Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nesaquake Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 809 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2013

I felt very awkward in my experience in Nesaquake. No one really accepted me and I always felt like I was alone. The new students always are teased and the academics are ok


Posted May 1, 2013

there is nothing i could change to this school!i just started this year! I can absolutely assure you will enjoy every day there.


Posted December 31, 2012

This school is amazing. I am about to spend all three years of middle school here and loved every single bit of it. I found multiple groups of people that i fit in with and it was great. I remember that new kids fit in perfectly. Most of the teachers are really good and some of them are a little crazy but that makes class more fun. Most of our sports teams do really well even against other bigger middle schools. I was apart of the Cross country and track and field teams and there was two excellent coaches. Overall i loved nesaquake and my memories and what i learned there there will stay with me forever.


Posted January 7, 2011

This school is like my 2nd home to me. So many ntice people there and you are surronded by love and funny times. Sometimes if something bad is going on anywhere when i am not in school i wish i was there sitting and talking with my friends. sitting and listening to all the funny times just dreaming and there is no better school then this i promise you there is none. Yes some schools may be bigger but our school is small so we can feel the love.


Posted June 22, 2010

My son just completed his third year at this wonderful school and he has received an excellent education. The teachers, administrators, counselors and staff go above and beyond to give the children solid educational, social and emotional support and encouragement. This is a GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

I recently moved away from this school to Maple Avenue in Saratoga Springs. I must say, Nesaquake is a way better school than Maple Ave. I loved how the tables in the cafeteria were round and I had many friends. The school is much safer and a lot cleaner. Administration was very good and so were the teachers! I regularly wish that I still went there. Best school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

Safe, all inclusive learning environment with a very dedicated staff. Beautiful music plays while students are changing classes. Round tables in the Cafe (Cafeteria) are much nicer than traditional long rectangular tables, more condusive for small groups to talk rather than shouting from one end of the table to the other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I am currently attending Nesaquake middle School and I think it is one of the best schools I`ve attended.Great staff and academics, I cant say anything bad about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2008

The academics are great, but there are a few minor problems. Also, most kids are obnoxious and I find that how much money you have really defines your experience here
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2008

The academics are great, but there are a few minor problems. Also, most kids are obnoxious and I find that how much money you have really defines your experience here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2007

The kids, teacher, parents and community loves Nesaquake Middle School. The staff is dedicated to the children's learning both academically and socially. The faculty take a special interest in each and every student because each and every student are different.Ultra safe environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

I have never met a more dedicated staff than that of Nesaquake's and a more polite inclusive set of children. An A+ school all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

249 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

243 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 92% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
Hispanic 1 3% 23%
Black 2 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 64%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

479 Edgewood Ave
Saint James, NY 11780
Phone: (631) 382-5105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT