Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Waldorf School of Saratoga Springs

Private | PK-12 | 220 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Saratoga Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $285,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2009

Because the school approaches each child as an individual with unique and lovable qualities. They also do not have computers, play games or watch t.v. at school but do allow children time outside with music and art interwoven into their academic work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

I taught at this school, and may always regret leaving it for the rest of my career. It doesn't get better than this school. It has it's problems like every other school, but the children are the happiest and healthiest I've seen.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

The Waldorf School provides a very well-rounded education. It teaches children how to think independently, explore and realize their talents, and develop into their fullest potential as a human being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

They care about the connection between children and the outdoor world in a beautiful, story telling, leaf collecting, nature walking way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

My grandchildren are thriving at this school - it gives them a varied and interesting education and helps prepare them to be contributing adults to the world they will inherit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Waldorf School of Saratoga Springs helps develop a true love of learning among its students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Waldorf of Saratoga Springs makes time to educate and love each child who enters and their families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My kids LOVE school. In anything we do outside of school, other adults who encounter them -- camp counselors, coaches, the piano teacher, the nature educator leading a hike, the storyteller at the bookstore, etc. -- remark on how engaged and curious they are and what joy and initiative they bring to everything they do. This is exactly what I wanted for my kids. The teachers are not just educators by profession, it is in their core. They are born teachers and are beyond dedicated to each child and family in the school. I am so grateful to be able to send my kids there. The WSSS community upholds my family's values and is my best ally in raising my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Waldorf is a place that cares for the soul of the child, allows them to become a productive member of society, and my kids actually say they love school! Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Education done right is a joy for children. My child leaves the Waldorf School energized, excited and smiling every single day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

The parents care so much about the total well-being of the children. The atmosphere is nurturing and well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Amazing educational system that has very deep understanding of child's physical, intellectual and spiritual development. The teachers are exceptionally talented and caring human beings. The school is full beauty and purpose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The training the teachers receive helps them to teach in a manner appropriate for each grade's specific psychological stage and level of development. The curriculum is elegantly designed to complement the same stages of development. And the teachers treat each other and the students with the utmost respect and love. I am amazed at the way my son is learning to respect himself, plant and animal life, and others. He has learned to display the respect that has been modeled for him by all the adults at the Waldorf School. I believe the need for parent involvement in the extracurricular life of the school lets our children see how important we believe their education is. And I adore the well-roundedness of our students because the curriculum integrates art, music, and language arts into every field of study. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Over 10 years ago, my younger brother attended the Waldorf School of Saratoga Springs. The school gave him a break from the prejudice and negativity he lived with in the public school system. Now, for the last 6 years, my wife and I have had our children at the WSSS. The school is a warm and nurturing environment for our children. Our kids love school and have a gleam in their eyes when they share what happened during their day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

At WSSS you will find a total commitment not only from Faculty and Staff but from Students. We learn because we want to learn and the experience becomes greater. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The Waldorf School of Saratoga Springs teaches the whole child through both innovative and proven teaching methods. Students develop a true love of learning. WSSS provides both a classical education (history, languages, etc) presented in a way that is fully integrated with the fine/creative arts (music, drawing, painting) and practical arts (knitting, woodworking, cooking, gardening, etc.). Children are allowed to enjoy their childhood and are not forced into the rigors of academia until they are ready. The Waldorf mehtods are based on the child's physical and emotional development as they progress through the grades, and each grade's curriculum corresponds to needs that the student's have at that age level. The Waldorf School of Saratoga springs is a model for education in America and the world. The faculty, staff, and entire school community is truly dedicated to the education and enrichment of the students. The school could not exist without their combined efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Very well organized and great interaction on field trips for education and health! Awesome!


Posted October 7, 2009

The Waldorf School in Saratoga Springs has some of the most dedicated teachers I have ever known--and I was a teacher for 33 years in what was considered the best school district among 25 other school districts. My colleagues were also dedicated, but none so dedicated as the teachers at the Saratoga Springs Waldorf.


Posted October 7, 2009

best creative and well-rouded education for children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The best care of children preK through 12 on the planet by far!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

62 64 York Ave
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 587-0549

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lake Avenue Elementary School
Saratoga Springs, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT