Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saratoga Independent School

Private | PK-6 | 109 students

We are known for multiage instruction,respectful community,engaging activities

 

Living in Saratoga Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $285,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

You will not find a better school than this! The teachers are amazing, class size is small, lessons are geared towards individual learning styles. So much of what they do is hands on, and emphasis is placed on individual responsibility (at age appropriate levels) from the beginning. Even more than that, there is an incredible sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

We moved our daughter to SIS after 3 years in public school. We were concerned that once she made it to a certain level in a subject, less attention was paid to her educational needs. At SIS, she is challenged everyday and teachers provide frequent and detailed feedback on her progress. It was a difficult decision to remove her from public school where most of her friends went, and enroll her in a private school where we had to pay for her education. She has made a lot of new friends, and her focus at SIS is learning, not socializing (although there's still plenty of that too)! As far as paying tuition, it is a great value for the level of education she is receiving and financial assistance is available for those who need it. Don't let cost deter you from pursuing SIS - it is truly worth every penny! The staff at SIS cares deeply about the kids, and is passionate about making every student succeed educationally and socially. They provide a stable, fun environment where my daughter is thriving. I give SIS my highest recommendation. Our only regret is that we didn't enroll her sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Freedom to learn Freedom to think out of the box Challenged individually Respectful, gentle, and kind atmosphere Unique Devoted and intuitive teachers New experiences daily Welcomed into the community I smile each time I drop them off. I know they are in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

We love SIS! The teachers and curriculum are fantastic. The emphasis on individualized instruction combined with a thoughtfully designed curriculum is not matched by any other school in the area. Science and social studies are as valued as language arts and math in K-6, and students get plenty of arts, music, Spanish, and physical activity every day. Community building occurs through daily activities and a theme that the whole school focuses on for the year. Our child loves going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

Small class sizes leads to lots of individualized attention to the kids. Good diverse offering of enrichment classes. Personally would like more sports activities and French courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

I have been at the school for 8 years. The education that the children receive is the best I have seen. The children actively participate in learning with hands on activities. All the children learn at their own pace and the results are amazing. The teachers are dedicated and their love of teaching shows through every day. Each child has a story to tell about something that has made their experience special and their smiles say it all. They also have a great lunch program with home cooking that takes each and every child into consideration. There are vegetarian options each day and children love to be "buying" lunch. The art program is one of the students favorite parts of school and eager budding artists have shown their expertise in many forms of art. Parents are highly involved and students are thriving here.


Posted October 18, 2013

My children have been absolutely THRIVING at Saratoga Independent School. Rather than focusing on test taking and/or 'teaching to the test', they teach to the child and focus on the process. The kids don't just learn lessons, they learn HOW to learn. They learn to be responsible, organized, diligent students. The focus is on each child's personal best, and there is great pride in their own achievements and celebrating the achievements of the other students. I love the way they work together, help and support one another and truly thrive. The teachers really know each child and how they best learn. I also love that there is continuity - the same group of teachers have known my kids since they started at the school, and rather than having to start at square one each fall, they can pick up where they left off. And the teachers are absolutely wonderful - from the ones who have been there for years, to the new hires that merged seamlessly with the team, you could not ask for a better, more qualified staff. My kids LOVE school, and are truly happy to be there, and I find it to be worth every penny we spend to keep them there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

When you walk into the Great Room in the morning at SIS you can feel the students' energy and enthusiasm for learning and see the teachers' excitement to teach. The school provides an unparalleled learning community where students focus on academics and leadership skills (shaking hands, presentation skills, providing feedback to one another). The curriculum is multiage and focuses on each student's needs and abilities. Each year the school uses new themes for lesson plans so that even if your child is in his/her second year of Pre-K, the discussion points in class will be new. The teachers are excellent and the school administration cares deeply about the students and parents. We started at SIS as a Pre-K family with no future plans to stay but it has quickly become clear that it would be difficult to find a community like SIS anywhere else. We relocated to the area from out of state and have been so pleased to have our daughter quickly feel at home at SIS and also pleasantly surprised to make many wonderful friends ourselves through the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

A great school with devoted teachers and staff. Intelligent learning in a hands on setting. A beautiful building. Safe, clean and warm. When I ask my kids how there day at school was the response in usually "awesome or super cool." I think that says it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

I have been a teacher at Saratoga Independent School since 2001. It was my dream, as an educator, to find a place where community, character, and creativity were key elements to a successful program. Not a day has gone by over the past twelve years where I felt that this was not the place I was meant to be. I get to go to work every day and enjoy what I do. I get to spend time getting to know the children as individuals, learn their likes and dislikes, and connect with families in a way that is meaningful and rewarding. Saratoga Independent School is an incredibly special place and I am so grateful to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2013

I have two children, 4 and 7, at Saratoga Independent School. When we walk in the doors each day there is someone there to greet us, make us feel welcome, and a genuine sense of caring from each person we encounter. I love how the children are grouped in multiage classrooms. Both of my children have had the opportunity to be the younger and older student in the room and have gained so much from each experience. They are active in their learning as they have opportunities to explore topics of interest, and yet there is a structure which keeps them focused and moving forward in their growth. I would recommend this school to anyone. The tour through the building on a busy day is a great way to see what the school really does in action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Our daughters have the good fortune to be enrolled in this wonderful school. The team at SIS goes out of their way to challenge, stimulate and motivate our children to develop a lifelong love of learning. Our family is involved in the school, and it is a great source of pride knowing how committed the community is to SIS. It is an incredible atmosphere for learning, and we are so happy to have our children enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

We have been very happy at Saratoga Independent School. We were unsure about when to start our daughter in kindergarten because she has a November birthday. SIS always taught to her ability and challenged her appropriately. She stayed at SIS until middle school and transferred easily into public middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

My daughter attended three of the one-week summer camp sessions this year at Saratoga Independent School. She had a blast! She learned to prepare her own snack during the cooking session, and now wants to help out more at home with preparing meals. It is great to see her learn new skills and apply them outside of the school. The staff are caring, professional and courteous. It is easy to see what makes Saratoga Independent School so special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

My daughter is in her second year at this school. The experience has been wonderful. She is gaining confidence, respect for others, and independence. The teaching style is very different from public school in that it is hands-on learning through fun experiences. Each child learns at their own level. The staff is accessible, responsive and truly care about the students. I feel very fortunate to have my daughter attending the school and know that it is fostering her a love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

This school is AMAZING. What they offer goes far beyond the basics of early education. Math is taught not simply with worksheets & drills but with real life hands-on examples & games. Photosynthesis is taught by actually growing plants. They have watched monarch butterflies hatch & cared for turtles, guinea pigs, tree frogs, lizards. Older children work WITH younger children. They read together. There is such a strong sense of community - all children help take care of their school and each other. There is no bullying. They teach problem solving and cooperation. They teach respect for each other. The teachers are personally invested in each and every child. Initially, we wondered if it would be worth the price of the tuition. The public schools are good, right? Why spend the money? But each day, my child comes home glowing. She does not just learn, she THRIVES. The detailed newsletters we receive weekly confirm that we could not possibly find a better place for her. Is there really something better you could do with what amounts to a little less than $10/hr? I can't imagine a better investment in my child's future. Well worth every penny - and then some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

If only the public schools had what Saratoga Independent School offers . . . Children are taught at their level and expected to rise to be the best they can be. The children receive a lot of individual attention from the teachers. Behavioral standards are high and participation in the larger school group is expected at the child's level whether the child in in Kindergarten, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th or 6th grade (or Pre-K!) This school is a model for what all schools should (and could) be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I have two children at Saratoga Independent School, the oldest of whom has been there for five years. My children care about community, they care about respect, and they continue to amaze me with their love for school and their love of learning. My children have very different personalities, yet each has their needs met by a group of passionate, dedicated, and talented faculty and administrators that truly understand the uniqueness of every child. We feel so fortunate to be part of such an incredible community. Thank you, Saratoga Independent School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

My children just finished their fourth year at this school, and I can't say enough about how wonderful their educational experience has been. Academically they are far above their grade level, socially they are doing great, and they've really learned to think rather than memorize. The school's approach to teaching is innovative and effective, and the focus on socialization, community and leadership results in well-rounded kids who thrive after they move on to middle school, high school and college. None of this could be done without the excellent leadership at the school, the dedicated teachers, and the supportive families. I can only imagine that the last review was written by a competitor, because they clearly don't know about the Saratoga Independent School experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

This school goes above and beyond in teaching academics, socialization, leadership, and teamwork. The staff is incredibly dedicated and it shows. There is a very small student to teacher ratio so the students get a lot of individual attention. There is a theme each year to provide consistency in the curriculum. The students work at their own ability level so not only do they learn at a comfortable pace (without ever being held back), but they gain a sense of mastery and confidence based on their accomplishments. Another benefit is the emphasis placed on personal responsibility and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 52%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • American Heart Association (2013)
  • St Jude's (2012)
  • American Heart Association (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Felice Karlitz
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NYSAIS
Fax number
  • (518) 587-6831

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • At our school, children engage in meaningful, hands on learning activities versus teaching to the test. We value the process as well as the product. In our supportive and respectful community, children develop the skills, knowledge, and learning behaviors that are inherent in lifelong learners. Our graduates are successful, confident learners, capable of independent thinking. Our 60 acre campus enables us to incorporate outdoor education/ recreation into our program. Accredited by NYSAIS.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
35
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
43

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Maple Avenue (public)
Doane Stuart
Albany Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

459 Lake Ave
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 583-0841

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Dorothy Nolan Elementary School
Saratoga Springs, NY


Lake Avenue Elementary School
Saratoga Springs, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT