Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Sag Harbor, NY
Students enrolled: 526

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pierson Middle High School 3

Posted October 05, 2014
- a parent
I had 3 children graduate fro Pierson. Most recently in June of this year. While the teachers for the most part due a good job, you need to be a relative or a relative of a relative to be considered for a job. This seriously limits the pool of potential teachers. As for the Principal, he's merely a $200,000 a year puppet on a string doing the bidding of the board which is run like dictatorship. I gave the parent involvement 1 star because the parents actually have to much input. This is a public school that they try to like a private academy without the quality of education. My children did well in spite of the school not because of the school.

Pierson Middle High School 3

Posted June 03, 2013
- a community member
I was a student at this school and graduated in the early 2000s. The school offers many sports programs (due to small student body some programs are jointly shared with other schools), intellectual clubs and arts/drama clubs. The teachers for the most part were dedicated and helpful, many going out of their way. Like any school a few had their clear favorites. On the downside, the students run the school and do whatever they want. I also felt that relative to my college peers I was not prepared. I think the school should be more rigorous academically and focus on controlling problem students.


Pierson Middle High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
piersan high sc hool is so into makeing every student as best they can be they dont give up it is a wonderful community orienated place for our kids and sets them up on their journey into adulthood and are always behind the kids one to one equal level. keep up the good work. thank you pierson proud parent.

Pierson Middle High School 3

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pierson Middle High School 0
no rating

Posted March 08, 2009
- a student
I used to go to Pierson before I moved away and I think it was a great school. The teachers cared about the students and were very involved, the school is small which I think is a good thing; more teacher help; and things aren't so superficial. I hope to send my kids there one day and I wish I could go back. The parents are very involved with the school and they have a lot of extracuriicular activities and are very into music and the arts.


Pierson Middle High School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Pierson Middle High School 5

Posted June 10, 2008
- a parent
I have had 3 children go through the public school system in Sag Harbor, and, while the High School is relatively small (about 400 students when my last child graduated), it provided a good level of AP courses, extra-curricular activities, faculty involvement and a high level of academics. All three of my children have gone on to very good academically competitive colleges and have had the necessary sets of skills to succeed. I rate the Sag Harbor public school system very highly.

Pierson Middle High School 5

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pierson Middle High School 1

Posted July 19, 2007
- a parent
Uninspiring academic programs; poor parent involvement; many extracurricular activities from sailing to drama; terrible special education services; unsympathetic principal

Pierson Middle High School 3

Posted September 13, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pierson Middle High School
200 Jermain Avenue, Sag Harbor, NY  11963
(631) 725-5302
Last modified Pierson Middle High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pierson Middle High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top