Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maple Avenue Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1673 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

Middle school is a challenging time for kids and I think Maple Ave does the best it can. There are many after school activities for kids if they want to take advantage of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

This is among the worst schools in New York State. Bullying and tormenting run rampant and nothing is done about it by the teachers and especially the administration. My son had the misfortune of having to go through this school and the situation was so awful that I had to pull him out of the district. The principal, Stuart F. Byrne, doesn't have the leadership and organizational skills to run a Dairy Queen let alone a school of 1,500 children. This school needs reform and needs it fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

I am in 7C (columbian, 7th grade) I Love this school as much as a kid likes school. Columbian spring doesnt get to go on a lot of feild trips but we do get to do a lot of fun projects rather then sitting in a class room all day. The food is better then most and the staff is exceptionally nice. If the a student needs more help in a class teachers stay after on Wensdays and Thursdays and buses are availble for after school transportation if someone is unavailble to pick up a student.


Posted May 23, 2013

The school is by no means perfect, and as an institution does a very poor job in regards to parent communication. However, my son is challenged (in both enriched and regular classes) and has terrific teachers who are very responsive to my inquiries. I check edline and the online grading site on a regular basis and stay in contact with teachers via email. I have yet to NOT get a response from a teacher. I have been invited to participate in classes by teachers and have issues and concerns resolved quickly and effectively. Overall, it has been a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

If your child is in need of special education I say - stay out of this school and start finding your own resources. My child has been plagued by lack of resources and by teachers not qualified to work with special needs children all the way up to the superintendant level. While we have encountered some rare quality teacher - mostly 6th and 7th grade suppport, the majority of the teacher are rude and unhelpful. In no other industry are employees allowed to treat cllents the way that unionized teachers are allowed to hold on to theri jobs despite poor performance. My child is now in the 8th grade with consistant low 2 on regent exams. We have had to supplement his education continually at our financial cost. I wish I could do it again. I should have sent him to a private school. Did'nt think we could afford it but it has cost us beyond private school with little return. Now, how do we fix it?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

If the school principal of Maple Ave can not properly recite the pledge of allegiance over the intercom to the kids he is leading, I have to ask, why is he still the leader? Hello......... Very large school, as a whole, the teachers do a pretty good job. If you excel academically you will do well at Maple, because there are lots of programs for you. If you need help, that's another story. If your child is in Excellsior Spring, forget about them going on any trips. Due to an incident 3 years ago on a field trip, the teachers are still punishing the students by limiting their trips. The other springs attend many more trips. I addressed this with Excellsior team/teachers. They refused to address it and gave me a lame excuse to shut me up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

My son is in the 6th grade there and we have been in the school district since he started school. I honstly am not happy with the school at all, most of the staff that I have encountered there are rude and not helpful. I have looked at moving just so my other son does not have to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

It took me 3 years to realize that it was not my children but the teachers and an incompetent principal that is the schools problem. When you hear many parents tell you Maple ave is bad but the high school is better they are not kidding. Also anything will better after your experience in Maple Ave. You have a few hard working and caring teachers but there are more teachers that ride on tenure tails and don't even do the bare minimum. It is very disappointing. The ratings in this school district are high because you have a large volume of educated and make up for what is lacking in school at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This is my 3rd year at Maple Ave as a parent. Parent involvement here is limited to edline. Each year the I believe the quality of teachers has deteriorated. The expectations from teachers is minimized where the ones that want to work the least get away with it. Sadle the principal has very little control over this situation. In addition their accelerated programs are ot weighted where kids loose out on the only advanced course, earth science. How many kids from accelerated math program made it to earth science? Makes you wonder if there should be more union free schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

Not sure what house you were in but my Son was in red. Fabulous teacher base! The entire team did all they could to help keep him organized and motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

I have been very disappointed in the school and the level of work my child has been required to do. I suppose it is a function of what very little funding the public school has to work with, but he coasted through with very little effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

Great teachers and great teaching methods. Very clean and sastisfactory lunches. Love, love, love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2007

The teachers in the Excelsior House do a fantastic job of being involved with the children, and not only helping them succeed with school work, but also at life. They genuinely care about the children and want them to learn and do well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 2, 2006

My daughter is a 7th grade student at Maple Ave. Though it is the only middle school serving ever increasing number of students in Saratoga county, they still do very good job organizing students classes and subjects according to student's ability. My daughter is taking advanced Math and now entering Earth science. Teachers are well qualified and councellors are very helpful in assisting students. I hope they can keep this up with increasing number of students each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

Academic standards are relatively high. The school is big, but the administration does a good job at turning the kids' experience into that of a 'small' school. The only negative side is the lack of enrichment programs, with the exception of earth science. That particular one is good, but the school is big enough to be able to offer other programs as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

The teachers seem to do a great job inspite of an unqualified principal. Standardized exam scores are up. When some of the dead wood is cut out [or falls off] our school will be unparalleled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I feel that the administration of this school is very poor The teacher quality is equally poor and that there is no request for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

521 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

542 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Female61%
Male47%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities0%
General population58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%

Math

All Students47%
Female49%
Male46%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities3%
General population51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female65%
Male54%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities9%
General population64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%

Math

All Students51%
Female50%
Male52%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities7%
General population54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Female58%
Male58%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities9%
General population62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%

Math

All Students45%
Female42%
Male48%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities0%
General population49%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%

Science

All Students88%
Female85%
Male90%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities49%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 93% 48%
Black 2 3% 19%
Hispanic 2 2% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 217%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 16%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. STUART F. BYRNE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 Maple Ave
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone: (518) 587-4551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT