Make sure you're sending your child because he/she can excel at this level, not because it's a prestigious diploma. Socially, you get your fair share of neurotic kids and parents, but that's likely a symptom of most competitive schools. I do agree with the comment above: the administration is timid in imparting a values-based vision for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2009

The education is great but a lot of the kids misbehave and are very mean to the kids who do care about school and it makes the learning experience worse and little to nothing is done about it.


Posted September 24, 2009

There are many outstanding teachers at Rye Country Day, particularly in the high school, and the student body is generally highly motivated. However the school lacks soul or spirit. As a result the overall experience is significantly less than it could be. This stems from the headmaster who does not appear to have a coherent vision or mission for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

My son has been at RCDS for 4 years and has loved every minute of it. The academics are superb and the extra-curriculars are wonderful. He plays hockey now, but can't wait until middle school when he can fence and play bass in the Jazz band! How many schools can offer that? The kids are terrific as well--very kind and supportive of each other. Sending my child to RCDS was the best decision we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

I am a graduate of RCDS and the parent of a current student. I think it is an exceptional school. Students receive very personal attention and although the work is challenging, the faculty and staff seem very committed to making sure that each student reaches his or her potential. There is a very wide range of extracurricular and sports activities particularly given the relatively small size of the student body. I am particularly impressed by the number of students who are active in a range of sports/theater/music, there seem to be fewer divisions of the student body into 'jock', 'arty' etc. categories. The school needs to become more racially/ethnically and economically diverse but appears to be aware of it and taking steps to address it. I'd recommend it without reservation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

RCDS is considered by many as the best private day school in the area and holds its reputation with even the most elite boarding schools. The school has earned a bad rap as a school for over privileged over-achieving preppies with even more ambitious parents. But the fact of the matter is that Rye Country Day besides getting their kids into the best schools offers some of the best athletics, drama, and extra-curricular activities often competing with far larger schools. One warning is that RCDS is not just a school its a life, meaning that the workload and commitment required will allow little room for outside activities. The school recruits the best teachers, coaches, and college counselers not to mention the best and brightest students in the entire tri-state area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2006

The school is OK, although not as good as Scarsdale public and Hackley (private) in my opinion. When I checked around Feb 2006, I could not find school's average SAT scores. I wonder how it compares with other competing private schools like Hackley and public schools like Scarsdale and Edgemont, who boast about their student's performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This school is terrible. The teachers are not passionate about their jobs, too much homework (which leaves the student no time to use his/her imagination). Both my children hated every minute there, and they switched to a public school (which they love). The only plus to RCDS is the sports. If you don't want to be a business man, don't go to this school. There are no extra-curricular activities, and the school is... Ii'm speechless... it's just awful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

This school is extremely well led and administered. The faculty is mostly excellent and very dedicated. Personal attention to students is remarkable. Wide range of choice (and difficulty) in courses. The honors courses are very challenging, even for very bright students. Some do not like the social atmosphere -- too many rich, privileged kids competing to get into great colleges, too little diversity and genuine intellectual passion. (The administration has been addressing these shortcomings and has made progress.) Overall, a truly great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 52%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 6% N/A
Black 6% 21%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Pennsylvania (21 from 2007-2011)
New York University (16 from 2007-2011)
Vanderbilt University (15 from 2007-2011)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Scott A. Nelson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (914) 967-1418

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
  • squash, sailing, fencing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • squash, sailing, fencing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Pennsylvania (21 from 2007-2011)
New York University (16 from 2007-2011)
Vanderbilt University (15 from 2007-2011)
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Cedar St
Rye, NY 10580
Website: Click here
Phone: (914) 967-1417

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT