Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
109 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
We switched to SIS after my son spent two years at a public school, and we are so happy with the decision. The smaller classes, individualized instruction, focus on the whole child, and sense of community all make SIS a great fit for our family.

Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
SIS has been a fantastic experience for my son. He entered in 1st and is now in 3rd grade, and he has blossomed both academically and socially in this supportive community. I know that he is not just being taught rote facts, but learning to ask questions, be curious, and think critically. He is building skills that will help him throughout his education, in an environment that allows kids to be kids. It's truly an amazing school!


Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is in her first year of the Saratoga Independent School Pre-Kindergarten program and she is flourishing! The teachers are creative, loving, and dedicated. The classrooms are bright and the building/campus is beautiful. I have been very impressed!

Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
As parents, we love SIS! Our son cheers every morning when we arrive to school. Some of the things we love are: multi-age learning, tailored teaching to individual needs, and hands on education. The classes are small and the teachers are dedicated and loving. We couldn't feel any better about where our son spends his day or how he is educated. SIS is hands-down the best school out there!

Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
My children have been absolutely THRIVING at Saratoga Independent School. Rather than focusing on test taking and/or 'teaching to the test', they teach to the child and focus on the process. The kids don't just learn lessons, they learn HOW to learn. They learn to be responsible, organized, diligent students. The focus is on each child's personal best, and there is great pride in their own achievements and celebrating the achievements of the other students. I love the way they work together, help and support one another and truly thrive. The teachers really know each child and how they best learn. I also love that there is continuity - the same group of teachers have known my kids since they started at the school, and rather than having to start at square one each fall, they can pick up where they left off. And the teachers are absolutely wonderful - from the ones who have been there for years, to the new hires that merged seamlessly with the team, you could not ask for a better, more qualified staff. My kids LOVE school, and are truly happy to be there, and I find it to be worth every penny we spend to keep them there.


Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
I have happily signed a contract with SIS for 5 years now. I feel bad listening to parents whose children are in the public school; we simply do not have those same conversations regarding ranking, testing, tenure. We discuss our delight over our children's vocabulary, the fun they had in math class (?!), the ever increasing extracurricular opportunities ( such as running in the morning before school!), and the dedication of the faculty and staff. There simply is not a better elementary education program in the Capital District.

Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of two students, I am very pleased with the opportunity that has been offered at SIS for my kids. The high quality and integrity of everyone involved with the school has been important to our family. From the educators and students to the administration and board, the community goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Our kids are challenged every day and are excited to learn. They are energized by what is offered. We considered the options available for our kids in the Saratoga Springs area, Saratoga Independent School is the best choice for us.

Saratoga Independent School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter turned eight last week. When asked what her perfect day would look like, she said " We,, I would start with an hour of math, then have an hour of language arts. I would definitely have art after recess and an hour of music and gym. Would there be more time or could I go to aftercare?" This was certainly not the response I had expected, but it goes to show how much she loves going to Saratoga Independent School. I am so grateful.


Saratoga Independent School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Be very careful if you sign up to go here. If things do not work out and you leave, you are on the hook for all the money! We started our daughter here in the preK program for the afternoon. Almost 3 years old and we are told the kids here can take a nap. After a week of crying and acting up and falling asleep as soon as she got in the car, they say that she never takes a nap and that is normal. All the kids in the morning class do take a nap, however those in the afternoon class don't. We put her back in her old program where she is doing well. We signed their contract and are on the hook for all of the money. $1000 per day! They say they depended on our money for their budget, so cannot give a refund. We did not sign up until the tail end of August. They don't do budgets until the end of August? Horrible school with horrible business practices. Beware!

Saratoga Independent School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Saratoga Independent School will tell you anything you want to hear to get you signed up. Really take the time to find out what you're getting into, because once you sign on the dotted line they are ALL ABOUT THE MONEY. If the school does not work out for you or your child for ANY reason, you are obligated for the entire tuition. We found the school to have a disjointed school/daycare option for working families. If a child is there for an average 8-5 day, they will find themselves in a whirlwind of 3+ different programs to make up for that time. The school is out of touch with what preschoolers and parents need. In their words, "the parents really end up bearing the brunt at the end of day with an exhausted child that sleeps in the car on the way home as there is no way for us to accommodate for a rest period during the day." We withdrew after only a few days and enrolled in a program with continuity, nurturing and some clue about parents and preschoolers. When we went to the school with our family's concerns that our child was in distress there, SIS immediately brought up our financial responsibility and the legal action they would take if we did not make good on the tuition.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saratoga Independent School
459 Lake Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY  12866
(518) 583-0841
Last modified Saratoga Independent School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Saratoga Independent School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top