Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mary Of The Snow School

Private | PK-8 | 12 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Saugerties

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $155,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2012

Best overall education that we could find in a 50 mile radius of Catskill. And believe me when I say that we did a lot of research prior to moving from public education to private education! We visited schools, solicited feedback from parents, and spent countless hours talking to teachers and administrators. Again, St Mary's was the clear choice for our two boys. Religion was not a factor. We knew that we wanted to give our children a SOLID foundation in the elementary years. I mean SOLID in all senses of the word--academic, social, emotional, etc. We wanted them to develop a love of learning and sense of accountability for that learning--even as early as 5 years old. We wanted small class sizes, strong academics that could be tailored to each student, and high standards of behavior. Overall, we are very pleased. You will not find more dedicated and genuine teachers out there. The school is not fancy but it stresses the most important things--and does so very, very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

Best School Ever from the Principal to the teachers! My children have flourished. St. Mary's has built my children up, given them a strong foundation and an unbelievable education. Miss Molinelli is a wonderful Principal, she loves and cares for each child as if they were her own. My children have a safe and loving learning environment...FINALLY! Thank you St. Mary's for helping me raise honest, loving, intelligent children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2010

Both my daughter and son attend St. Mary of the Snow. I am a pediatric Occupational Therapist and my husband is a Special Education?Seconday Math Teacher. While no school is perfect, St. Mary of the Snow is perfect for our family. The sense of community is great at this school. The teachers know all the children and the children know all the teachers and each other. My daughter has strived to achieve the goals that the school has set through friendly competition. Last year she won for the most books read at 135. Yet compassion and giving has also been installed in her through the assistance she provides to the kindergarten and 1st grade at lunch recess. My son's teacher and teacher's aide has dealt well with his high energy level and we all work together to get him to do his best. We are very thankful to all the teachers and the prinicple for all their hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

this school has been the best school I have ever came to! my 2 boys go there after they were going to bennett, they had bad grades,hated school,and were completely unhappy. since the change to sms, they love school thier grades have gone up and the teachers are the MOST amazing people out there ,even my grandmother on grandparents day said"its such a warm place" I can speak to the principal almost evey time I call, and they keep you update weekly! best school in the WHOLE world!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

St. Mary's has been a wonderful experience for us, currently we have two children there, they are in the 1st and 3rd grades. Both of us (parents) work full time and find that the extra effort on behalf of the teachers and their understanding of a families busy schedule helps to fill in where we sometimes cannot. Without a doubt the children are happy and academically challenged. The school provides an extremely positive environment where my children feel safe with strong sense of comradeship with their fellow students. Though we are not catholic we find the religious component an asset to their moral character. I wouldn't have them anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

My son attends St. Mary of the Snow School and absolutely loves it! The teachers truly care about their students and are dedicated to the school. It is an old building, but it is very clean and in great condition. The principal is actively involved and enthusiastic. They have high academic and moral standards. They also encourage regular sport activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

My child attended this school. Although a few of the teachers were wonderful, the administration was biased, unprofessional, and disturbingly unchristian. Catholic schools need to be held to church standards: morality, honesty, integrity - which were questionable if not totally lacking in this school's administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

I went to school there and I loved it. The teachers are wonderful. They have student/teacher ratio so you receive excellent one on one attention. As far as social life:) they have dances for their students, after school activities, clubs, a bazaar every year, and also have bingo. The priest is a great guy and is involved with the student activities.


Posted January 11, 2009

Great School! We are so blessed to have found such an unbelievable school. Our children are so happy here. As for the other person saying it's too small...that's what you want for your child---more attention. Why do you think people hire tutors?...one on one attention! With less kids your chil gets more attention
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I am a parent of a current student and a former alumni of this great school. The teachers are some of the most caring individuals I have encountered. With caring and nurturing, the school provides structure and discipline which fosters moral and spiritual growth and encourages students to think for themselves. My son has never been discouraged from expressing his own views and it has been a pleasure to watch him grow under their guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

My daughter attends St. Mary of the Snow. The teachers there are the best. They care a great deal about each child. They work very hard to push the children to succeed. My daughter has attended this wonderful school since Pre-k. Each year was more wonderful than the rest. She is a high honors student, who loves school and literature thanks to the teachers at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 52%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christine Molinelli
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Cedar Street
Saugerties, NY 12477
Phone: (845) 246-6381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cahill School
Saugerties, NY




Morse School
Saugerties, NY


Woodstock Day School
Saugerties, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT