Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Scarsdale, NY
Students enrolled: 395
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenacres School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Greenacres is a world class elementary school. Our son has attended a top tier eastern and western coast school, and by far, Greenacres curriculum and teaching staff are far superior in all subjects, particularly math. After school clubs are superb. The students are diverse, and not a bully around. The faculty and principal are fantastic.

Greenacres School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
My children are getting a wonderful, rounded education at Greenacres. The teachers have all been wonderful, and they are encouraged to share their passion with the children (art, poetry, computers, etc.). Children learn better from interested and engaged teachers. There has been a definite problem with the principal's social choices and lack of communication over the past few years. If not fixed soon, this school will be unbearable for parents and children. Hopefully, it will be addressed, since the school is filled with parents who donate incredible amounts of time, energy, and money. Do not believe what you read about test scores, the children do well because they have mastered the materials. No one cares about state test scores in the school. Some of the children have really nasty attitudes, related to a life of privilege. Unfortunately, all good school districts seem to have some of these children. There are enough nice children and parents to make it workable.


Greenacres School 4

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
Greenacres Elementary School has a long tradition of excellence as part of the Scarsdale School District. Parent involvement is extensive, which appears to contribute greatly to the continuous success of Greenacres students. While teacher quality is generally high, it is not always consistent. In some cases, additional parent involvement is required to offset weaknesses in teacher quality in particular subjects, while in other cases students clearly thrive because of teaching excellence. Overall this school is highly recommended.

Greenacres School 5

Posted December 21, 2010
- a parent
My children went through the Scarsdale School system starting with Greenacres Elementary. Parents, please do not sweat the small stuff. Greenacres is an excellent excellent school which teaches its students to believe in themselves and gives them the confidence to reach for their dreams. Having homework in first or second grade is not an indicator of high SAT scores or success in life.

Greenacres School 5

Posted March 27, 2010
- a parent
Greenacres School provides a truly fantastic learning and support environment for the students. My children really love the school and genuinely enjoy their teachers and community. It is real community school, where most kids can walk to school if they wish. It is a friendly and diverse group of families. The after school clubs and activities are amazing. Any review less than superlative gives an indication of just how high the standards are for excellence for some. I think my girls are very well prepared for middle school and a future of enjoying learning. I saw a review a few years ago concerned bout music- the current teacher is top notch.


Greenacres School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Greenacres School 3

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
This school is surprisingly mediocre. The teachers rely on workbooks, worksheets and rote learning. They confuse test scores with learning.

Greenacres School 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
This school is worth every penny of the astronomical taxes we pay in Scarsdale. I made a lot of sacrifices to send my kids to this school - and I don't regret it at all. It's simply fenomenal.


Greenacres School 2

Posted May 24, 2006
- a parent
Greenacres suffers from poor leadership that is not focused on the students, but rather test scores and maintaining the status quo. If your child needs special attention, you might have to fight for it, but you'll get it. If your child is bright, well, all Scarsdale children are bright, so don't expect anything special. The fact is all Scarsdale parents think their children are bright, so there'd be fights in the streets if certain kids were tracked ahead of others. No homework until 3rd grade and no tracking at all.

Greenacres School 5

Posted November 03, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenacres School
41 Huntington Avenue, Scarsdale, NY  10583
(914) 721-2740
Last modified Greenacres School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Greenacres School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top