Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 136 Roy Wilkins

Public | PK-5 | 617 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

My daughter is currently enrolled here and the school is not a bad school. unfortunately it is like any other school in any other ethnic neighborhood, average at best. The classes have way to many students and its unfair to the students and teachers. The school is always clean and they do the best with what they are given. if you are engaged in your childs life and work with them while they are a student here, they will be fine, however if you are depending on the school to get your child through (which no parent should do by the way) if your child is not a fast learning and needs extra attention they will definitely fall behind. not that the staff is not willing, there are just so many students. anyway the school is ok. **Mrs Robinson, who is a kindergarten teacher is excellent**
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

my school is PS 136 the leadership is no good. The principal have no empathy or comcerns for the children. There is constantly no morning or afternoon outside supervision. The way staff communicates with children is unruly. There is bulling issues as well. I have intervened in a bulling situation in the more with four boy jumping on another. The leadrship is no good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

I graduated from this school in 1961 and it was one of the best schools in Queens even back then. The foundation I received at PS 136 has served me well over the past 5 decades.....


Posted July 20, 2011

My little boy attended Kindergarten at PS 136 for school year 2010-2011. I agree that initially I was very skeptical about this school. I was pleasantly surprised to find that teacher to student ratio was not too bad as there was an assistant teacher there. Both teachers seemed to have the best interest of the children as their priority...It was very troubling that the children did not have gym... instead during recess they sat in the auditorium and watched movies... whatever happened to Physical Ed for 5 yr olds? I agree that there is a need for more music and art but the children do need to get up and move..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

I had a Kindergartener and 4th grader go to this school for the 2010-2011 school year. I must admit, I thought this was going to be a bad experience, but wow I was wrong. It is not the greatest school and some staff members are a bit rude, but let me tell you, that the principal was very nice, respectful and involved. I really liked how she seemed to know pretty much every students name. My sons kinder teacher Ms. Bentley was amazing! I couldnt have asked for a nicer teacher. unfortunately she retired this year, however there are other really great teachers here. My daughters 4th grade teacher Ms. Creveceour was tough, but kind. She really cares about her students education, she expects nothing but the best from her students and I like that. Be a parent who is involved. show them you are a parent who cares. A parents involvement makes all the difference in the experience your child has in school and the experience you have with their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

The school is good but needs more arts and more 1 on 1 time like tutoring after school or something but to get the kids interested in school you need more activities for the arts side so they would like to learn and do well because they know they have to keep the grades up or else no more fun activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I used to go here from 1998-2003. This is a great school, the principal (which is not the principal there anymore as I heard) was really nice and amazing. All the teachers are great at their work
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2008

I do not like the way they run the school. No supervision, the children are always fighting and it is very loud. I am trying to get my daughter out as i type.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

I really did not like this school. My son went here for kindergarten in 2006-2007. There is no supervision outside of the school in the morning or in the afternoon. And mostly every time I took my son to school there would be a fight going on. The hallways are noise and the lunchroom area. I am not saying that the children cannot speak, but you have to maintain there tone especially in the morning. If a child start their da of loud and hyper they will continue to be that way for the rest of the day. My child was left in school for 3 hours because someone failed to call me and let me know my child wasn't picked up. It was my fault that I did forget it was a half of day. I also filled out an emergency blue card. Someone should have notified me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

this is a poor, unorganized school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Not at all pleased with this school. There are behavior issues within the school. I am moving just so a can be re-zoned for a new school.D. Funn
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students18%
Female17%
Male20%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities0%
General population21%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant18%

Math

All Students14%
Female17%
Male9%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities10%
General population14%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students13%
Female15%
Male12%
African American10%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population15%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%

Math

All Students14%
Female17%
Male12%
African American12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population16%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%

Science

All Students87%
Female89%
Male86%
African American89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Female29%
Male22%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
General population28%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%

Math

All Students20%
Female24%
Male15%
African American18%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities38%
General population17%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 19%
Hispanic 5% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
White 1% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 184%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 44%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 499 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents45994%
Teachers40100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TANYA S. WALKER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201-15 115th Ave
Saint Albans, NY 11412
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 465-2286

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps Is 208
Saint Albans, NY



Ps Ms 147 Ronald Mcnair
Cambria Heights, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT