Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
887 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rye Country Day School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Dr Stream was an outstanding teacher for all 3 of our children. His special gift was not about teaching content, but teaching his students how to learn (e.g. critical thinking)

Rye Country Day School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Students are challenged. The academic expectations are high. The workload substantial. And the expectation of involvement in activities outside the classroom. This drives perseverance and determination among the student body.


Rye Country Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
RCDS treats students as young adults. This in turn builds an atmosphere of mutual respect.

Rye Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
The School's motto is "Not for Self, But for Service". This embodies the character of the school and the student body.

Rye Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
The school places a high expectation on its students to act ethically and to follow the schools code of conduct. This code is embraced by the student body, and visibly enforced by the school. Students are given a fair amount or responsibility, and treated like young adults.


Rye Country Day School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
All three of our children graduated from Rye Country Day, and each blossomed in their own way and went on to thrive in top-tier universities. RCDS is an exceptional college preparatory school, in part because the school administrators and faculty empower students to take accountability for their academics and extracurricular activities, provide an amazing breadth of experiences with great resources inside and outside the classroom, and offer countless opportunities for initiative and leadership. Our children had amazingly smooth transitions into college, feeling it was a very natural extension from their high school experience. RCDS has a strong sense of community and spirit, a college-like campus setting, an appreciation for the importance of giving back ("Not for Self, But for Service") and admirable diversity through their commitment to providing financial aid. The workload is challenging - as students typically juggle significant after school activities (e.g. athletics, performing arts) with a demanding level of homework - but this is what prepares them for success on their own at the university level. We highly recommend Rye Country Day - we see so many of its students develop into smart, confident, interesting, and balanced young adults.

Rye Country Day School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
Excellent spirit! Hard work promoted with an equal emphasis on play. Wealthy but humble for the most part and the culture around campus is that of like a big family. Diversity is greatly valued.

Rye Country Day School 5

Posted October 22, 2011
- a parent
Attending this school changed the trajectory of my daughter's life. She was always bright and driven but this school opened up all sorts of opportunities for her. She had outstanding instructors and participated in numerous after-school activities such as drama and softball. I count my daughter attending RCDS as one of the greatest blessings of our lives.


Rye Country Day School 5

Posted October 05, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from RCDS this past year (Class of 2011) and I thought that this site needed a better perspective from a recent graduate. To retain my anonymity, I will be vague about my success. I go to a top 20 university (probably sub 10 in the next 2 years) and this school prepared me well in most aspects. To put it bluntly, this school equips students with the tools to achieve great measures of success collegiately, but it is not the place for everyone. There are teachers and classes to avoid. Work is demanding, but often felt like busy work to me. Most of the teachers really love working at RCDS and are always available for extra help (seriously, if your student goes to this school, get them to go to extra help whenever they can. It's a huge boon in college for academics and networking). The academics, as I mentioned, can coast students or really challenge them. The sports I chose were very competitive and successful. Coaches all understand academics come first. All in all, this school prepared me aptly for college and I recommend it to students with stars in their eyes and a good work ethic.

Rye Country Day School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in the sixth grade now and having attended Collegiate myself, I can say that RCDS is an exceptional school. Not only do all of the teachers encourage the students to strive to be their best, they do so in a way that is challenging but not overboard. Whenever that has been an issue, which are rare to almost never, with students slightly getting out of line (which is true everywhere and with all ages), RCDS is right on top of it and manage everything in a very thoughtful and proper way. I couldn't disagree more than with the other person who reviewed here. That person must have had an isolated incident and thought it not handled correctly. Remember, even with teachers and administration, they are still human. Mistakes can be made, the question is whether they learned from it. If anyone has any reservations about RCDS, don't. It's really wonderful; but as with all schools, the fit must be right. If your child wants to excel and become an exceptional young adult, then this might be the right school Obviously, it's not for everyone.

Nearby schools

Rye Country Day School
Cedar St, Rye, NY  10580
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (914) 967-1417
Last modified Rye Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top