Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saratoga Central Catholic High School

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Saratoga Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $285,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2013

Saratoga Central Catholic High School is an absolutely outstanding school! The teachers are not only warm and caring, but are highly educated individuals. They try very hard to give your child the best possible education ever and are very dedicated. It is great to have such a small school where all of the teachers know who your child is and actually cares about what happens to them. This school doesn't tolerate any bad behavior between students, which as a parent has put my mind at ease everyday that I send my child to school. Your child will be expected to work very hard. Help from the parents with homework and projects is a must!! . As a parent, I am confident that my child will someday be accepted to a great college and will have a future that is filled with success. If you are looking for a quality school that offers the most and only wants the best for your child, you have found the right school. You will like the school principal, Mr. Lombard. He is a sweet man and easy to talk to. The kids love talking to him and he is always there to help. My husband and I give this school five golden stars!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

First let me say, I am not overly religoius, my wife is. The balance between religion and realism, is good. If you are on one extreme or the other , then you will not be happy. The education is very good. the teachers are caring and approachable. If you spend anytime involved in your childs life, you'll be pleased. They welcome you to get involved and I recommend you do. If you expect the school to raise your children for you, look elsewhere. They teach and expect the kids to be accountable, independant and responsible. The teachers are availble for extra help daily. They have answered emails and phone calls regularly. They have also been available to meet. A huge plus is the opportunities for sports and other activies. They welcome the kids to participate in sports and other activities. They do kick kids out. That is refreshing. I magine some of the one stars came from those parents. They also have some very wealthy spoiled kids and parents who are used to getting their way. They are not the norm. Finally, Mr. Lombard is an outstanding princpal. He is very dedicated and is a fixture in the school, day and night. I am sorry to see his name tarnished in another review.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

If you are expecting a Catholic education this isn't the school for you. Really just a private school. There is religious education, but that is about the extent of it. Many students attend for sports programs. The coaches do not exemplify Christian values. Favoritism and overt racism exit. This is a small cliquey school that doesn't welcome newcomers. The administration is incompetent. Phone calls and emails are not returned. There are a few good teachers. Overall a very disappointing experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2013

This school is a horrible excuse for a "school." The other posters are right when they say BULLIES BULLIES BULLIES. I'm a former student and can attest to that. I was here almost 4 years and transferred out at the end of a school year (because of bullies) and learned more academic AND life skills at Saratoga High in 2 months than I did in 4 years at SCC. Teachers are unintelligent and uncredentialed (except Ms. Schutter. You go Miss Schutter!!) to give you an example, the Technology teacher also teaches history AND works as the assistant principal. As long as Mr. Lombard is principal you should STEER CLEAR. He doesn't want to help ANYONE, he is rude, mean-spirited man who contributes nothing to the school but negative energy. Told him of my bullying many times and he blamed it on me. The person that said SCC ranks above the public schools in academia must be referring to some other high school but like I said, I learned more life skills (which SCC doesn't teach) and academic knowledge at Saratoga High in 2 months than at SCC in 4 years. OH, and I didn't get bullied/threatened ONCE! People went out of their way to welcome and help me, actually!! Avoid SCC like the plague!!!


Posted February 16, 2013

My daughter attends this school. We value the strong connection between parents and teachers. When we need to speak with a teacher, s/he knows our daughter very well, partially because of the size of the school but also because of the dedication of the teachers. The sports program is great, lots for kids to do. No place is perfect, but SCC works well for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

Saratoga Central Catholic is an academically focused school which teaches the children strong values. Our experience with our two children has been excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

This is not a good school. The teachers are not very nice, bullying is a problem, and they are TOO religious. I'm an atheist, and this school is co stantly praying and going to church. Too bad I still have to go to it.


Posted June 1, 2012

My child's experience here was absolutely horrendous. Bullying had been a problem at the public school he attended and at this school, he and another student had a kid show them a jackknife and threaten them with it. The administration is less than truthful and told the next school my son was attending that we had not taken him out of SCC, he had been kicked out and suspended. Absolutely untrue. A couple of the teachers were very good but for the most part trying to get emails answered was like pulling teeth. If anyone suggests this school to you, RUN in the other direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

Critiques on the social atmosphere are unfortunately true, the Catholic Queens do not change over the decades, but no worse than other schools. Teaching is on a much higher level than public schools, MUCH higher, (no, not perfect) with a lot of enriched courses and AP courses, which accumulate to college credits at a fraction of the cost. Small class size is the biggest plus, most teachers use the time for great one on one teaching. Tuition is stiff unless you are rich, but it is a spectacular investment in your kid, as Spa Central will prepare them for a good college, and might even snag them some scholarship money. Be prepared to work with your student, but if you do, this is one of the best investments you will ever make in their lives
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

I have been impressed with SCC. The students respect each other and the teachers. The environment is friendly and caring. The teachers go out of the way to help each child succeed. The administration is open to creating new ways for students to have access to more courses through technology and have been open to student started clubs and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

i was not impressed by this school at all. for one thing, the faculty is incompetent. they dont know how to teach, or keep their students under control. the students are mean and have a LOT of cliques. this being said new students are not welcomed with open arms. there are next to no extra curricular activities. the tuition is incredibly high. if you can, choose another school, because scc is not worth the trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

SCC is a small, but progressive MS/HS that deeply cares about it's students Success at this school is what each student makes of it. There is plenty of opportunity to become invlved if one wants to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

spa catholic wasn't what we had hoped it would be. [They] went out of [their] way to continually make my child feel not welcomed. you would think you would get some nurturing being in a small catholic school,but that was not the case. My child is going back to the public school for their senior year.kinda sad that they don't want to graduate at the school they spent the last three years at.the final for the math that was not the math b test, they colored as part of the test. there are no options for cases other than core courses.administrators also teach classes!big mistake! on a good note the ladies in the office are the reason the school is still in business.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 52%
Hispanic 2% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • L Stephen Lombard
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Albany
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

247 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Phone: (518) 587-7070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Maple Avenue Middle School
Saratoga Springs, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT